We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
432 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$115
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$101
View deal
FindHotel
$84
View deal
Travelocity$101
Hotels.com$101
Hurb$143
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (175)
Room & Suite (128)
View from Room (14)

About

#197 of 245 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
3.1
Value
3.3

Welcome to Union Square Plaza Hotel, your San Francisco “home away from home.” Union Square Plaza Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Close to some of San Francisco's most popular landmarks, such as Ghirardelli Square (1.5 mi) and Pier 39 (1.5 mi), Union Square Plaza Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Union Square Plaza Hotel features a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Union Square Plaza Hotel, parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the barbeque restaurants, including Espetus Churrascaria, 4505 Burgers & BBQ, and CatHead's BBQ, all of which are a short distance from Union Square Plaza Hotel.

Should time allow, Lombard Street, Chinatown, and Exploratorium are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Union Square Plaza Hotel puts the best of San Francisco at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Nepali

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
317Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
119Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
607Reviews12Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 148
  • 203
  • 118
  • 101
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Barbora H wrote a review Aug 2022
Ostrava, Czech Republic1 contribution
Well I didn't expect much. However, the only important thing to me is cleanliness. The room is very old furnished, which is ok with me. But it smells soooo bad. There is no AC and it's impossible to sleep by the open window because it's too noisy outside. But the worst thing is that the bedding was not clean at all there were stains all over. Then i found used towels in the closet. There was no toilet paper. And the neighbourhood is terrible. It's really close to the center but in the night it's not safe at all. There were plenty of homeless and addicts in front of the hotel the whole night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Hi Barbara, We take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional, and seamless experience. I am disappointed to hear that this was not 100% the case. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room cleanliness issue. A Housekeeping Manager will be following up accordingly as this is not what our property is known for. This is certainly not typical of our property and I feel it’s a one-off scenario. We hope you give us another opportunity to host you as we feel like you did not receive a true experience. We are always interested in how we can improve our guests’ experience, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan N wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Walking into the room, you'll immediately hear all the street noise even on the 7th floor. The single pane glass windows don't do anything for the continuous noise until midnight and then starts at 5am again. The continuous police sirens day and night drives you nuts. The rooms also don't have any air conditioning. I felt lucky having a stand alone room fan that helped a little. It was about 80 degrees outside but the room was about 85. I can't imagine hothot the room is in the summer when it's really hot. The bed is lumpy and wasn't level so I slept at an angle. I definitely won't be staying at this place ever again. The coat should be $50 for how crappy it is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for pointing out the various issues that you encountered during your recent stay. This is not the kind of experience we want to provide and your feedback has been well-noted to ensure that we start working on these areas soon enough for a seamless guest experience. We do have the stand-alone fan facilities in the room as is rightly acknowledged by you in your honest review and whole most of the guests prefer that, we do understand the need for air conditioning units in the summers. We will surely pass this on to the management! We will also work on improving the soundproofing quality of the windows to ensure that our guests have the most peaceful stay. We hope that you will give us another chance to appease you with our true hospitality and services! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter S wrote a review May 2022
Konstanz, Germany172 contributions56 helpful votes
Although the location is very good, very close to union square and nice diner across the street, the sheets were initially dirty with holes. Despite my asking, no change. There was dirty carpet and blankets, hairs in sink and bathtub, dusty and warm room on the 7th floor, no AC. Luckily windows could be opened and a fan brought some fresh air from outside. Will not ho here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only go here if you only sleep and are on a small budget
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded May 30, 2022
Dear Guest, We take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional, and seamless experience. I am disappointed to hear that this was not 100% the case. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room cleanliness issue. A Housekeeping Manager will be following up accordingly as this is not what our property is known for. This is certainly not typical of our property and I feel it’s a one-off scenario. We hope you give us another opportunity to host you as we feel like you did not receive a true Union Square Plaza experience. We are always interested in how we can improve our guests’ experience, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ilona415 wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This place is nasty unsafe and disgusting. The tub was filthy and kept filling up on its own. Could have overfilled our room and the security was sleeping on the job in the most dangerous area of town. Offered no new room or refund after reporting to booking.com
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Skullboy666 wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very noisy room. Furniture has glass tops with sharp corners and edges. Handy location to Fremont Street. Great food. Reservation had a strict no refund rule. Rooms are Spartan bare bones without even wall decorations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded May 9, 2021
Hi skullboy667, Thank you so much for taking the time and posting your review of the recent stay with us. On a positive note, we take our shortfalls seriously if any, and strive hard to make sure that we do not repeat these mistakes in the future. We assure you that corrective action would be taken in all these cases to ensure that we are not compromising on the quality of stay that we're known for. We are sorry once again and we request you to give us another chance to change your perspective! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clara C wrote a review Dec 2019
Pasadena, California16 contributions31 helpful votes
I stayed here during a conference where the price was raised to $240/night. If the price had been quite a bit lower as it might normally be, I probably wouldn't complain much. The location is hard to beat in terms of proximity to Union Square and the Moscone Center, and the front desk staff was friendly. Other reviews have noted that the rooms are dated--and I found that to be true as well. But, my room was clean. The wifi worked, and the rooms were insulated from noise from adjoining rooms. However, there was hardly any noise isolation from the outside. I was on the 6th floor facing Geary Street, and I could hear just about everything going on well into the evening. The heat in my room was also not working until my last night there--and that combined with very thin covers left me pretty cold (though the bed itself was comfortable). When the heat did work, it made a strange noise reminiscent of a dying cat, so I ended up turning it off anyway. One tip for taller or larger travelers: I am 5' 2'', and the shower head was only 2 inches above my head. So if you're much taller than me, you'll be bending down to rinse your hair. You'll also find the bathroom overall to be quite small.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face Geary Street
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Dec 17, 2019
Dear Clara, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Firstly, we are sorry that you found the value on the higher side. Generally, we are considered as one of the most reasonably priced accommodations in the area. Still, for the best deals and discounted offers, you can always stay updated with our email. We are glad to hear that you liked the location and front desk service. We are definitely considering to update the property so as to provide our guests with an enhanced experience. We are happy that you found the room immaculate and liked the amenities offered. Again, we are sorry for the external noise that bothered you. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled our staff to shift you to a more peaceful room. Also, we will look into the issue with the heater and fix it. Again, we have noted your suggestion regarding the shower height and bathroom size and will definitely pass it to the management. We hope that you will give us another chance to host you better! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RaquelSanJose wrote a review Dec 2019
San Jose, CA53 contributions69 helpful votes
I was so excited to find this hotel. It was reasonably priced and perfectly located right next to Macys and across from the theatres. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. It's old but that just adds character.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Hi Raquel, Thank you for your stellar rating and response. We are glad that you chose us and found good value for money. Again, we appreciate your positive comments regarding the location and immaculate room. We have still retained the old aspect. However, the plan is to do better. We are definitely considering the option to undergo renovations or overhaul of certain parts. We hope that you will continue to visit and support us! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Javierchik08 wrote a review Nov 2019
Miami, Florida259 contributions126 helpful votes
I couldn't even stay one night because of the unpleasant smell of the room, the bed was poorly made when I arrived and in general the hotel is a very ugly place. my mistake because I thought it would be better but there was no way to stay there. I moved to a nearby hotel and my trip to SF was wonderful. Hope they can do something with the smell (6th floor)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2019
Hi Javierchik08, Thank you for voicing your concern to us. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear that you left without a first-rate experience. We will definitely do something about the unpleasant smell. We aim to provide our guests with the best and surely this is not the standard of service that we aim to give out. We are sorry for letting you down. But we request you not to evaluate us solely on the basis of this unfortunate incident and give us another chance to serve you better in the future! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisablowt wrote a review Oct 2019
United States24 contributions54 helpful votes
I intended to stay at this hotel 2 nights. The hotel is a budget hotel but I found it clean and the bed was fine. The staff at check-in was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the street was torn up during the night until after 11 pm. At about 2:30 am the city started power washing the alley right below the rooms. I did not get any sleep that night. I asked the front desk about the issues but there is nothing they can do since it is outside of their control. I am not sure how much of this goes on on a regular basis. The location is fairly noisy in general. But if you can deal with noise and are on a tight budget the hotel is fine to stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I am not sure if there is a good location in terms of noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Nov 23, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay at our hotel. While it is good to hear that you had a reasonable stay, we are sorry for the issues that you encountered that marred your time with us. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in this area, and to give you a better stay on a future visit. Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karla R wrote a review Sep 2019
Norwalk, California8 contributions16 helpful votes
This was the most affordable hotel in the Union square area - rooms are outdated and beds are uncomfortable (doesn't matter much since your out and about most of the day) - hotel looks old but i guess its worth what you pay - Bad thing about it is that the housekeeping personal are not to be trusted - they went in and made 1 bed and vacuumed the floor and while they were at it they took some change we had on top of a nightstand (even though we put out the DO NOT DISTURB sign out)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Union Square Plaza Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2019
Dear Karla R, Thank you for posting your review! We are glad that you liked the value offered and enjoyed your stay. However, we are astonished to hear about the issue you have mentioned with the housekeeping. If that's the case (which we hope it isn't), it needs to be addressed in a serious manner. We will investigate the matter further and ensure that this does not repeat. Also, we will instruct the staff further on how to respect the DO NOT DISTURB sign. We hope to serve you more successfully in the future! Best Regards, Union Square Plaza Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel union square plaza, union square plaza san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / Theater District / Union Square / Lower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Union Square Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Magic Theater (0.1 miles), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), and San Francisco Playhouse (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and a 24 hour front desk.
Is parking available at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapisara Eatery, Liholiho Yacht Club, and Tacorea.
Is Union Square Plaza Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Union Square Plaza Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Union Square Plaza Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (4.4 miles), Alcatraz Island (2.8 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.7 miles).