We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$172
View deal
Booking.com$172
Travelocity$172
Hotels.com$172
Kimpton$172
Priceline$172
Trip.com$218
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (128)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (5)

About

#39 of 244 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
GreenLeaders Gold level
With its sleek urban lines, distinctive design and prime location in San Francisco's centrally located Japantown, it's easy to see why the Hotel Tomo has an attraction all its own. Surrounded by the shops, boutiques, restaurants and festivals of this vibrant neighborhood, our San Francisco boutique hotel also puts you minutes from other top attractions like Union Square, the foodie-fave restaurants in Lower Pacific Heights and The Fillmore's jazz clubs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
1066Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 540
  • 377
  • 104
  • 29
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
charles n wrote a review Mar 2020
Sacramento, California123 contributions119 helpful votes
best part of this hotel is location away from downtown but good enough for good restaurants . also, enjoy self parking my car instead of valet like most other sf luxury hotels. room is simple ,somewhat dated but clean. enjoyed coffee and happy hr drinks.but no keurig in room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Hi, Charles, and thanks very much for visiting us and sharing your happy review. I know that now more than ever, self-parking is a great perk, and we're happy to offer that amenity here for a good price. Please also know that Keurig machines can be delivered to rooms at any time, if you prefer in-room caffeination in the morning (versus the Philz coffee and Rishi tea display in our living room downstairs). Thanks and hope to see you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sammeline wrote a review Mar 2020
new york5 contributions12 helpful votes
Located across the street from Japan Center and the bus stop. Convenient to travel by bus. Buy the all day pass. It was nice to come back to this area after visiting the touristy spots in downtown area. Loved the morning coffee (Philz) and community environment downstairs. Wine (free) in the afternoon was also a nice touch. All the workers were very pleasant and accommodating. Room was comfy and clean. The shower water temp was HOT!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Isn't Philz coffee a great way to start the day? We are definitely hometown proud of them, and ecstatic to be their first (only?) hotel partner. Perhaps more importantly even than the morning joe fix, it's key that you find the room comfy and clean, with a hot shower to start the day of right. I've already shared your kind words about the hotel and our service with the team -- appreciate you taking the time to write!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah L wrote a review Mar 2020
Beaverton, Oregon327 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
We wanted to spend a lot of time at Japan Center but did not want to have to do a lot of driving and parking. We looked for hotels in this neighborhood and found this and several others. We decided on this one based on reviews and the fact that it was reasonably priced and stated it was real close to the Japan Center. The room is very nice and even has a window seat. It is recently remodeled and so everything is very clean and modern. In terms of the artwork for me I am more of a realist and the artwork is a mix of Modern impressionist with some realist work. I like some of the artwork in the room but don’t care for others. But regardless the fact that it is decorated and has interesting things to look at It’s still a plus.The bed is very comfortable and there are lots of pillows. We asked for a coffee pot and we’re pleasantly surprised with all the coffees creamers and such we got with it. We asked for four additional pillows and sheets and a blanket as one of us wanted to sleep on the window seat to enjoy the beautiful view at night. The whole staff has been absolutely amazing and the amenities are really good. It is super close to Japan Center really just right across the street which is ideal for us since we are traveling with somebody who is disabled and needs to be able to rest. For the same reason It would be a good choice with small children. We have been taking Uber and we can get a ride just out the front door and it is fairly close to everything in San Francisco. They have a wine hour with nice wines that are complementary and lots of cozy seating areas to sit and enjoy a cup of wine or sake if you choose. The shampoos in the bathroom are full-size and of the spa variety which is also super nice. Internet is free for IHG rewards members and it has been very reliable and stable. There is a good selection of cable channels to watch. The proximity to Japan Center really cannot be beat if you’re here to enjoy that amazing place. I don’t know why we chose to stay in less expensive hotels because once you add in parking, tolls and all the other miscellaneous expenses you encounter further out it really doesn’t pencil out. The one thing I was a little bit disappointed about was having no microwave. There is a refrigerator but it doesn’t do much good to be able to bring leftovers from the delicious restaurants in the area if you’re unable to reheat them. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Love it! What fun to read this review. Thanks very much, Leah L. And... get this: we can even deliver a microwave to your room upon request! I hope that is the cherry on top for next time ;).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ling C wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions14 helpful votes
Almost no furniture. Nothing like what you have seen in their picture. Extremely old and dirty. My room had many ants and then i discovered a big ant's hole near my bed. I killed 10 ants in 2 minutes, but there are 20 more coming along the wall. Front desk was very rude (and also incapable of dealing with multiple customers). Carpet has not been cleaned for like 100 years. I thought about taking a photo of those gross ants but i was afraid they crawl on my cell phone. They did get onto my computer. If you are a higher level manager who wants to know details, do contact me. For customers, just stay away from this location. Not sure where all these positive reviews came from. Just ridiculous to me. This hotel certainly won the worst hotel award. And also the most expensive given what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: just don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Hi, 161lingc, and YES! As the general manager, I'd love the chance to hear more about this. I trust that yours was the third-floor room we had investigated by the pest professionals, and I appreciate you giving the heads up to the front desk right away. This is such an uncommon situation in San Francisco, even in a neighborhood location. I'm sorry that it happened, but can reassure you that we did have the pros handle it swiftly. As for the rest of the experience, I should reassure you that the property was profoundly renovated and launched as the Buchanan in June of 2016. Carpet, furniture, drapery, art, TVs, tile, you name it -- all are new from that time. We do work hard to maintain everything to a good-as-new standard, but I can see your stay was amiss, and I appreciate that you're available to help me dig into the details. Please drop me a line when you have a moment, and thanks in advance for your time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaveh D wrote a review Mar 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts2 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel is very well maintained and sparkling clean. Beautiful interior design makes the look more like a home rather than a typical hotel. The location is perfect. It's quiet and calm street, yet walking distance to many nice neighborhoods (Japan town, Filmore, and much more). Our room had a bay window bench, which made a very cute relaxing spot.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
What a perfect review for us to share with the housekeeping team to thank and congratulate them for their great job making the hotel "sparkling clean" for our guests. Indeed, as a central yet totally "neighborhood" hotel, we try to provide a home-away-from-home feeling with both our design and our service. I'm so glad we hit the mark, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Thank you for this lovely 5-star review :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
932ktaylor wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This was a perfect location, and the staff was so friendly and helpful! The room was very comfortable, and I loved the outdoor patio! Strongly recommend. I stayed there for work, but I would return again for a vacation!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Thanks for the love, 932ktaylor! And the shout-out for our relaxing outdoor patio. It's a great place to enjoy the pleasant weather we've been having, along with perhaps some wine at the fire pit or game of cornhole. (Those healthier than me make it a spot for yoga or a post-work-out stretch...) So glad that your work trip was a success and you'll be back for play!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EJT1966 wrote a review Mar 2020
Secaucus, New Jersey87 contributions55 helpful votes
Nice hotel in Japan town. Hotel is modern and clean. Room was spacious and nice. Bathroom good, although not large size. Free coffee, water in the lobby. Free wifi available. Excellent for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Thanks, EJT1966! Glad you had such a lovely short stay with us. If you're ever back in our neck of the woods for a long visit, you might enjoy a balcony room, or a spa king category room with oversized bathroom and soaking tub... definitely a fun way to unwind after exploring one of the fun walking routes around our area... hope to see you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing, amazing, amazing! Booked a room to stay for a period during auditions, and I’m so happy with the customer service, facilities (food, treadmills, coffee) and the quality of the rooms. Huge comfortable bed and clean toilet/towels/wardrobe. All of these things made my stay here really calming and assuring, things that went a Long way to an audition that went spectacularly well! Thank you Kimpton Buchanan, I highly recommend this place to anybody needing a place to stay whilst visiting in this area of San Francisco!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Enso Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Aww, thanks for this emphatic and heartwarming review, Samuel! I'm so delighted to hear that your audition went well, and that we were a part of your success :). We appreciate you spreading the word about the Buchanan!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EfG99 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia90 contributions68 helpful votes
Super comfy bed and fabulous decor. Loved the wine hour; great for mingling. Minor disappointment (perhaps cultural) is a lack of tea making facilities in the room and nowhere to unpack clothing other than a hanger. Great vibe all up.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MSC wrote a review Feb 2020
Fresno, California1 contribution3 helpful votes
Hotel was very clean and it is located in the heart of Japan Town with lots of fun places to visit! The Japan town mall is right across the street with great shops and restaurants! Close to everthing, park your car and leave it, take Lyft anywhere you wish to go!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Widow rooms are nice!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western tomo, best western san francisco, san francisco best western, best western hotel tomo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Buchanan
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoJapantown / Lower Pacific Heights
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KIMPTON ENSO HOTEL $172 ($̶2̶6̶1̶) - Prices & Reviews - San Francisco, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Enso Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pacific Heights (0.3 miles), Japan Center (0.2 miles), and Fillmore Street (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Maple, State Bird Provisions, and Roam Artisan Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Kimpton Enso Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kimpton Enso Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.