We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Grand Cane, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed this RV park. Kids loved the pool and playground. Wifi worked. Didn't use the showers so I have no opinion on those. You are right at the entrance to the national park and the visitor center. You can't get a better location. You have an amazing view of the badlands. I wouldn't want to be in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCBurf
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel was exactly what we were looking for - somewhere cheap and basic to stop along the way on our trip. The location is AMAZING. Right by the Badlands Scenic Loop road, which drove multiple times during our short stay because of how beautiful it was. There was a strong smell of cleaning products when we arrived but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank subissej
Badlandsmotel, Owner at Badlands Interior Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. More 

Scottsbluff, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were traveling across the State and needed a place for the night. This hotel was perfect. No TV or Internet, just the quiet of the Badlands. The morning brought a beautiful sunrise over the bluffs. The furniture was a bit dated but I loved it. The owners were awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are used to hotels & this was definitely a Motel. Room was very clean, air conditioner worked well, hot shower, (bed was a bit uncomfortable), overall - just right for what we needed. Perfect location after spending day in Badlands. My teenage sons played at the park & went swimming...nice little campground

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well I don't know what I expected but this is certainly a motel. Key for a questionable lock. No TV. Weird smell. Woke up with some sinus congestion. Everything appears clean. Air conditioning works well. Very dated of course. No ice maker but you can buy it. Envelopes in case you still mail things to people from motels. Their cancellation... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjustman2016
Badlandsmotel, Owner at Badlands Interior Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If your looking for a motel close to the Badlands, this is it. It's plain; its outdated, but it was clean and the owners are awesome. Just remember, no TV! We didn't miss it, they have wifi and it's not bad. The beds were actually very comfortable; the shower was soooo small, but that might be the only negative.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Easy to find; comfortable and clean room. Wi-Fi was a challenge. Very good to have a convenience store on premises. Wish we had stayed to buy breakfast; nothing else driving east on hwy 44. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Great place to experience the Badlands away from the interstate.

Helpful?
3 Thank BridgetOzzie
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We CAMPED here. The sites are big enough to accommodate large rigs. Each has a fire pit. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL views. especially sunsets. I have stayed here 2x, each time under different owners. The new owners are doing a great job of keeping up with the place. Nothing special as far as the campsites go, but you should be out taking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the $ this place was fantastic...Able to sit outside in the evening, sit around a campfire with a view of The Badlands. Walking distance to both the park and Interior, SD...nice owners as well. I didn't want to leave...

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
Eland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

First of all the beds are so old they sag in the middle. The walls are dirty and cracked. There's space in the door jam where bugs and hot air can get in. There were dead bugs around the room and in the wrapping on the light fixture. The fridge was a good size but was also the night stand.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lordygirl69
Badlandsmotel, Owner at Badlands Interior Motel and Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We do strive to keep the hotel clean. We do not state anywhere on the websites that we have TVs. We have stated in several booking places there are no Tvs. We are trying to update the rooms but this does take time. We understand you were upset and it showed when... More 

Travelers are raving about these Interior hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
23.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#5 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
22.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Address: 900 SD Hwy 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Price Range: $66 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay