We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Up the Creek Campground

Save
Share
210 E 300 S, Moab, UT 84532-2622
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (17)

About

#16 of 39 Specialty lodging in Moab
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A small walk in tent only campground with showers and flush toilets. Sorry, no dogs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
104Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 46
  • 35
  • 12
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SusieTravels wrote a review Jun 2021
Kansas City, Kansas2 contributions
My husband and I spent three nights here in mid June (during the heat wave when it was 111 degrees). We had site #14 which was shaded all day (although all the sites were in the shade from about 6pm on) . Bathroom /showers were clean and nice to have dishwashing station. We liked not having cars and RV's right next to our tent (you must park in the parking lot and wheel barrow your stuff to your site). Yes, there is road noise because it is only a few blocks from the very busy main road through town. There was some construction noise during the day. But the other campers were extremely quiet (everyone goes to bed early so they can get up early to beat the crowds at the nearby national parks.) I think this place is a little gem. We would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Robyn J wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions
Central location in downtown Moab, clean bathrooms, showers, and dishwashing station, easy access to ice bags, and lots of parking. They even have wheelbarrows to help haul camping gear to your site. It is a very affordable place to stay in Moab - highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Dakota249 wrote a review Aug 2020
Smithville, Texas35 contributions14 helpful votes
My kids and I stayed here during a road trip. We stopped to see Arches National Park. I loved this campground. It was clean. Bathrooms were nice. Dish washing area. Ice for sale. Wheel barrows to haul your gear in since it is a walk in campsite. There were community grills available but we didn't use them. It is located in downtown Moab and their label of urban campground is correct. When we were there, there was road construction on one side and school construction on the other but it was listed on the website ( I love the reference to You may even hear a marching band, being a band director, I got a giggle out of that). Within walking distance of downtown. Just enough lighting at night to see your way around but not so much to keep you up. Easy check in even at 9:30pm. We arrived much later than expected so we spent less time here than I wanted but it served it's purpose. A place to pitch a tent and sleep so we could see Arches the next day before going to our next destination. If you want peace and solitude with your tent pitched beside a creek to while away the hours in contemplation, this is probably not for you. If you need a place to pitch a tent to lay your head for a very reasonable price to see the area and you don't mind the noise, this place is great. The construction won't be there forever but it was very peaceful at night. So peaceful I felt bad trying to set up our tent with two kids at 9:30pm and trying to be as quiet as possible since it looked like most people were asleep. Would highly recommend this place just know what you are getting. URBAN CAMPGROUND in every sense of the phrase. We plan on returning to see some more of Moab and Canyonlands.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Sites closer to parking if you have lots of gear work better
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karen wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
On August 5th, I booked 3 nights at this campground arriving October 19 2020. On August 8th, a mere 3 days later, I discovered that I needed to change my plans and wanted to cancel my reservation. Their cancellation policy states: "If notice is received by 12pm MST 5 days prior to arrival: Full refund less $20 service fee per site. If notice is received less than 5 days prior to arrival: Full refund less the first nights stay per site." After emailing them to say I wanted to cancel my reservation, I discovered that Policy is OLD and no longer applies. The campground want to keep your entire deposit, which is the total cost. Their website also states that they only require 1 night deposit to hold your spot but doesn't allow you to change the amount being charged to your credit card, which is the total cost of your stay. Somewhat deceiving in my opinion and very disappointing. Not sure why they feel compelled to keep my money with more than 2 months notice - they must be afraid they can't release the space - that to me would signal problems. NO customer service - leaves a bad taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Atkins, Owner at Up the Creek Campground
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Karen, I'm sorry to see that you've decided to leave a poor review here, despite our conversation and resolution where I initially gave you full camp credit (as indicated by our policy) and later refunded you everything but the deposit. I do appreciate that you cancelled your immediate dispute with your credit card after realizing your misunderstanding of our cancellation policy and receiving a refund. As I said on the phone to you and in an email: due to the devastating effects of COVID on our small family business, we had to re-adjust our refund policy - it is now very strict - like many other industry leaders (airbnb, airlines etc...) we now only offer camp credit if cancellations are made within 5 days . I wish we could have a more flexible policy, but if we have a mandatory shut down due to COVID again and refund all our guests, as we had to do in the spring, our business would not survive and our family's livelihood would be gone. This also puts some responsibility of the vacation goer to accept that travel interruptions due to the global pandemic are no longer unforeseen, but quite predictable and possible. We aim to be as transparent as possible on our website and through the booking process. However, it does require that people read and understand that information thoroughly, we are always available to answer questions. In the case of our old cancellation policy, I have hundreds of reservations that were made prior to the pandemic, I'm honoring that old policy and have it listed below our new policy for those who need to reference it. When paying, it gives you the option to make the minimum payment so that you do not have to pay for the full reservation, most people navigate this feature without trouble or confusion. Throughout the reservation process you are required to agree to the terms (including our refund policy) twice, this will hold up legally in a credit card dispute. I do understand the frustration when one misunderstand policies and functions on our website and disappointment in our clearly stated, but strict refund policy. However, I consider resolution of your concern, an email, a phone call, a policy exception and a refund within 12 hours of your initial contact to be quite good customer service.
Read more
Jenny S wrote a review Oct 2019
Albuquerque, New Mexico58 contributions23 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at Up the Creek for the most part, it was really nice to be so close to everything (I normally stay on the south end of Moab). Luckily we were only at the campground in the mornings and evenings otherwise the construction noise would have been unbearable. Positives - great vegetation, trees, grassy patches - right next to mill creek, and mill creek path - showers + bathrooms - washing station for dishes - carts to bring gear from car to site - bike rack that you can lock bikes to - plenty of tent space for a couple small tents or a larger tent Negatives - VERY loud construction/destruction noise from the middle school revamp that is directly across from the CG. The only day they didn't work was on Sunday, and all the other evenings (even Saturday) they worked until long after dark. - it's a little weird being so close to your neighbors (particularly if they stay up late and talk all night) - the sand in the campsite gets into everything
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesUtahMoab
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Up the Creek Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Up the Creek Campground?
Nearby attractions include Canyonlands Jeep and Car Rentals (0.2 miles), Redrock Express (0.3 miles), and AreaBFE (0.2 miles).
Is parking available at Up the Creek Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Up the Creek Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moab Diner, Milt's Stop & Eat, and FIESTA MEXICANA.
Is Up the Creek Campground located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Moab.