We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Greenwich Inn

3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Priceline.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Greenwich Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Slow renovation of Marina District Motor Inn. When finished its perfectly located for touring the area. Call first to see if renovation is complete and that room is available. Avoid being moved to a nearby co-op location. One block away from cafes

Helpful?
Thank Donald L
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a great find. It was in a good location. Everything was in a good distance! We like to walk so it was perfect! Rooms were newly refurbished! Basic but perfectly clean and fine! Comfortable bed. Perfect for us we enjoyed or stay so thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Kaylrd
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kaylrd, Thank you for staying with us at Greenwich Inn. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and newly renovated rooms. Please think of us again when booking your next trip to San Francisco! Warmest Regards, Greenwich Inn More 

Cambria, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I never expected to find such a nice modern hotel room in the Marina. They just remodeled half of their rooms and they are in the process of finishing the other half. The rooms are decorated very tasteful, with practical modern furniture, platform beds and beautiful wooden floors. They will put a new face lift on the outside of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hetty P
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hetty P, Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all of our hard work. We appreciate your thoughtful review and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warmest Regards, Greenwich Inn More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We have been diverted to this hotel from a different one that had us overbooked and hence they didn't have any room available. The hotel is in the process of being renovated - part of the rooms are already new - and the new rooms are just perfect. Fast wifi, big shower, clean and modern room. No Breakfast but there... More 

Helpful?
Thank geghete
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Geghete, Thank you for the 5 star review! I don't think we could do any better than "perfect". We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for recognizing the improvements we have made recently. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Warm Regards, Greenwich Inn More 

San Francisco, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

I have been staying at the Greenwich hotel for a few weeks and loved my stay. Ricky, the Manager made my life very comfortable and accommodated me with all my requests. They are in the process of remodeling the rooms and I was lucky to be one of the first guests to stay in the remodeled rooms. They are beautiful,... More 

Helpful?
Thank danielle749
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danielle749, Thank you for the great 5 star review! You are right, Ricky is great and we will make sure to pass along your compliments to him for his outstanding customer service. Thank you again for review and recommendation. Please come stay with us again soon! Warm Regards, Greenwich Inn More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

First of all, I think it is unfair to rate a low budget property a 3 to 4 star rating for any obvious reasons related to its low budget status. I have seen complaints about this place based on things that one would expect from a low-budget place- I say compare low-budget to low-budget, do not compare low-budget to high... More 

Helpful?
Thank NursePate
ManagerDM, General Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear NursePate, Wow, thank you for the 5 star review! We are positively beaming after reading your review and will make sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the staff and the owners. Making guests as happy as you were with your stay is our goal and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

This hotel comes in a lot cheaper that most hotels in San Francisco. Upon arrival we were a little worried to see that the reception was undergoing renovation, but soon realised that the rooms had already been renovated. The decor was modern, the rooms were clean and the staff really friendly. The location was perfect, boutique shops and restaurants around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Norky1991
ManagerDM, General Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear norky1991, Wow, thank you for the five star review! While it can be painful to go through a remodel, it makes it worth it to hear that guests like you find the new rooms modern and clean. We will make sure to pass along your very positive feedback to our staff and owners. We hope you will come back... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

A great location right off Lombard street. They are in the process of of remodeling, so the rates will probably be going up. The rooms have big TVs, tiled showers, hair dryers, very nice beds, everything is new. The rooms do not have refrigerators, ice buckets, or mini-shampoo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ralph B, Thank you for your four star rating and many compliments. We hope we made such a good impression that you will continue to stay with us whenever you visit the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you, Greenwich Inn More 

Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights in this hotel with other 3 friends. The outside of the hotel is not so nice while the inside is completely new: beautiful bathroom and room! There is a free wifi and parking but not the breakfast. The manager said to me that they are going to renew the outside, so we'll see:)

Helpful?
Thank Gabriel G
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel G, Thank you for your 4 star review and taking the time to share your experience. We absolutely love to hear that you love the inside of our property. We've worked very hard and made many changes, thank you for your compliments and taking note. We're so pleased you enjoyed it! Also, thank you for sharing that we... More 

California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

Given the price and the reviews, I did not expect much and that's exactly what I got - not much. However, ever basic no-frills hotels can be done differently, and this one is definitely not one of the best. The bed was ok, the shower was running, and that's positive, so the bare minimums of acceptable are fulfilled. Also, WIFI... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baggins42
ManagerDM, Manager at Greenwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Baggins42, We appreciate your candid feedback and would like to sincerely apologize about the state of your room. We wish you had spoken to a member of our staff so we could have moved you to another room. We never want any of our guests to feel the way you do, so please know we will address your issues.... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#157 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#167 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Marina District
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#104 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#180 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#151 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Marina District
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco
#135 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Greenwich Inn

Address: 3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $127 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwich Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Greenwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel San Francisco
Greenwich b&b
Greenwich Bed Breakfast
Greenwich San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay