We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose this because of its proximity to downtown, which is awesome. It's cheaper than one of the fancier hotels in downtown, and the drive is incredibly short (just on the other end of the tunnel), while parking is pretty cheap too (find street parking downtown!) We chose a non-smoking room (even though we're smokers) just so our room wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaytimack
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are tired and worn but I felt it was clean. The carpet is gross and the rooms need a coat of paint. It's a family owned business and the 93 year old owner can be seen on property. I wouldn't choose to stay here again but if push came to shove I would. The tile in the bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJoHarrisSmith
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Girlfriend and I drove from Big Stone Gap, Virginia for a nice get away and we could've stayed anywhere but we chose here. The atmosphere was like being at the beach. Beautiful flowers everywhere, the pool was very clean and had a really nice gazebo to relax in. The room was clean and cozy. The staff was so nice and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KristieWebb
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I decided to stay at this very budget friendly hotel to save money for going out to eat and other fun stuff. We saved money but at a cost. The room was very retro to say the least, but not a cool retro. The matresses were vintage 1960s, well used and well stained. I laughed most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank nosaj01
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to see such blatant slander posted here, and I assume by former disgruntled employees. The absolute fact of the matter is that any old furnishings that may have been on this property have all been disposed of this past Feb and March. We totally refurnished all of our rooms, and most specifically with all new mattresses and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here because frankly the rest of the city was charging exorbitant rates for Labor Day weekend. We wound up loving the retro feel and were impressed by the friendly staff. The water pressure is awesome and the beds were clean and comfortable. A couple of suggestions, although the rooms have AC, it's controlled by the front desk so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWeaver
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your warm and favorable review. We do admit that the central ac is difficult to make perfect for every one, but we can usually come up with a happy middle ground. We do have fans and heaters available for whichever way you need to feel comfortable.I am so happy that you enjoyed the character of the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Asheville to be in North Carolina and as an Elvis fan to follow where he performed, downtown at the local Civic Centre. Unfortunately i had not enough time, having to travel by public transportation to see it as I was leaving early on Monday morning and only there for the weekend. Downtown is buzzy and the best bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank capricornia52
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had a nice visit to Asheville. Thank you for giving us a favorable review. Please stay with us again if you return to the mountains. More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 5days in July though the rooms are old Tv and frig not new the location price and hospitality were excellent. Having stayed at many newer much higher priced hotels in asheville what this one may lack in peoples expectations it is a fine family friendly place to stay. While it might not be what people expect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doehen
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks to a guest you "gets it". This place is ancient by comparison, having the original building constructed in 1939! We are definitely trying to upgrade a bit, but we don't want to destroy the vintage integrity. We do care about our guests, and we certainly hope you will return. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Great people ...great breakfast ... We were in the rear building which was a little scary ... The place is tricky to get in and out of . BathRoom and furniture needs repair ...good location though close to wherever we wanted to be

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, We appreciate your fair assessment of our property. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and the breakfast. We are sorry you felt the back building was "scary", but just as reassurance, we want all future visitors to know that we have an on site security guard watching things 24-7 and a security cameras in multiple... More 

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

The Mountaineer Inn has a ton of character, and if you’re looking for something affordable but more interesting than the standard chain, this is your spot. Bonus features include a complimentary breakfast in the lobby with fresh bagels, donuts and fruit, plus a pool that stays open until 11pm! The rooms are standard, but very clean and also have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed all that our property has to offer. We do boast a lot of character and personality here, nothing like those bland corporate chain hotels run by drones. Our owner is 93 and still here everyday to share interesting stories with anyone willing to listen. Please come back! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

This place is exactly as advertised. It is an older place but it is very unique. The employees were all very friendly and nice. The rooms for the area are competitive and you are getting what you pay for. The rooms could use an upgrade but they add to the character of the place. They offer a decent breakfast of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey O
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of our establishment. We definitely offer one of the few vintage and character loaded spots in all of Asheville! Most folks enjoy our hospitality and overlook our imperfections. We are continuing to upgrade every month, but not losing sight of keeping the vintage quality. We will always remain extremely fair priced and not rate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 61 in Asheville
3.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#45 of 61 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#43 of 61 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $61 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay