We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Luna Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 380: English reviews
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at La Luna in July 2016 for a week, parked our rental in the carport, and it was broken into (nothing was taken, but what a hassle to exchange it with the rental company). There were two other vehicles with smashed windows while we were there that week, one of them was parked right next to the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank ObservantTraveler503
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really disappointed with this place. I booked it so long ago along with about 15 other places as we are in USA for a month so I can't quite recall but I think San Francisco accommodation was quite expensive overall and this was priced slightly above budget prices so perhaps for the money it is all we should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ashley L, Thank you for your review your honest review of La Luna Inn. We are glad you did have some positive aspects of your stay. are right stating San Francisco prices can be very expensive, that is why we offer complimentary parking, free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast as an additional perk to our guests. Please accept our... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay and do not mind dirty carpeting, then you may be okay with this place. The front desk is super nice and friendly, but the carpet in our room was really gross, the painting was chipped, the bathroom was dark and the road noise was audible from our room in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathy t
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy t, Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn and your kind comments regarding our staff. Please accept our apology regarding the carpet and are having it looked at by the appropriate manger. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, La Luna Inn More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Not a bad place. A good area, if a little away from the tourist spots. Breakfast was good, and the room clean. The price was good. Only a one night stay, but it was quite suitable for that. Any longer and I would stay elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Nemothelonely
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nemothelonely, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a great stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, La Luna Inn More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at La Luna and had a great trip. The room was very clean and the staff was super friendly. The GM, Mike, was very accommodating and offered great advice when asked about where to go in SF during a trip. We'll definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Fred S
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Fred S, Wow, thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled you and your girlfriend had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, La Luna Inn More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is clean, comfortable and cheap and does exactly what it says on the tin. The rooms are cleaned regularly, the breakfast basic and the staff consistently friendly and approachable. The location isn't fantastic depending on your physical requirements. We stayed for four days and walked to fisherman's wharf on two of them. The walk is safe and trouble free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack B
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jack B, Thank you for your review and the detailed comments in regards to transportation. As you noted, there are many ways to get around San Francisco from our location. We love the walk to Pier 39 : ) Thank you for your kind words about our room and staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Simple, comfortable motel on a very busy noisy road. Room very simple, comfortable beds, cleaned daily. Not very nice smell from the bathroom and toilets, poor water pressure but hot water. Good for marina district and close to good restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Far from the centre and you either need to take busses or use uber. Staff is... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharon s
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon s, Thank you for your very detailed review of La Luna Inn. We greatly appreciate our guests comments. We are pleased to know your room was comfortable and our staff was very helpful and friendly. Please let us know next time of the smell in the bathroom- we will send someone right away! As you said, we are... More 

Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

A very problematic check in- (due to circumstances and other parties who can write their own reviews). The room: clean and comfortable- though quite a bit of traffic noise from outside. Lombard is a busy busy thoroughfare that shoots folks straight off the GG Bridge into The City. Having said this, the location is excellent for walking to/ from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nrg4all
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear nrg4all, Thank you for your review! Please accept our apologies for the problematic check in. However, we are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our location. There are many sites around La Luna Inn in to explore and it sounds like you found them! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

An upscale want-to-be but just doesn't make it except for the price. Has elevator. All rooms opened to outside walkways but the walls were dirty with grime. We were given a room upstairs (supposedly nicer). The floor creaked and the air conditioner did not work at all. They gave us a fan but indicated that they were awear that the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of La Luna Inn. We appreciate your comments and take them very serious. Please accept our apology for the issue with the air conditioner and we are happy we had another room available for you to move to. We have also taken note of the walls. Unfortunately, we cannot please every guest but if... More 

1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Lovely white clean sheets! And smelt like bleach when I walked it so you know it was cleaned! Great location and wifi was really good and free Very happy for the price I paid - especially compared to the other places for the price I paid this was the best

Helpful?
Thank Damla F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

267 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (31)
Viewed
King Room (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#170 of 233 in San Francisco
85 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#165 of 233 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 233 in San Francisco
454 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#82 of 233 in San Francisco
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our spacious guest rooms feature all new, custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $123 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Luna Inn staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from La Luna Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for the back of the building, away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles ObservantTraveler503, 2 days ago | Read review
“We did not have a view. Our room was in the back, so I was hoping not to hear the traffic on Lombard in the morning, I did.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyt552, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor if you have heavy bags”
 of 5 bubbles Nemothelonely, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe room was well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles fredsZ3334PI, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at the back of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahbJ3966CG, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay