We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kimpton Buchanan

Save
Share
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-3220
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Snaptravel
Priceline
$284
$266
View Deal
SAVE $18
Free cancellation until 01/20/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Trip.com$284
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (128)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kimpton Buchanan
Updated 07/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 246 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
San Francisco is known for its style and sophistication. So it takes an exceptional hotel to stand out. With its sleek urban lines, distinctive design and prime location at the intersection of three of San Francisco's best neighborhoods, it's easy to see why Kimpton Buchanan has an attraction all its own. Surrounded by the designer shops, local boutiques, foodie-fave restaurants and live music venues, Kimpton Buchanan also puts you minutes from other top attractions like Union Square and Golden Gate Park. Pair it all with our spacious, artfully imagined accommodations and yes-we-can staff, and you have the makings of the ultimate San Francisco stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
1,069Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 542
  • 377
  • 104
  • 30
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
charles n wrote a review Mar 2020
Sacramento, California92 contributions27 helpful votes
best part of this hotel is location away from downtown but good enough for good restaurants . also, enjoy self parking my car instead of valet like most other sf luxury hotels. room is simple ,somewhat dated but clean. enjoyed coffee and happy hr drinks.but no keurig in room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Hi, Charles, and thanks very much for visiting us and sharing your happy review. I know that now more than ever, self-parking is a great perk, and we're happy to offer that amenity here for a good price. Please also know that Keurig machines can be delivered to rooms at any time, if you prefer in-room caffeination in the morning (versus the Philz coffee and Rishi tea display in our living room downstairs). Thanks and hope to see you next time!
Read more
sammeline wrote a review Mar 2020
new york5 contributions
Located across the street from Japan Center and the bus stop. Convenient to travel by bus. Buy the all day pass. It was nice to come back to this area after visiting the touristy spots in downtown area. Loved the morning coffee (Philz) and community environment downstairs. Wine (free) in the afternoon was also a nice touch. All the workers were very pleasant and accommodating. Room was comfy and clean. The shower water temp was HOT!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Isn't Philz coffee a great way to start the day? We are definitely hometown proud of them, and ecstatic to be their first (only?) hotel partner. Perhaps more importantly even than the morning joe fix, it's key that you find the room comfy and clean, with a hot shower to start the day of right. I've already shared your kind words about the hotel and our service with the team -- appreciate you taking the time to write!
Read more
Leah L wrote a review Mar 2020
Beaverton, Oregon186 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We wanted to spend a lot of time at Japan Center but did not want to have to do a lot of driving and parking. We looked for hotels in this neighborhood and found this and several others. We decided on this one based on reviews and the fact that it was reasonably priced and stated it was real close to the Japan Center. The room is very nice and even has a window seat. It is recently remodeled and so everything is very clean and modern. In terms of the artwork for me I am more of a realist and the artwork is a mix of Modern impressionist with some realist work. I like some of the artwork in the room but don’t care for others. But regardless the fact that it is decorated and has interesting things to look at It’s still a plus.The bed is very comfortable and there are lots of pillows. We asked for a coffee pot and we’re pleasantly surprised with all the coffees creamers and such we got with it. We asked for four additional pillows and sheets and a blanket as one of us wanted to sleep on the window seat to enjoy the beautiful view at night. The whole staff has been absolutely amazing and the amenities are really good. It is super close to Japan Center really just right across the street which is ideal for us since we are traveling with somebody who is disabled and needs to be able to rest. For the same reason It would be a good choice with small children. We have been taking Uber and we can get a ride just out the front door and it is fairly close to everything in San Francisco. They have a wine hour with nice wines that are complementary and lots of cozy seating areas to sit and enjoy a cup of wine or sake if you choose. The shampoos in the bathroom are full-size and of the spa variety which is also super nice. Internet is free for IHG rewards members and it has been very reliable and stable. There is a good selection of cable channels to watch. The proximity to Japan Center really cannot be beat if you’re here to enjoy that amazing place. I don’t know why we chose to stay in less expensive hotels because once you add in parking, tolls and all the other miscellaneous expenses you encounter further out it really doesn’t pencil out. The one thing I was a little bit disappointed about was having no microwave. There is a refrigerator but it doesn’t do much good to be able to bring leftovers from the delicious restaurants in the area if you’re unable to reheat them. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Love it! What fun to read this review. Thanks very much, Leah L. And... get this: we can even deliver a microwave to your room upon request! I hope that is the cherry on top for next time ;).
Read more
Ling C wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Almost no furniture. Nothing like what you have seen in their picture. Extremely old and dirty. My room had many ants and then i discovered a big ant's hole near my bed. I killed 10 ants in 2 minutes, but there are 20 more coming along the wall. Front desk was very rude (and also incapable of dealing with multiple customers). Carpet has not been cleaned for like 100 years. I thought about taking a photo of those gross ants but i was afraid they crawl on my cell phone. They did get onto my computer. If you are a higher level manager who wants to know details, do contact me. For customers, just stay away from this location. Not sure where all these positive reviews came from. Just ridiculous to me. This hotel certainly won the worst hotel award. And also the most expensive given what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: just don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Hi, 161lingc, and YES! As the general manager, I'd love the chance to hear more about this. I trust that yours was the third-floor room we had investigated by the pest professionals, and I appreciate you giving the heads up to the front desk right away. This is such an uncommon situation in San Francisco, even in a neighborhood location. I'm sorry that it happened, but can reassure you that we did have the pros handle it swiftly. As for the rest of the experience, I should reassure you that the property was profoundly renovated and launched as the Buchanan in June of 2016. Carpet, furniture, drapery, art, TVs, tile, you name it -- all are new from that time. We do work hard to maintain everything to a good-as-new standard, but I can see your stay was amiss, and I appreciate that you're available to help me dig into the details. Please drop me a line when you have a moment, and thanks in advance for your time!
Read more
Kaveh D wrote a review Mar 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts2 contributions
This hotel is very well maintained and sparkling clean. Beautiful interior design makes the look more like a home rather than a typical hotel. The location is perfect. It's quiet and calm street, yet walking distance to many nice neighborhoods (Japan town, Filmore, and much more). Our room had a bay window bench, which made a very cute relaxing spot.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from EmilyG3187, General Manager at Kimpton Buchanan
Responded Mar 7, 2020
What a perfect review for us to share with the housekeeping team to thank and congratulate them for their great job making the hotel "sparkling clean" for our guests. Indeed, as a central yet totally "neighborhood" hotel, we try to provide a home-away-from-home feeling with both our design and our service. I'm so glad we hit the mark, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Thank you for this lovely 5-star review :)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western tomo, best western san francisco, san francisco best western, best western hotel tomo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Buchanan
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoJapantown / Lower Pacific Heights
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Buchanan
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Buchanan?
Nearby attractions include Pacific Heights (0.3 miles), Japan Center (0.2 miles), and Fillmore Street (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Buchanan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Buchanan?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Buchanan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Buchanan?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Buchanan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Maple, State Bird Provisions, and Roam Artisan Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Buchanan?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Kimpton Buchanan located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Buchanan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton Buchanan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kimpton Buchanan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.