We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2237 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Travelocity
Only 4 left at
$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Priceline$179
Tripadvisor$179
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (638)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (233)

About

#5 of 81 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Hiking
Walking tours
Massage chair
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
ATM on site
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
1376Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 617
  • 525
  • 163
  • 42
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michelle Hart wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Like many others in the world, our honeymoon booked for July 2020 from Australia to the US was cancelled due to COVID-19. I have contacted this company for a refund via telephone, countless emails and via social media and NOT ONCE have I received a response. Whilst I understand the huge impact this time has had on businesses, we have had our own financial difficulties as well. Very disappointed in this business and I would not recommend booking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Remo Hotel
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us; we apologize for the inconvenience you had after booking and that you were unable to make it due to COVID restrictions. Please feel free to reach out to us again. Rest- assured we are happy to help you if you have any other queries. Once again, we are very sorry for any inconvenience. Sincerely, San Remo Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francoise D. wrote a review Aug 2021
Namur, Namur, Belgium3 contributions
I followed the recommendation below ('please write to the Hotel directly with your request and provide a copy of your reservation, including reservation number name and email, for us to provide you a refund.') but got an automatic email response saying that emails are not monitored. I didn't get the refund for our July 2020 reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from C C, Other at San Remo Hotel
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Thank you so much for your message. We sincerely apologize for our lack of communication. For the first time in our fifty years of operation, the San Remo Hotel was forced to close last March of 2020 and remains closed. Our outstanding staff of twenty, have all been laid off. Like all others, we thought that this unfortunate pandemic would be over in a short time, but unfortunately, the world is still suffering from closure. Every time that we were told that we could be able to open has proven to be false. Lacking staff, our ability to communicate has remained almost minimal. We have refunded hundreds of guests' deposits since we closed. They all have been reimbursed through the Credit Card Companies through which the deposit was made. For refunds, the guests can communicate directly with the credit card that posted the charge or the Online Travel Agency that made the reservation. We want to refund your deposit. Please contact your credit card company for assistance. If you can not get resolution, please write to the Hotel directly with your request and provide a copy of your reservation, including reservation number name and email, for us to provide you a refund. We regret that you and the Hotel have had to experience such troubles during this terrible time that we are all going through. You need to write a physical letter to: Robert Field Owner of San Remo Hotel Address San Remo Hotel 2237 Mason St. San Francisco, CA 94133
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma M wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions
My friend and I were due to stay with you last year and I have sent a few emails and tried your number on several occasions but nobody is answering or responding. We’re not looking for a refund but just some news on whether you’re planning to reopen? Will our money be kept safe with you until such time? We’d really appreciate an update. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at San Remo Hotel
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Hello Emma Thank you so much for your message. We sincerely apologize for our lack of communication. For the first time in our fifty years of operation, the San Remo Hotel was forced to close last March of 2020 and remains closed. Our outstanding staff of twenty, have all been laid off. Like all others, we thought that this unfortunate pandemic would be over in a short time, but unfortunately, the world is still suffering from closure. Every time that we were told that we could be able to open has proven to be false. Lacking staff, our ability to communicate has remained almost minimal. We have refunded hundreds of guests' deposits since we closed. They all have been reimbursed through the Credit Card Companies through which the deposit was made. For refunds, the guests can communicate directly with the credit card that posted the charge or the Online Travel Agency that made the reservation. We want to refund your deposit. Please contact your credit card company for assistance. If you can not get resolution, please write to the Hotel directly with your request and provide a copy of your reservation, including reservation number name and email, for us to provide you a refund. We regret that you and the Hotel have had to experience such troubles during this terrible time that we are all going through. Robert Field Owner of San Remo Hotel Address San Remo Hotel 2237 Mason St. San Francisco, CA 94133
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brett C wrote a review Jan 2021
44 contributions3 helpful votes
On June 29, 2020 my reservation was cancelled by the hotel due to the Pandemic. It is now January 22, 2021 and I still have not received a refund. No one answers the phone/messages or emails. Really? One person can't continue to work just to process refunds? Horrible!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, Marketing at San Remo Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2021
Thank you so much for your message. We sincerely apologize for our lack of communication. For the first time in our fifty years of operation, the San Remo Hotel was forced to close last March of 2020 and remains closed. Our outstanding staff of twenty, have all been laid off. Like all others, we thought that this unfortunate pandemic would be over in a short time, but unfortunately, the world is still suffering from closure. Every time that we were told that we could be able to open has proven to be false. Lacking staff, our ability to communicate has remained almost minimal. We have refunded hundreds of guests' deposits since we closed. They all have been reimbursed through the Credit Card Companies through which the deposit was made. For refunds, the guests can communicate directly with the credit card that posted the charge or the Online Travel Agency that made the reservation. We want to refund your deposit. Please contact your credit card company for assistance. If you can not get resolution, please write to the Hotel directly with your request and provide a copy of your reservation, including reservation number name and email, for us to provide you a refund. We regret that you and the Hotel have had to experience such troubles during this terrible time that we are all going through. Robert Field Owner of San Remo Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha O wrote a review Jan 2021
Strood, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked to stay here June 2020 but due to COVID my stay was cancelled. Since then I have tried contacting them multiple times via phone and email and they have ignored every single attempt. I am incredibly frustrated that they have taken my money and I am unable to get it back or even speak to them. It's now January 2021!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, Marketing at San Remo Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2021
Thank you so much for your message. We sincerely apologize for our lack of communication. For the first time in our fifty years of operation, the San Remo Hotel was forced to close last March of 2020 and remains closed. Our outstanding staff of twenty, have all been laid off. Like all others, we thought that this unfortunate pandemic would be over in a short time, but unfortunately, the world is still suffering from closure. Every time that we were told that we could be able to open has proven to be false. Lacking staff, our ability to communicate has remained almost minimal. We have refunded hundreds of guests' deposits since we closed. They all have been reimbursed through the Credit Card Companies through which the deposit was made. For refunds, the guests can communicate directly with the credit card that posted the charge or the Online Travel Agency that made the reservation. We want to refund your deposit. Please contact your credit card company for assistance. If you can not get resolution, please write to the Hotel directly with your request and provide a copy of your reservation, including reservation number name and email, for us to provide you a refund. We regret that you and the Hotel have had to experience such troubles during this terrible time that we are all going through. Robert Field Owner of San Remo Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foxylinz wrote a review Mar 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom162 contributions107 helpful votes
My husband booked us 4 nights here at the start of a month-long tour round western USA, and as an introduction to California, it was just charming. The staff were so polite and helpful, and made us feel right at home. We were expecting the shared facilities, so they didn't surprise us. In fact, they were better than expected! Ample towels, lockable bathrooms, shared sinks with lots of little touches like free mouthwash, combs, Q-tips, make up remover wipes, etc made me relaxed about sharing them. I rarely bumped into anyone else when using them anyway. The room was on the second floor at the far end of a corridor, but once our luggage was left there, it wasn't a bother. It was a small room, even by UK standards, but since we spent very little time in it, it didn't matter. Maybe a little more room for luggage storage would have been welcome, that's all. The freebies by the drink station in the lobby by reception were a welcome extra - the sweets were lush! The hotel is well-situated for either Fisherman's Wharf or the centre of the city. The trolley buses were not running the week we were there (sadly!) but the city made up for this by making the buses free to ride - and ride them we did! There is a lovely little cafe on the corner of Mason and Chestnut, and we had breakfast there 3 of the 4 mornings, which I can recommend. It's a lovely location in SF and I recommend this hotel to anyone, I really hope we can return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Furthest rooms are the quiet ones - never complain about being far from the bathrooms!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, Marketing at San Remo Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2020
We appreciate that you took the time to send your comments about your stay at the Historic San Remo Hotel, especially for mentioning our great customer service, bathroom amenities and the our central location. When you come back next time, let us know and we can store your empty luggage in our warehouse while you are a guest at our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelerz20 wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts310 contributions119 helpful votes
We loved the vintage charm, history and location of San Remo. Stayed 3 nights in January. We weren't crazy about the shared showers, toilets and sinks. The unisex toilets and showers are in separate rooms, but it was still uncomfortable brushing my teeth next to strangers. Bathrooms were super clean. The cleaning staff does a terrific job and are constantly cleaning and replenishing towels and the plentiful amenities. Our room was small with few places for clothes or basically anything. Small (maybe a double) clean bed was fairly comfortable. Quite a few stairs to carry luggage. Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, cable car, Lombard St. Would recommend but know what you are getting into first. Room was noisy since we at the intersection across from the toilets. Long walk from cruise terminal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Away from the bathrooms may be less noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Linda H wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois73 contributions88 helpful votes
Unique historic hotel with so much character! Great location, about a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Also located above a charming historic Italian restaurant and bar, Fior d'Italia. Highly recommend it for the food, friendly bar that felt like “Cheers”, and old world charm. I arrived to check into the hotel early and was told to come back in an hour as the desk clerk was just assigning rooms. I requested to be somewhat near one of the shared restrooms. When I returned in an hour the lobby was full of guests trying to check in. I had to wait quite a long time even though I had already checked in earlier and just needed to pick up a key. I was given a room that was about as far away from the restrooms as could be, even though I requested to be close. The room was a nice corner room with 3 lovely windows. I saw some of the interior rooms had no windows, so I didn’t try to change it. Turned out that the hike to the restroom was not as long as I thought. As others have mentioned, I never had to wait to use the restroom or showers and always very clean. The staff was helpful and polite, especially the young bell boy who cheerfully lugged my heavy suitcase both up and back down the stairs to get to the hotel lobby. There was complementary coffee & hot chocolate and snacks! Also the "Quiet hours" were respected by all. My room was quiet even though it was facing the street and directly above the restaurant. Overall, I have no negatives from our visit and have already told friends about it. Would absolutely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sink and a window. Some have neither. My front facing corner room had 3...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, Marketing at San Remo Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for your descriptive review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our old world charm hotel. In regards to our bathrooms, I would like to mention that our guests can use any bathroom facility in the front and back of each room and on any floor. We also encourage our guests to explore the hotel; upstairs, we have a beautiful Victorian claw foot bathtub equipped with aromatic salts. We regret, however, that we were not able to meet your room request. Sometimes other guests decide to stay longer, so we can’t move them from the quarters they are in, and it makes it challenging to provide room requests. Your compliments will be passed to our staff, and we all look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lou Z wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Where do I start? The beds were tiny, the walls are paper thin, they never told me that the showers were at the complete other end of the hallway, along with the bathroom. This place was a complete nightmare. Avoid this at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, General Manager at San Remo Hotel
Responded Mar 3, 2020
We are sorry we were not the right kind of hotel for you. We also regret that although the words -Shared Bathrooms- are in every room type, room description, room confirmation, you did not comprehend what it meant. We are a historic hotel with shared bathrooms, always have been and very likely always will be.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connector310263 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Not much to add to what you can read in the other reviews, but during our stay in the beginning of February 2020, we played a game, “What surprising little touches has San Remo provided?” Some answers: Combs, earplugs, cotton swabs, Purcell available at the common sinks. Bathrobes on request. Bath towels on warming rack outside showers, also paper bath mats. Front door key provided so you don’t need to be buzzed in. Sample menus of nearby restaurants near front desk. Rotating variety of snacks next to coffee/ice water/hot water station in “lobby”. We loved the lack of noise provided by the absence of TVs! WiFi signal strength can be iffy, but it’s strong at the bench next to the coffee. They’re seriously working to improve WiFi as evinced by a separate survey! (How was your room? How was your stay? How was the WiFi?) City maps are available, but a nice touch would be providing maps of public transportation (available free at the tourist information center at Powell St station), especially since cable car and Muni stops are nearby. We checked in with small backpacks, but I swear I could have easily done with a daypack or a large fanny pack—that’s how little one needs that the hotel does not provide. I consider the San Remo a destination, not just an inexpensive place to stay in SF, and I look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room with a sink; it’s worth the extra expense
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Citlali Chevaili, Marketing at San Remo Hotel
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Thank you for much for taking the time to write a very detailed review. We really appreciate you enumerating one by one most of the new amenities we’ve been adding over the years. Thank you for the suggestion to add the public transportation maps, we will look into it. It is with feedback from our guests that we can continue to improve our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoNorth Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Remo Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to San Remo Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Boudin at the Wharf (0.3 miles), SS. Peter and Paul Church (0.3 miles), and Madame Tussauds (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Remo Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at San Remo Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at San Remo Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Remo Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Baked Bear, Piccolo Forno, and Surisan.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Remo Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Remo Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to San Remo Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (1.7 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (3.7 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.6 miles).