We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Luna Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 384: English reviews
Start your review of La Luna Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Third floor facing busy Lombard street - it was not loud, but you definitely hear the street noise. One cool thing was that we had a partial view of the Golden Gate bridge from our room, was not expecting that. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance, we were only there for the one night, but location was convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axrandjv
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Axrandjv, Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. How exciting to see the beautiful Golden Gate from your room, it's so lovely! We hope the next time you need a room in SF, you will stay with us again to explore the major attractions around our...

Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

This a a really great little place for the price. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our room was in the back away from the street so it was pretty quiet. The beds were comfortable and the blankets were nice since they were soft and heavy not those horrible cheap ones. There was no bathtub which was a drawback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breadandbutta
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear breadandbutta, Wow, thank you for your great review of La Luna Inn! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us . Please do let our front desk know next time you were having trouble with the refrigerator staying cold - we can have it replaced. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We...

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed January 7, 2017

We stayed here 3 nights. This place is in a great location, easy to drive to and close to public transportation that can take you straight downtown and past all the major tourist attractions. The place was clean and included free parking (places closer to the downtown wanted $35 per night for parking). Now for the cons: the walls are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CloverAJ
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear CloverAJ, Thank you for your 4 star review of La Luna Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location to SF's major attractions. We agree parking in San Francisco can be quite expensive therefore our complimentary parking is a little perk we like to provide for our guests! We have taken note of...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We stayed her the night of Jan 1, 2017. The reasons we chose this place was the price, free parking, and it put us in close proximity of things we wanted to do. If I recall correctly we booked through Hotels.com and we had no issues checking in at all. The girl at the front desk when we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mrbeltswildride
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrbeltswildride, Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! We greatly appreciate your comments and kind words regarding our staff. As you mentioned, we offer complimentary parking as an additional perk to our guests because we do understand how expensive parking can be in San Francisco! Please...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed December 1, 2016

We stayed at La Luna in July 2016 for a week, parked our rental in the carport, and it was broken into (nothing was taken, but what a hassle to exchange it with the rental company). There were two other vehicles with smashed windows while we were there that week, one of them was parked right next to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ObservantTraveler503
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear ObservantTraveler503, Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are sorry to hear your car was broken into when you stayed with us over this past summer. It can be a hassle to exchange it with the rental company. We can assure you our property is safe and this was an isolated incident. Please know our property...

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed November 12, 2016

We were really disappointed with this place. I booked it so long ago along with about 15 other places as we are in USA for a month so I can't quite recall but I think San Francisco accommodation was quite expensive overall and this was priced slightly above budget prices so perhaps for the money it is all we should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley L
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ashley L, Thank you for your review your honest review of La Luna Inn. We are glad you did have some positive aspects of your stay. are right stating San Francisco prices can be very expensive, that is why we offer complimentary parking, free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast as an additional perk to our guests. Please accept our...

Reviewed November 1, 2016

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay and do not mind dirty carpeting, then you may be okay with this place. The front desk is super nice and friendly, but the carpet in our room was really gross, the painting was chipped, the bathroom was dark and the road noise was audible from our room in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathy t
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy t, Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn and your kind comments regarding our staff. Please accept our apology regarding the carpet and are having it looked at by the appropriate manger. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, La Luna Inn

Sydney
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Not a bad place. A good area, if a little away from the tourist spots. Breakfast was good, and the room clean. The price was good. Only a one night stay, but it was quite suitable for that. Any longer and I would stay elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nemothelonely
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nemothelonely, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a great stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, La Luna Inn

Reviewed October 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at La Luna and had a great trip. The room was very clean and the staff was super friendly. The GM, Mike, was very accommodating and offered great advice when asked about where to go in SF during a trip. We'll definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fred S
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Fred S, Wow, thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled you and your girlfriend had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, La Luna Inn

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is clean, comfortable and cheap and does exactly what it says on the tin. The rooms are cleaned regularly, the breakfast basic and the staff consistently friendly and approachable. The location isn't fantastic depending on your physical requirements. We stayed for four days and walked to fisherman's wharf on two of them. The walk is safe and trouble free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack B
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jack B, Thank you for your review and the detailed comments in regards to transportation. As you noted, there are many ways to get around San Francisco from our location. We love the walk to Pier 39 : ) Thank you for your kind words about our room and staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (31)
Viewed
King Room (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#167 of 229 in San Francisco
541 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
527 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
463 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#136 of 229 in San Francisco
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our spacious guest rooms feature all new, custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $125 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Luna Inn staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from La Luna Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book direct with hotel, its cheaper than any rate you will find on this site or others, also third floor facing Lombard has good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Axrandjv, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“For the price the free parking is a nice highlight”
 of 5 bubbles Mrbeltswildride, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the back of the building, away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles ObservantTraveler503, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“We did not have a view. Our room was in the back, so I was hoping not to hear the traffic on Lombard in the morning, I did.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyt552, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you have heavy bags”
 of 5 bubbles Nemothelonely, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question