We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Inn

155 Tunnel Rd., Asheville, NC 28805
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Booked on last minute trip driving through, cancelled after staying for about an hour and went somewhere else. Had a room in the back building, and was by far the worst hotel/motel room I've ever been in.

Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello young fella, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I understand that some of our rooms need a bit more upgrading than others, particularly the smoking rooms.However, we would have been happy to let you have a different room or to cancel and check out if you had voiced your concerns at check in.... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I have been visiting this motel for 10+ years at least once per year. Yes it is an older motel where they do give you an actual key to your room. Big deal I bet most of you have a key to the door at your house.... Yes the rooms are outdated and very much look the way they did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued traveler, We thank you so much for your very kind words about our family business. Chris is 92 years old and still spends more than 80 hours a week working at the motel. He has devoted his entire life to this business and it breaks his heart to hear the harsh criticism that we sometimes get. That is... More 

Truro
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We booked online at last minute, fortunately before reading reviews, or we would not have gone! Our room was at the front, next to reception, and apart from a few marks on the carpet was perfectly clean and functional. Breakfast fine too, and a good rate for Asheville in leaf season. Only major drawback was inability to reduce heating -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 108carolh
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, Thank you for your honest appraisal of our motel. We do have some issues that we are improving daily, but we strive for absolute cleanliness. We also strive to make our guests feel at home. I apologize for the central heat, we were still working out the kinks with the strange weather we have had this year.... More 

Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

The property is perfect for those looking to immerse themselves in the southern Appalachian charm of the region. The hotel staff was very friend and the rooms very clean. It was the first hotel I had been to in a long while that gave you actual keys! It may not be the most updated or fancy place to stay, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We are very grateful for your kind words about our establishment. I am so glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our atmosphere. Please hurry back! More 

Medford, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

I read bad reviews with suspicion. I imagine many have unreasonable expectations. But I found the front desk courteous, the room was clean & huge. It was quiet thru the night.... I will definitely stay there again... Location was great. Beds were a bit outdated... Otherwise it was fine.

Helpful?
Thank SingleDad01255
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We so greatly appreciate your kind and fair comments regarding your stay here. I am so pleased you found everything satisfactory, and am very glad you gave us a chance to begin with. Please come back! More 

Cleveland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

I come here since at least five year (possibly six years), usually summer, sometimes autumn. I am planning to come next time in winter, which is supposed to be magical. I read the reviews and of course see the real deal staying here. I am amazed about the awful reviews this place seems to get, and at the same time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithbirds
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you , thank you. Our self esteem really needed this boost. God Bless, More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I switched rooms three times. The first was a smoky smelly room in the back - scary. The second in the front had about 10 plastic bottles and cups under the bed. The third was better but was also dirty - I cleaned the vanity off with a white washcloth that was black afterwards. The carpets are gross. Charging $20-30/night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank efleming2015
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

So harsh, Smoke smells and plastic cups do not constitute filthy in my world, but I do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience . We suffer from a lot more wear and tear than your usual motels/hotel since we offer weekly rates. Most of our long termers are smokers, pet owners and construction workers. That being said, we struggle to keep... More 

Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Due to the bad reviews, I wasn't sure if booking a couple nights here would be worth it. Man, was I wrong. My room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The decor was kinda retro but I loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will most definitely stay here again when I come back to Asheville.

Helpful?
Thank Lillian N
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kind guest, We may not really warrant 5 stars but we aren't the gutter! I am continually surprised by how satisfied MOST people actually are when they stay with us. I have worked for the big corporate hotels, and I know how picky folks can be. We don't even pretend to be in that league, and most folks... More 

Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Room was clean, and very economical, but no air conditioning or ceiling fan. It was very "stuffy" all night. Cops were at property with a "problem" in the back units..... I did like the "mountain" atmosphere of the place, especially the porch that ran in front of all the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank JKJohnson43056
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, Thank you for stating the truth, that the room was clean! We did have an issue with our central ac in one of our buildings last weekend, but we actually got that fixed. I am sorry you were uncomfortable due to that! I am not thrilled by the central heat/ac in our front building, but it is... More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

Dirty. Smelled horrible. Stains on carpet, curtains, tile and counters. Disgusting. Words can't describe what a dump this place is. Better to sleep in your car or on the street than in this nasty, filthy place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Well, why didn't you just leave and sleep in your car then? We have no problem refunding folks if they come back down to the office and let us know this isn't their cup of tea. It is true that some of the carpets have stains, so that makes the room look a little shabby, but the rooms are clean. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 58 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay