We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Union Square

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Union Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,143: English reviews
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed here the last two years while attending Oracle Open World. The rooms are clean and have very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly, always going the extra mile if you need anything. They even greeted me by name when I returned to the hotel. The Internet works great, too, making it easy to work remotely if you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bivrak
Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dark colors, no windows, matress not good at all, no a/c, small rooms, we didn't love the rooms! The only positive things was the location and de staff. We cannot be upgrade because of a convention in town they said! But we were not in the buisness part of the town!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caroline849
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I apologize you were unhappy with your room and we did not have availability to upgrade you. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and staff and hope to have the chance to impress you on a future visit. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I have made it . The hotel is great a lovely room clean spacious and located well but poor welcome . After 2 long flights the clerk at checkin was on his computer and made me wait before attending to me . Subsequent staff were most cold and officious . The concierge was warmer and helpful . I enjoyed exploring... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms. I apologize however if you received anything less than excellent service. This is our number one priority and we will share this feedback with our team to help us improve. Thank you again. More 

St Albert
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly employees, clran rooms, but not enough air circulation. Check in was slow. We arrived early, but still had to wait to check in. We were charged for wifi everyday even though it wasn't used. It should be complimentary for guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Micheline J
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us this feedback and will review this with our team. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms very small but, comfortable and clean. Easy access to valet parking. Staff was pleasant and helpful with recommendations and directions. Nice to be close to great shopping and great restaurants. Great location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanbS2874FK
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your weekend with us! We are happy to hear you had a nice visit and found our staff to be helpful! We hope to see you again soon. All the best. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Excellent rooms. In the middle of everything. Friendly people with good feeling and attention. And the price is cheaper related with quality of the services. If you want to visit and know San Francisco, this is your best option.

Helpful?
Thank Luis G
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with us! We Appreciate the kind comments about our rooms, location and friendly staff! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not so helpful paid 50 something for "valet" parking when my they had my husband park his own vehicle , not worth the price paid in all so small no moving space . Shower would flood during a shower . Really hot ! No air .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anamelgoza10
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize your experience was less than excellent. Our valet is operated by a 3rd party company Pro Park America and I will share this feedback with their manager. Thank you again for letting us know, we wish your stay would have been more enjoyable. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While the hotel was in a good location for our purposes, there were a few issues. Upon check-in, as we approached the front desk, the agent was on the phone, discussing a personal issue, an failed to acknowledge us. After completing the call he continued to explain his personal problem with us, which was not of our concern. We'd requested... More 

Helpful?
Thank nlee37
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this unfortunate experience with us. I can assure you this is not what we strive to offer our guests and will review this feedback with our team to help us improve. Thank you again for letting us know, we wish your stay would have been more enjoyable. More 

Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are really small. The sink of the bathroom was next to the bed not in the bathroom. The bathroom was really narrow. In addition, there was one wastepaper basket full for two days. The wifi is not for free. The mattress was very poor and uncomfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We apologize your experience was less than excellent. We value all guest’s comments and will share them with the team to help us improve. Thanks again. More 

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's 3:45 am, and here I sit writing this review because my claustrophobic little room has become so hot I can't sleep -- and I'm from Tucson! There's no A/C, so the only way to cool it down is to open a window that opens out onto this "shaft" with fire escape staircase in it. I'd probably be able to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear your stay has been less than excellent. We are pleased you are reaching out while still on property to hopefully allow us an opportunity to make your stay more comfortable. I can be reached via email at Tlayton@hoteldivaunionsquare.com and would love to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

555 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (415)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Queen (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds (28)
Viewed
Executive King Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,549 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,806 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#39 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighborhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theaters in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $181 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay