We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love the kind of Beverly Hillbillies look of this place, and the location is perfect if you're going to try to take in Asheville in a few days. Lots of restaurants and destinations are close by, including the Biltmore and surroundings, a large, new mall, and the spectacular Grove Park Inn. Close to downtown as well. If you love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skylark414
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This kitschy little motel is a beautiful relic from the past, replete with eye catching neon signs that make for excellent photo and selfie ops for the folks back home. The rooms each have refrigerators and coffee makers, which make your stay more convenient if you are anything like us and plan to come home at night with leftovers from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaLoca L
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest! We appreciate your very nice review, including the comments about our owner. We are trying to get back to that type of business, where we see "regulars" often and treat them like family. We have continued to make improvements this year after many years of the motel falling into decline. I hope others read your review and...

Bellaire, MI
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traveling the length of the skyline drive-BlueRidge parkway, this was the 5th town/city we stayed in. All of the hotels/motels we chose were in the under $80 price point. The other spots were Waynesboro, Va; Roanoke, Va; Sparta, NC; Blowing Rock, NC. The other motels, were clean; those that were old, had been maintained or updated. The Mountaineer Inn has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellaire56
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to give us a review and comparison study for other establishments like ourselves. We are very aware of our shortcomings. Our property has been in business since the 1940's. Our owner has been here since 1964. Unfortunately the business seriously declined over the last 10 years before new management took over last year....

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Wasn't the most elaborate place I've stayed,, but they seemed willing to try to accommodate. Had to have a recliner, a microwave, a do not disturb sign, pillows, and a box fan brought to my room (as there was no individual room thermostats-only one for the whole hotel, in the office). But they did bring stuff as it was requested....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennethc739
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you valued guest for your review. We do our best to make every customer as comfortable as possible within our means. We do have a central heat and air system for our oldest building and that does pose a challenge sometimes to get every one satisfied with the temperature.

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

My dad and I stayed here one night while exploring Ashville. Compared to hotels downtown this was a good option. My dad liked how it was close to the road and he could sit outside and watch the hustle and bustle. They had a nice little pool and place to grill out. The rooms were dated but we don't mind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sierra B
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for your encouraging review. We definitely are a great spot for watching the flow of Asheville, NC. I am glad you felt the room was clean and adequate for your needs. I do realize we need more attention to our sidewalks and parking lots sometimes. We are always looking for ways to improve! Please visit us...

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Compared to the prices around Asheville this hotel is a good value. It is a little rustic atmosphere with older facilities in the bathroom so if you are looking for modern/fancy forget it. The staff was very friendly and upgrades to a deck around the pool were underway. The parking is a little tight but manageable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buffalogail
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We appreciate your nice and fair review. We make up for the age of the property with lots of hospitality and character. I am glad you thought the pool area improvements were nice. We are very proud of our new additions and look forward to many future visitors enjoying them with us! Please come back!

South Carolina
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

I am surprised to see the other reviews because we had way different experience. We had the perfect room for our girls trip and the location was great, just a short drive from downtown. Room was clean, had a hearty breakfast and they let us take our time checking out. Above and beyond our expectations and coming back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arissa D
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you my dear, I remember visiting with you and your girlfriends. We are so thrilled you had such a nice experience here. That is what we live for! You all were lovely . and I really hope you will visit us again soon!

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Great location and price for the room. Rooms are very outdated but seemed pretty clean. Beds were decent but not great. Staff were slightly rude to us, I don't know if it was because we were a younger couple and not there normal guests or what. I would rather stay somewhere else next time but would stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drewby9
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, We appreciate you taking time out to write us a review. I am glad you found the room to be satisfactory for your visit. I am so sorry that you felt that our staff was rude. I am really surprised about that, but they are indeed a bit jaded by our dealings with local residents who...

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is family owned and run. So don't expect to have some the chain normalities. Old fashioned keys are used instead of electronic. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are clean but dated. If you're in the upper portion there is an included washer dryer, no quarters needed! It is kind of a pain to drive down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison B
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice review. I am so glad you enjoyed your bed and the pool! I am glad you appreciated the character of the place. I hope you will always stay with us whenever you are in town.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We were touring the area on a Harley.We are from from Cornwall, England,we stayed here on the 14th and 15th of September. We were made very welcome by Mr Moutos and his staff. The room was a bit dated but in keeping with the surroundings. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable which is why we booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jub0
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello to our British friends! I am glad you were happy with our little spot here in the mountains. I am glad you got to meet Chris and hear some of his stories. I hope you will stay with us again if ever back this way!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 62 in Asheville
998 reviews
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#45 of 62 in Asheville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Asheville
#43 of 62 in Asheville
218 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $59 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles Skylark414, 3 days ago | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles buffalogail, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
 of 5 bubbles capricornia52, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front are easily accessible if you have a lot of luggage.”
  • Queen bed and bonus recliner.
 of 5 bubbles B2306OTkateg, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“The '50's" rooms are personable and close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanA710, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay