We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

French Broad River Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
French Broad River Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
New Plymouth, Ohio
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thay charged for smoking in cabin . I'm a non smoker . cabin smelled like piss everywhere. And I left it cleaner than I got there . what a deal !!! Thanks French river camp ground . I will tell everyone I know about u.

Helpful?
Thank sugarsweet29
Climax, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the campground. All of the RV and tent sites are right on the river and it's a beautiful view. The lots are very close together. Luckily, we had wonderful neighbors. The owners are very nice and keep a close eye on what's going on. They drive up and down the road multiple times a day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

We've been camping here for several years. I love that it's not row after row of campers in a field. The river is a few feet from our camper. I love the sound of the train. The bath house always seemed to be clean and I always had hot water. Even though it's in an out of the way place,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

I stayed for 2 months (June and July) 2015. Basic campground; owners on site; helpful when needed but not intrusive. Bathhouse was cleaned several times daily. Very accommodating. This is an older facility and due to newer rules/ regulations from varied government entities, there isn't much owners can do in terms of upgrades, more full hookups, etc. but wi-fi and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina N
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Like a setting from the movie Sling Blade! Had found the campground online a while back and was in the area over the wknd...excited to drive thru and pick a spot for camping this coming summer! The scenic drive to the campground consisted of a Sewage Treatment Plant (on the river ,upstream of the campground ! ) , Land Fill... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank D S
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

This is a fairly small campground with sites directly on the French Broad River. Some of the reviews were not favorable, but we found our visit to be very nice. Our site backed right up to the river, which was wonderful. It was a nice flat concrete pad and we had full hookups. Great views of the river as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Souvenir18
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We discovered this camp grounds thru the internet. We were extremely pleased that the pictures on the internet matched what we found at the campground. Our tent site was clean and right next to the river. Plenty of water fowl and Great Blue Herons around and in the river. The bath house was cleaned every morning as advertised and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Where do I start? Driving in you pass a minimum and medium prison, a junk yard, and a waste treatment plant (and we could smell this passing it). When we look at the weather for the days that we were going to Asheville we knew that one day was 90% chance of rain – so we planned to go to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy H
FBRC_Owner, Owner at French Broad River Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. To respond to some of your points: -- the weather temperatures did not dip below 56 during the days you were here. The bathhouse does have heat, and the windows do get closed, when the temperatures demand it. -- The bathhouse always has hot water. It is cleaned repeatedly throughout... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Myself, husband and two teenage kids went on our first rafting adventure. Everyone was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. This is a do-over with this company again in the future! Next we want to try their zip lines. Highly recommend! Only downside is only two toilets in ladies restroom.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

There are a lot of nice pictures posted on here and all of them are true. The things you don't see are the one bath house for the entire camp grounds. In this bath house there is one shower for the guys and one for the women. Wife and daughter had to take a cold shower. There are three port-a-potty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
8.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
8.2 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#14 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
10.8 mi away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 22 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#9 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )

Additional Information about French Broad River Campground

Address: 1030 Old Marshall Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-9667
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
French Broad River Campground Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing