We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Union Square Plaza Hotel

Save
Share
432 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
$82
$77
View Deal
SAVE $5
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$82
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (166)
Room & Suite (122)
View from Room (12)

About

#199 of 246 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Union Square Plaza Hotel, your San Francisco “home away from home.” Union Square Plaza Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Close to some of San Francisco's most popular landmarks, such as Ghirardelli Square (1.5 mi) and Pier 39 (1.5 mi), Union Square Plaza Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Union Square Plaza Hotel features a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Union Square Plaza Hotel, parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the barbeque restaurants, including Espetus Churrascaria, 4505 Burgers & BBQ, and CatHead's BBQ, all of which are a short distance from Union Square Plaza Hotel.

Should time allow, Lombard Street, Chinatown, and Exploratorium are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Union Square Plaza Hotel puts the best of San Francisco at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Nepali
601Reviews11Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 148
  • 202
  • 115
  • 99
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clara C wrote a review Dec 2019
Pasadena, California15 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed here during a conference where the price was raised to $240/night. If the price had been quite a bit lower as it might normally be, I probably wouldn't complain much. The location is hard to beat in terms of proximity to Union Square and the Moscone Center, and the front desk staff was friendly. Other reviews have noted that the rooms are dated--and I found that to be true as well. But, my room was clean. The wifi worked, and the rooms were insulated from noise from adjoining rooms. However, there was hardly any noise isolation from the outside. I was on the 6th floor facing Geary Street, and I could hear just about everything going on well into the evening. The heat in my room was also not working until my last night there--and that combined with very thin covers left me pretty cold (though the bed itself was comfortable). When the heat did work, it made a strange noise reminiscent of a dying cat, so I ended up turning it off anyway. One tip for taller or larger travelers: I am 5' 2'', and the shower head was only 2 inches above my head. So if you're much taller than me, you'll be bending down to rinse your hair. You'll also find the bathroom overall to be quite small.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face Geary Street
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2019
Dear Clara, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Firstly, we are sorry that you found the value on the higher side. Generally, we are considered as one of the most reasonably priced accommodations in the area. Still, for the best deals and discounted offers, you can always stay updated with our email. We are glad to hear that you liked the location and front desk service. We are definitely considering to update the property so as to provide our guests with an enhanced experience. We are happy that you found the room immaculate and liked the amenities offered. Again, we are sorry for the external noise that bothered you. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled our staff to shift you to a more peaceful room. Also, we will look into the issue with the heater and fix it. Again, we have noted your suggestion regarding the shower height and bathroom size and will definitely pass it to the management. We hope that you will give us another chance to host you better! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
RaquelSanJose wrote a review Dec 2019
San Jose, CA53 contributions28 helpful votes
I was so excited to find this hotel. It was reasonably priced and perfectly located right next to Macys and across from the theatres. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. It's old but that just adds character.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Hi Raquel, Thank you for your stellar rating and response. We are glad that you chose us and found good value for money. Again, we appreciate your positive comments regarding the location and immaculate room. We have still retained the old aspect. However, the plan is to do better. We are definitely considering the option to undergo renovations or overhaul of certain parts. We hope that you will continue to visit and support us! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Javierchik08 wrote a review Nov 2019
Miami, Florida249 contributions75 helpful votes
I couldn't even stay one night because of the unpleasant smell of the room, the bed was poorly made when I arrived and in general the hotel is a very ugly place. my mistake because I thought it would be better but there was no way to stay there. I moved to a nearby hotel and my trip to SF was wonderful. Hope they can do something with the smell (6th floor)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Hi Javierchik08, Thank you for voicing your concern to us. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear that you left without a first-rate experience. We will definitely do something about the unpleasant smell. We aim to provide our guests with the best and surely this is not the standard of service that we aim to give out. We are sorry for letting you down. But we request you not to evaluate us solely on the basis of this unfortunate incident and give us another chance to serve you better in the future! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Elisablowt wrote a review Oct 2019
United States24 contributions13 helpful votes
I intended to stay at this hotel 2 nights. The hotel is a budget hotel but I found it clean and the bed was fine. The staff at check-in was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the street was torn up during the night until after 11 pm. At about 2:30 am the city started power washing the alley right below the rooms. I did not get any sleep that night. I asked the front desk about the issues but there is nothing they can do since it is outside of their control. I am not sure how much of this goes on on a regular basis. The location is fairly noisy in general. But if you can deal with noise and are on a tight budget the hotel is fine to stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a good location in terms of noise.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Nov 23, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay at our hotel. While it is good to hear that you had a reasonable stay, we are sorry for the issues that you encountered that marred your time with us. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in this area, and to give you a better stay on a future visit. Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Karla R wrote a review Sep 2019
Norwalk, California8 contributions1 helpful vote
This was the most affordable hotel in the Union square area - rooms are outdated and beds are uncomfortable (doesn't matter much since your out and about most of the day) - hotel looks old but i guess its worth what you pay - Bad thing about it is that the housekeeping personal are not to be trusted - they went in and made 1 bed and vacuumed the floor and while they were at it they took some change we had on top of a nightstand (even though we put out the DO NOT DISTURB sign out)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2019
Dear Karla R, Thank you for posting your review! We are glad that you liked the value offered and enjoyed your stay. However, we are astonished to hear about the issue you have mentioned with the housekeeping. If that's the case (which we hope it isn't), it needs to be addressed in a serious manner. We will investigate the matter further and ensure that this does not repeat. Also, we will instruct the staff further on how to respect the DO NOT DISTURB sign. We hope to serve you more successfully in the future! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel union square plaza, union square plaza san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / Theater District / Union Square / Lower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Union Square Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Magic Theater (0.1 miles), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), and San Francisco Playhouse (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tacorea, Lapisara Eatery, and Jeanne D'Arc Restaurant.
Is Union Square Plaza Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.8 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.4 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.7 miles).