We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Traveluro
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (687)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#61 of 251 in San Francisco
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Vertigo's convenient Nob Hill location & boutique amenities offer a sophisticated sanctuary during your stay in San Francisco.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
258Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1894Reviews60Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 622
  • 853
  • 295
  • 71
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anne M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Do not book this hotel. Now used as a homeless hostel. We booked through a travel Agent who had no idea this was the case. It was in a very rough area. We had to quickly move somewhere else. Rooms still available to book on trip advisor. Please do not book
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jarryd D wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Recently stayed at Hotel Vertigo, a massive thank-you to Sam, Joan and the wonderful staff who were always friendly and helpful during my stay. Close to Union square, Chinatown and plenty of local cafe's.Had a great experience and would recommend to anyone visiting San Francisco.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ron t wrote a review Apr 2020
Pontypridd, United Kingdom24 contributions35 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay at the hotel vertigo the staff very helpful and friendly hotel a little dated but quaint and very comfortable and in a perfect location ideal ifor exploring San Francisco Plenty of restaurants on the door step.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVertigoSF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Apr 21, 2020
294ront, Thank you sooo much for your awesome review! Best, Jaime
Read more
117nikae wrote a review Apr 2020
U.S. Virgin Islands3 contributions4 helpful votes
Share review Embed review Write an update Edit review 4/4/2020 I am traveling on business and stuck in San Francisco and Corona Virus is at it's peak and I am not allowed to get on a plane to go home. Hotel Vertigo took me in, with their limited services, and didi the best they could to make me happy despite no maid service. The staff is very nice, Sam at the front desk is especially sweet and so is Hymay(I apologize for the mis-spelling of his name!) who is the GM of the hotel. I am disabled and they had plenty of room options for the handicapped so for those who are stuck and want a budget friendly and overall welcoming place to stay and don't mind cleaning your own room, then I very much recommend this place. I have also stayed here when the virus wasn't going on, and can say that the service and rooms are very solid. Thank you to all the staff and everyone at the Hotel Vertigo for being as kind as you could. A TIP: PLEASE NOTIFY ALL POSSIBLE PATRONS OF YOUR HOTEL THAT THERE ARE NO SERVICES AVAILABLE AT THE TIME OF CHECK IN. I DIDN'T FIND THAT OUT UNTIL 2 DAYS IN AND WAS SHOCKED AND FELT A BIT TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF. SO I SUGGEST MORE HONEST COMMUNICATION AMID STAFF AND CUSTOMERS. THANKS AGAIN SAM, HYMAY, GARY, CHRISITINA, JESSICA, AND TO ANYONE I LEFT OUT!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVertigoSF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Apr 21, 2020
117nikae, Thank you for the great review and hopefully we can see each other again after this crazy situation! Best, Jaime
Read more
Alison H wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed in the hotel Vertigo for 3 nights-arriving the day that the USA went into lockdown!! We arrived apprehensive, stressed and tired at 10pm after travelling for around 20 hours. Sam was at the desk with a smile and a warm welcome. We were quickly shown to our room which was spacious, warm and clean. Greg met us the each morning with a smile and a song. And our complimentary breakfast was delicious (I highly recommend the hotel blend if you like coffee). The hotel was unique, the staff were genuinely friendly and knowledgeable and we would highly recommend staying if you are travelling through San Francisco.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVertigoSF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Mar 31, 2020
alisonhU3422JP, Thank you very much for your 5 star rating and despite the unusually stressful environment we're currently living in we're very happy that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having as our guest again and stay healthy. Best, Jaime
Read more
antony g wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a well situated hotel for Union Square which is the centre of which everything starts. Staff are very helpful and the hotel is very clean but is a little basic, saying this we did not spend too much time there. Do your homework before coming, but if you take a left out of the doors and walk straight you will get to union square or china town within 10 to 15 minute walk. Breakfast is serve yourself coffee and pastries
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVertigoSF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Mar 27, 2020
Hi AG, Thanks for the review and I'm happy that you found our staff helpful and hotel very clean. We take alot of pride in making sure all areas of the hotel are performing at it's best! Jaime
Read more
Jay T wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Clean and quirky hotel with quality linens and excellent front desk and housekeeping staff. Stayed for 5 nights, the front desk staff gave me maps and were great with luggage, had good music on and very welcoming. Room was a good size, the wardrobe impressive, bathroom small but adequate. Being an older hotel walls were thin and TV signal regularly dropped out but for staff, location, wifi service and comfort for a solo traveller/ couple it was excellent. Pastries and coffee were an added bonus but get in quick! Highly recommended at this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVertigoSF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Mar 27, 2020
H4555BBjayt, Wow! We absolutely LOVE reading reviews like this from our guest and I'm glad that over your 5 days we were excellent! In regards to the TV Signal we had our DIRECTV rep find the issue and upgraded our firmware resolving the issue. We look forward to having you return as our guest. Jaime
Read more
Voyage696308 wrote a review Feb 2020
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
Lovely boutique hotel- absolutely spotless, with character and modern amenities, together in a very cozy way. My room overlooked a lemon tree and trumpet vines. Gorgeous. Huge bath tub, which is often missing in my travels, and hot water and lovely soaps and lotions. I cant recommend this hotel enough! I will return. Hey, it's Hitchcock filmed here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: I had a back room and loved it- quiet and great view of trees and flowers.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VERTIGO_SF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Hello Voyage696308, We LOVE reading reviews like yours and thank you for letting the TripAdvisor community know that we're excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Kevin C wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is in walking distance of the business center of town but not too close which allowed some privacy. I enjoyed my stay there and the staff was overly friendly. There are plenty of dining options and convenient stores close by.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VERTIGO_SF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Hello KevinCau2020 Thank you for taking the time to positively review us following your recent stay at Hotel Vertigo. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will choose Hotel Vertigo when travel plans bring you back to San Francisco, and we look forward to welcoming you
Read more
Linzi B wrote a review Feb 2020
Wylam, United Kingdom16 contributions53 helpful votes
After a long journey we arrived at the hotel upon greeting they knew it was my 40th and I had no happy birthday no upgrade and I felt like they weren’t bothered! We have been staying in LA for 5 nights after this and Nashville for 5 nights. We have not received our $100 amenities charge either from this hotel and we have from the others. This was the first place we stayed at. The hotel was clean but a little out the way for us. I am generally disappointed in this hotel for all Of the above reasons did not make me feel special at all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VERTIGO_SF, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Hi 214linzib, After reviewing your reservation I found out that there were no notes indicating that you were celebrating your 40th birthday. We do our absolute best to acknowledge all occasions even when we're not notified of them to make all of our guests feel special. I'm really sorry that you felt we didn't care when that wasn't the case and hope in the future you give us another chance to exceed your expectations. For any future guests please feel free to reach out to us directly if you have any questions and/or need help either before, during or after your stay. Our goal is to make your stay wonderful, unique and memorable no matter what the occasion for your stay is. Best, Jaime
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vertigo hotel san francisco, york hotel san francisco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
York Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Lower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Vertigo
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Vertigo?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Magic Theater (0.3 miles), Grace Cathedral (0.3 miles), and Redwood Room (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Vertigo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Vertigo?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Hotel Vertigo?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Vertigo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapisara Eatery, Liholiho Yacht Club, and Fino Bar & Ristorante.
Does Hotel Vertigo have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Vertigo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Vertigo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Vertigo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Vertigo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Vertigo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.7 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.1 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.8 miles).
Does Hotel Vertigo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.