We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Old Rittenhouse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Rittenhouse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Rittenhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 370: English reviews
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

We arrived at the Old Rittenhouse Inn at around 3 in the afternoon to meet very friendly and nice staff. Our arrival was quite nice with a guided tour of our room and offerings to help us with baggage. At first we loved it but then we found out there was no TV. To us that wasn't problematic due to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan C
Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

We stayed at the Rittenhouse for 2 nights for our 30th anniversary. We had never stayed here before and were 100% pleased with everything. The breakfasts were AMAZING! Too much food but we tried to do our best to eat it all! The staff are professional and very friendly. We watched the moon rise over Lake Superior from our lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank IowaMjb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Ballroom at Le Chateau property. We both agreed the views of the lake were much better than at the Rittenhouse. We didn't have a view of the lake from our room, but the Touret room looked to be the place for that. The Innkeepers and staff were welcoming and gracious, with constant reminders... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pdxgirl817
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to Bayfield. We spent 4 nights here and had dinner 2 times at the Inn. We spent a good amount of money here. The food was excellent and the room was very nice. For the most part the staff was friendly. At one point felt like we were judged because of my husbands tattoo and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sbecker7802
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

We are grateful for your 4 night stay, for dining with us several times, and for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and food. We are sorry that you felt judged re: tattoos. I myself have a tattoo, as do many of our employees. As a business, and as people, we respect everybody's decisions regarding... More 

Tigerton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Our night at Rittenhouse was actual in the second property as there were no rooms available at the Rittenhouse.. We were first of all very impressed when the young lady serving us said she would drive over and meet us there. My wife was almost giddy with excitement as we wandered through the mansion. It was sort of a rainy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald S
Skandia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed here when we decided to take a detour on our way back from Minneapolis to Michigan. It was before the summer season took off, so there was not much happening in town and barely anything open. Luckily we were able to stay here in a great suite with a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and delicious breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank 558nikki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a week at the old rotten house inn. Staff was pleasant. Enjoyed meeting other travelers. Nice views of the lake while dining or sitting on the porch. Easy walk to downtown and the lake. The food was wonderful. We had fresh fish everyday for breakfast. Loved the rhubarb jam.

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner this past weekend and was very disappointed. We are returning customers and have always been more than pleased, however this weekends food was prepared poorly, portions were small and it was heated in the microwave.. (verified by staff) you expect more with a five course meal. Not sure we will be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Itipnot
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this review

This review would be better placed on our restaurant's page on Trip Advisor, as the reviewers did not stay at our Inn. Regardless, we are very sorry to hear of the reviewer's dissatisfaction with their recent meal at Landmark Restaurant at Old Rittenhouse Inn. We always strive to exceed expectations and provide a quality casual fine dining experience. This review... More 

OKC, OK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

We had an absolutely beautiful stay at ORI. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean as a pin, as are the common areas. There was no television in our room which was a welcome change. The room wasn't overpowered with deodorizer but had a very faint old fashioned scent. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank ValnStephen
Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Sweet 10 was great, wonderful view. You can open the side door for a breeze and view of the lake as well as the side windows. Breakfast and dinner was great. Julie was our favorite, she has fantastic character and great stories to tell you! We spent memorial day weekend here.

Helpful?
Thank bergs217
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pinehurst Inn
Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old Rittenhouse Inn is Bayfield, Wisconsin's first Country Inn Bed & Breakfast and gourmet restaurant offering 20 guest rooms in 2 Victorian homes and a private cottage. Accommodations include wood-burning fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spectacular views of Lake Superior. A full service restaurant offers breakfast, brunch, and dinner, and showcases regional cuisine in season. The Inn is located blocks from Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands. This year-round getaway offers seasonal rates and special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Rittenhouse Inn

Address: 301 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5016
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Price Range: $212 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Rittenhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Old Rittenhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rittenhouse Hotel Bayfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay