We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3201 Steiner St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$99
Travelocity$99
Vio.com$99
Orbitz.com$99
Etrip$99
Hurb$99
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (3)

About

#153 of 244 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.1
Service
3.0
Value
3.4
This San Francisco motel is 15 minutes' walk from the Palace of Fine Arts and a short walk from Union Street's boutiques, restaurants and bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
334Reviews4Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 106
  • 89
  • 39
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sarah L wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I booked my room less than 48 hours before my stay. Unfortunately my son woke up very sick the day before our trip and I canceled immediately the morning of 9/3/22 when our reservation was for the night of 9/4/22. I was still charged the full amount due to not canceling 48 hours in advance, despite not even making the reservation 48 hours before our scheduled stay. The staff gave me the runaround, claimed they didn’t know about it or it was too late to reimburse. The lady was rude snd hung up on me. It’s very unfortunate that this business won’t be understanding or make exceptions under these circumstances and have zero customers service skills.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Greenwich Inn
Responded Sep 7, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. While we are happy about your decision to stay with us, we are sad to hear about your overall experience. We are renowned for our friendly and helpful staff along with our quality customer service. However, we are disappointed to note that we have failed to leave a positive impression on you. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive the type of service that we strive to deliver for all of our guests. We will be reviewing your comment with the relevant department, and we will ensure that such incidents do not happen again. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Warm regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne P wrote a review Aug 2022
Shohola Pa, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was very clean and the hotel was very convenient to the bus tour. Also there were lovely restaurants close by to enjoy. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful with sightseeing tips as well. Overall a very pleasant stay. I would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Greenwich Inn
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Dear Anne, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. We are delighted with your decision to stay with us, and we are glad that you liked the cleanliness. We are very particular about the overall cleanliness and hygiene, and hence, we are happy with your praise. We highly appreciate your decision to select us, and we have thoroughly enjoyed hosting you. We look forward to hosting you soon! Warm regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maddie wrote a review May 2022
Tasmania, Australia10 contributions5 helpful votes
The owner was so friendly and super helpful. Gave us great recommendations for the area and using MUNI. Location was really great as had many of restaurants around us and felt safe. It can be loud outside, however we didn’t mind as have lived in a city. The only downfall I found was the pillows weren’t very comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Greenwich Inn
Responded May 12, 2022
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Warm regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Conan C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stayed one night. Found out it is a tweeker haven. Drug attics up all night making noise and caring on. Was up from 1am on. Thankfully the kids slept though it. Would not wish my worse enemy staying here. Tryed calling the front desk multiple times with no awnser and voice mail full. DO NOT STAY
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Greenwich Inn
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Dear Conanc2022, Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We are so disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience during your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies that we failed to deliver a comfortable stay with us, and we were unable to leave a positive impression on you. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving and training our staff, to ensure a better experience for our future guests. We hope you give us another chance to redeem ourselves and provide you with a better experience. Warm regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aly R wrote a review Jul 2021
Arcata, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
I contacted this Inn in advance to say I was disabled and needed a room that was accessible without stairs. They said they had a ground floor room reserved. We get there, exhausted after driving 300 miles, she tells us that they don't have a ground floor room. They did not call us in advance to tell us of the change. The alternatives she offered were not acceptable. I asked for a refund of my deposit, since they were not providing the accommodations I asked for specifically. She said I would have to go through Expedia to get the refund. She did not have the power to give a refund. This was a lie. I contacted Expedia and they said she was the only one who could reverse the charge. She charged us a full night's stay, even though she failed to provide the handicapped accessible room we were promised. She was rude, she lied, she was an ableist. I did not see the rooms but the outside is shabby. One of the stairs was boarded up. She said there was plumbing damage. There is a much nicer Inn two blocks away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Greenwich Inn
Responded Jul 19, 2021
Hi Alyssar, Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like we did not achieve our goal on this occasion. At Greenwich Inn, we generally receive numerous compliments for our professional, friendly, and helpful staff, and we are disappointed to read your comments in relation to your experience. This is not the usual feedback that we get, and we apologize that our hospitality left something to be desired on this occasion - this is very unlike us. We have taken your feedback on board, and we will ensure that our staff is aware of your impression and see to it that all of our team members endeavor to make sure that each guest has the positive experience that we aim to provide. Furthermore, we apologize for the unexpected incident that brought you inconvenience, and we will definitely investigate this matter further with our team to ensure that it does not happen again. We believe some confusion led to this misunderstanding, and we are genuinely sorry for the discrepancies you faced. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we have forwarded your inputs to management for review. We will reach out to you for further information. Warm regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel A wrote a review Dec 2019
Mesa, United States106 contributions78 helpful votes
It’s OK but we were disappointed. The room was clean but starting to show its age with several items in disrepair. They advertised breakfast and told us breakfast was included when we checked in, but in the morning the clerk said they quit doing breakfast two weeks ago. Parking is hit and miss, we found ourselves the victim of somebody double parked and had to wait around for the rude owner to show up and move his vehicle. The worst part was being woken up at 2:30 AM, 4 AM, and 6 AM by people outside. Travelers tip: if you do decide to stay here, it’s much less expensive to book online than in person.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Greenwich Inn
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Dear Daniel, We are disappointed with your review, to know that you were so unhappy with some aspects of your stay. We aim to provide all of our guests with a great stay and we are sorry that this was not your experience. We will ensure that your comments are actioned. We hope that you might offer us another opportunity to successfully host you in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
geeseg11 wrote a review Dec 2019
long beach, ca6 contributions10 helpful votes
We arrived at 11pm and after checking into our room we realized that the thermostat didn’t work. It’s 40• outside and cold inside. We tried and tried and to no avail, we called several times and were informed they would send someone over, by this time it was midnight. I’m assuming that sending someone over would be in the a.m. At 7a.m. When we awoke to get ready for our day and walking downstairs to the car, we were quickly surprised to see that someone had smashed the back window of our rental. When we mentioned it to the front desk his response was (it happens a lot and we don’t have any cameras). They told us that making a police report was pointless and it was also confirmed by the police dept. as well when we called. Needless to say, check in at your own risk, but I know that is everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Greenwich Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2019
Dear Guest, We're very sorry and absolutely shocked that you appear to have had such a bad experience during your recent stay with us. This isn't the usual feedback that we get and not the common experience that our guests have. Thank you for your comments - we will investigate and see if there is any action that we can take to see if we can improve our guest's experience. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJL wrote a review Nov 2019
Bocas Town, Panama13 contributions13 helpful votes
I came to see Hamilton show and the hotel was perfect. Clean newer rooms, free parking and $13 Uber ride to the theater. I could hear my upstairs neighbor snoring but other than that - great budget travel spot. Even cereal and OJ for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Greenwich Inn
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Dear Guest, To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing! Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dov Ben Amram wrote a review Oct 2019
California108 contributions92 helpful votes
If you need a place to stay in San Francisco and you are on a tight budget, the Greenwich Inn could be a solution. This is a simple drive-in hotel. Simple rooms, minimal amenities, minimal very basic continental breakfast. So why stay there? The hotel rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels nearby, The rooms have been renovated recently and are clean and functional. Plenty of restaurants within one minute walk!. You have easy and free access to the hotel its own parking area, right near your room and it is on a relatively quiet surroundings. This is not a place to conduct international business transactions. - Just a place for good night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Greenwich Inn
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Dear Guest, We were glad to hear that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. We enjoyed being your host and would love to do so again, if your travels bring you back to the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
collin7951 wrote a review Sep 2019
Lino Lakes, Minnesota5 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed a single night and found place to be well kept. The room was clean and inviting but the area does have some road noise due to location. Was able to get a parking slot for the night, so didn't have to pay additional for overnight parking. It would be recommended to grab a slot then walk to the surrounding attractions. We rented Bird scooters to get to the Pier 39 area, which was fun but would be so much cheaper to just use Uber or Lift.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Greenwich Inn
Responded Sep 4, 2019
Dear Collin, We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
greenwich hotel san francisco, greenwich b&b, greenwich bed breakfast, greenwich san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoMarina District / Cow Hollow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREENWICH INN - Prices & Hotel Reviews (San Francisco, CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Greenwich Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Greenwich Inn?
Nearby attractions include Marina District (0.1 miles), Reed & Greenough (0.2 miles), and Cow Hollow (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greenwich Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Greenwich Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Greenwich Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greenwich Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pacific Catch, Home Plate, and Super Duper Burgers.
Are there any historical sites close to Greenwich Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (2.7 miles), Alcatraz Island (2.1 miles), and Battery Spencer (4.5 miles).