We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Francisco Proper

1100 Market Street Hotel Entrance is at 45 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-3813
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (389)
Room & Suite (202)
Dining (114)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#56 of 234 hotels in San Francisco
Location
3.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Our flagship property is housed in a landmarked flatiron-style building in San Francisco's vibrant Mid-Market district, featuring captivating interiors by Kelly Wearstler, three inspired settings for meals or a cocktail, incredible rooftop views and impeccable service and amenities. For San Francisco's newest destination hotel to open in over a decade, anything less just wouldn't be Proper.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more

Location

1100 Market Street Hotel Entrance is at 45 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-3813
San Francisco Proper
806Reviews2Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 536
  • 115
  • 57
  • 38
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
eveh335 wrote a review Mar 2024
Arlington, Virginia30 contributions5 helpful votes
Great hotel, great food, great service. I was here for business and the hotel was convenient to my meetings. I really enjoyed everything about my stay here. The hotel is very cool. The staff were super helpful. And the roof deck restaurant was gorgeous with terrific small bites.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Eveh, Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience! We're thrilled that our location, ambiance, and service perfectly complemented your business trip. It's also great to know you enjoyed the atmosphere of our hotel and found our team accommodating. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco Proper Hotel for another great stay, whether for business or pleasure! Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Merlin C wrote a review Dec 2022
Los Angeles, California125 contributions81 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
San Fran is puzzle, a maze of emotions, and a land of many uses. A playground for billionaires. Vast swaths of urban decay. Stunning natural beauty alongside piles of trash. It is truly the best and worst of America. And frankly, it's a lot to handle at times. Having a homebase as charming and relaxing as the San Francisco Proper hotel is what made our trip. The structure itself is beautifully renovated and designed and the restaurants and bars make it easy to spend as much time there escaping the city as you'd like. We went to the rooftop lounge and later when it rained we ate at the Villon restaurant in the lobby. Both were delightful. But it's the staff who elevate this hotel from a lovely boutique to an oasis in the urban jungle. The team at the Proper was the best part of our stay. From Mr. Tran the bellhop, who always greeted us with a warm smile and helping hand, to the front desk team, to the servers and hosts at the restaurants, literally everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were having a great time. A sincere thank you to them and we extend our deepest recommendation to anyone considering staying here! San Fran will delight you -- and also challenge you -- do yourself a favor and get a proper hotel in this city!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Like much of downtown SF, the neighborhood can be a little sketchy and parking isn't easy. So...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Henrike Wagner, Other at San Francisco Proper
Responded Feb 14, 2023
Dear Merlin C, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the San Francisco Proper Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to receive such fantastic feedback, especially about our wonderful staff. Please be assured that we have shared your comments with the entire team, they are thrilled! When your next travels bring you back to San Francisco, please reach out to me directly so I may personally oversee the details of your reservation and ensure that you experience the Proper hospitality again. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melody Firing wrote a review Mar 2024
Aptos, California1 contribution
The Proper is a true gem! A beautiful building with tasteful furnishings Aesop bathroom amenities and a wonderful team that made our stay something truly memorable. We mentioned when checking in that it was my partner's birthday, and when we returned from dinner there was a bottle of prosecco and a lovely note! I was in town for GDC and stayed at the Taj for the first half of the week. It is lovely in its own right, but next year I hope to book the full week at San Francisco Proper. Shoutout to Warren who greeted us and was just so helpful and friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Melody, We’re so delighted that you chose to celebrate your partner's birthday with us! It was an honor to have been a part of their special day, and we are thrilled our hospitable team and thoughtful amenities helped make it one for the books. We'll be sure to share your compliments with Warren and the rest of them! Thank you for your glowing review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alicia P wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
I've been staying at the San Francisco Proper years before the pandemic. In fact, I think my first stay was in November 2018 and all I can remember was how much I loved it. I never forgot this little gem of a boutique nestled in a historic flatiron building at 7th and Market in Mid-Market. So when the occasion rose to revisit during GDC, I was non too hesitant to book. As soon as you walk in you feel the eclectic art deco and furnishings with a beautiful lobby marble which I hear is the original flooring at over 80 years old. The room has a vibrant juxtaposition of colors, textures and even wallpaper that made me not want to leave for the day. It's a beautiful property. They have Aesop bathroom amenities, Nordic Vifa speakers and non-bulky lightweight black-and-white cotton you tie like a kimono. They have changed a lot on the food menu in the restaurant but the food and wine is still quite good - try the Colar Domino red wine, yum! Another great part of the stay was Ato, the maintenance guy. He came to the room to fix a slow draining sink and ended up checking and fixing everything else in the bathroom that wasn't up to his standard. What a lovely and competent man he was. He's really the reason I even stopped my busy day to write the review. Good help is hard to find but he exceeded my expectations. Thanks Ato and Proper, still my favorite hotel in the Bay area!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Alicia, It was a delight to have you stay with us again at San Francisco Proper Hotel. We love that you appreciate our elegant, historic property and have described it well for fellow travelers. To hear that Ato went above and beyond for you warms our hearts and he will be ecstatic to hear that you mentioned him by name. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your five-star review. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another five-star visit. Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christopher F wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is one of the worst experiences I have ever had dealing with a hotel. I tried for 3 days to reach someone who could shorten my stay by 1 day and got the runaround. I was told a manager would reach out to me, but they never did. When I arrived they asked me to pay DOUBLE the rate I booked. I canceled the entire stay because of how rude everyone was and they charged me $900 for a cancelation. Hotel is in a bad area and rooms are very small. I would avoid. There are much better options in San Francisco in this price range.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Christopher, We take all guest concerns seriously and apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I did take care of your concerns to resolution via email on Tuesday afternoon. Regarding the discrepancy in rates, I want to assure you that we take pricing transparency very seriously. However, it seems there was a misunderstanding with your rate plus an incidental hold, and I apologize for any confusion it may have caused. As for your cancellation fee, our policies are designed to maintain fairness for both guests and the hotel. In the spirit of guest service, we did let you out of the entirety of your stay and any fees associated. Regarding your comment about our location and room size, we understand that preferences vary from person to person. However, we believe that our hotel offers a unique experience in San Francisco, and many of our guests appreciate the charm and character of our establishment. Should you wish to discuss this matter further or provide additional feedback, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Cody Felice General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kyle F wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
This place is a diamond among the rough. Warren did an excellent job of welcoming us as valet, and the rest of the staff were impeccable. The array of experiences within the hotel hardly required us to leave, ranging from a variety of dining locations within the establishment to a well-built fitness center. Thank you all at Proper!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Check out Charmaine, the rooftop lounge.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded Mar 16, 2024
Dear Kyle, We're truly touched by your kind words! It's guests like you who make our job a joy. Warren and the rest of our team strive to provide exceptional service, and we're thrilled to hear that they made your stay memorable. We're delighted that you enjoyed the variety of experiences our hotel has to offer, from our dining options to our fitness center. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we're grateful for the opportunity to host you. Thank you for choosing San Francisco Proper Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back for another fantastic stay soon! Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
log24 wrote a review Mar 2024
San Diego, California115 contributions129 helpful votes
Booked the Proper since it had a reasonable rate. The property is delighted to not honor any Marriott elite benefits so consider yourself warned. I thought I could at least receive a late checkout by requesting at checkin but noooo. Had to call in the morning and be placed on hold to receive a measly extra hour. Housekeeping was still banging on the door at 12:30. The destination fee is a total joke. They should at least include a food and beverage credit. But they don’t. Otherwise the rooms are compact and stylish. Connecting rooms are the usual nuisance with noise. I couldn’t care less about the environment outside the hotel, but could see Karens pulling their hair out and requesting the Proper’s gas guzzling courtesy car to move even 50 feet beyond the entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If you couldn’t care less about Bonvoy benefits by all means stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded Mar 11, 2024
Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest recently, and we appreciate your kind words about our tasteful accommodations. However, we regret that you were not fully satisfied with your experience. Please know that our hotel is part of Bonvoy but not part of Marriott, though we understand your disappointment. Our Guest Amenity Fee includes a welcome glass of bubbles upon arrival, premium WiFi throughout the property, proper sustainable bottled water that is replenished daily, morning coffee service in the lobby, priority access to Charmaine’s rooftop bar lounge deck with the $65 min. spend waived, garment steamer upon request, hotel car service within a 3-mile radius of the hotel upon availability, and 24-hour gym access with Peloton and Tonal access. That said, your feedback will be shared internally for further consideration, as we are always seeking new ways to improve. Based on your rating, it seems you enjoyed your overall experience otherwise, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for a seamless stay worthy of five stars. Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kzogger wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago, Illinois612 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
Very cute, artsy hotel. Lots of paintings in the lobby/area just outside of the restaurant. Cute rooms with interesting wallpaper. Pretty quiet (on the 6th floor at least). Very nice concierge, hotel car that took us to the pier to go to Alcatraz so that we didn't have to get an Uber/cab. All staff = fabulous. Very fun rooftop bar with great views. At night, lots of drugs being taken on street corners opposite the hotel. Felt completely safe, just sad to see so many people in such a sad state (very high on drugs).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded Mar 9, 2024
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at San Francisco Proper Hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with lovely accommodations and friendly service, so we're thrilled that was the case for you. It's also great to read you were able to take advantage of our convenient amenities and beautiful views. The pleasure was all ours, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Luis C wrote a review Feb 2024
San Jose, Costa Rica5 contributions
Our experience was excellent. The hotel is very nice, and the staff and service is even better. Everyone is extremely helpful and very kind. A special shout out to Warren, that greeted us and guided us during our whole stay. He was so friendly, helpful and courteous. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded Feb 22, 2024
We're thrilled to hear your stay at San Francisco Proper Hotel was excellent and that Warren's hospitality significantly contributed to your experience. His friendliness and helpful guidance are precisely what we strive to provide for all our guests. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge his efforts and the quality service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit. Warm Regards, Lindsay Arnold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GeorgeD wrote a review Feb 2024
Las Vegas, Nevada4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My husband and I tour the world performing with great symphony orchestras in major cities across the globe, and we spend at least half of any given year in high-end hotels. The San Francisco Proper was one of the greatest hotels we have ever stayed in, in many, many years. We loved this exceptional hotel, and its equally exceptional staff. We really did not want to leave. And every single aspect of our stay at The Proper was "Properly Perfect!" Starting out with the arrival: First there is the building itself, a striking Gilded Age throwback, a smaller version of NYC's iconic Flatiron Building, built around the same era in San Francisco. The valets outside the hotel were very friendly, helpful, and extremely welcoming, especially Connor, who was great throughout our entire stay. Inside at the reception desk, Katrina and Archie welcomed us with a glass of cold bubbly, and our two Golden Retrievers received an equally-warm welcome (although no champagne for them!) -- in fact, over the ensuing few days, Charley and Buddy became the unofficial "lobby dogs" at The Proper, saying hello to so many other guests. The wonderful Katrina made check-in effortless, and before we knew it we were in our gorgeous suite. Our one-bedroom suite's design was unique, retro chic, stylish, filled with color and patterns, accessories, and amenities reflecting the hotel's era but with a contemporary edge. (See photos.) The William Morris-inspired Gilded Age/Victorian wallpaper (but with a modern twist) was fabulous -- and truly, how often does one even see wallpaper these days!!! In the living room, A clever and well-stocked butler's pantry and fridge had everything one could possibly want when the hunger pangs hit late at night, and was ingeniously designed. A perfect (but perhaps accidental) touch was the red neon "P" from the hotel's exterior sign, warmly illuminating through the window, like a fragment from an Elmore Leonard novel. It added to the literary ambience -- reportedly Ernest Hemingway had once stayed in this hotel many decades earlier, early in its life and a previous evocation. (And if one wanted it dark in the suite when the sun came up, that was easily accomplished with stylish blackout blinds.) Our suite was 511. The "11" block of suites (311, 411, 511, etc.) are in the "tip" of the "flatiron," and wonderfully interesting in layout, with a straight-on view right down Market Street. In the bedroom, the king bed was one of the most comfy, luxe, and cushy I have encountered in a long, long time, the sheets and linens sublimely smooth, ironed, crisp, and enveloping. That bed was heaven, after a 10-hour trip to get to San Francisco, Both living room and bedroom had large TV monitors (the large living room TV on an artist's easel which added to the Bohemian vibe.) The bathroom, with its authentic black and white "subway tile," was equally stylish, the shower was strong with lots of hot water, bath amenities were lovely. Towels were large, fluffy, and abundant. Because of the design of the historic building, the bathroom wasn't huge, but through smart design, did not feel the least bit cramped. Since we arrived somewhat late in the evening, the signature restaurant Villon was already closed (we would experience it later in the stay) so we went up to the stunning rooftop bar Charmaine's, which has a spectacular view of The City, and a nice menu of elevated bar food, burgers, and other delectables. Each of the outside tables had it's own firepit, so despite a chilly SF night, we were toasty warm. (And if not, the serving staff offered fantastically soft and lush cashmere blankets which did the trick!) Our server Diana was wonderful, and both food and drinks were top of the line. (One of the best burgers ever!!) The inside tables, near a roaring fireplace, are equally appealing and comfortable, and the crowd, even on a Tuesday night, was friendly and engaging. On the weekends, when Charmaine's can get crowded, hotel guests are given priority, and getting to the roof in the private Charmaine's elevator is quick, effortless, and easy -- and when you arrive at the top, you are greeted by name by the host who is awaiting you, having been signed in before you got in the elevator. Even though Charmaine's is trendy and very popular with non-hotel guests, when you ARE a hotel guest the staff makes you feel extra-valued and welcomed, which is lovely. (Everybody likes to feel like an "insider!") We went back to Charmaine's several times, and it always provided a perfect end to a perfect day. Over our stay we ate several times at Villon, the hotel's signature restaurant, and it was excellent, with fantastically-curated and perfectly-prepared menu items, a wonderful bar and wine list, and once again, an amazing staff. David and Theresa were especially welcoming and friendly, always remembered our names, and provided superlative service. Outside Villon is a lovely, comfortable. and stylish lobby lounge. It can handle overflow from Villon during busy times, and a really gorgeous afternoon high tea is served there on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, complete with all the traditional pastries and delicate tea sandwiches, prepared delectably. The public spaces are beautifully appointed and wonderfully functional, and really work well. There are lots of lovely spaces just to sit and relax and enjoy the coming and going of people. This hotel, like most high-end hotels these day, charges a destination fee (a/k/a a "resort fee" in some hotels.) However, this is offset by the hotel with a $100 credit toward food and bar, which is a great gesture. Be sure to use it! Besides the hotel itself, what really makes San Francisco Proper a standout is the absolutely world-class staff, one of the nicest, most helpful, friendly, and genuinely engaging I have ever encountered in any hotel anywhere. In addition to the team members I have already mentioned above, there was the incredibly engaging front desk manager Peter Komorowski, and his wonderful colleagues Andrew and Mariel, who could not have been more accommodating and congenial. Peter was absolutely exceptional in every way. While dining at Villon, we met and chatted with one of the hotel's executive staff, the wonderful and cordial Patricia Gonalez, who was a total delight. (And so, when you meet a hotel's staff ranging from the executives to the parking valets and all points in between, and they are all so consistently fantastic, you really appreciate the entire organization's management style!!) Any time we entered or left the hotel, we were always greeted warmly by name by all the staff members . . . and they even greeted our two golden retrievers by name. All staff members at The Proper really take the "hospitality " aspect of their professions seriously, and honestly, guests really feel so well taken care of. To add to this, though, the staff was never, ever snobby or erudite (which happens at too many hotels, especially some boutique hotels) -- they interacted with guests with a fantastically congenial and open style which was so appreciated, but at the same time, was fabulously efficient and professional. This hotel may be called the "Proper," but there is nothing stiff about the service, which is just perfect. To address one aspect that has been mentioned in other reviews . . . the neighborhood. Yes, this San Francisco Market Street neighborhood is "in transition," and yes, if you walk in certain directions, there are homeless people on the sidewalks, etc. However, when one knows San Francisco (as we do -- we lived there for 20+ years), this is realistically part of the urban landscape of this city . . . a city which has the highest of highs, the richest of riches, but sometimes the lowest of the lows too. This is SF's urban environment. Union Square hotels have the same issues. So this neighborhood was never an issue. First of all, the hotel has the entire block outside the hotel main entrance reserved for guests and hotel use, there are abundant staff members and security out there 24/7, the sidewalks are constantly cleaned. There are a lot of positive things happening in the neighborhood, and The Proper is one of the leaders in bringing this neighborhood back from the abyss. For that reason alone, I want to applaud and support them. But they are not alone. Theaters are nearby, as is the Civic Center, SF War Memorial Opera House, Davies Symphony Hall, museums. Best yet, right around the corner from the main entrance of the hotel is Arsicault Bakery, probably the most genuinely incredible patisseries and boulangeries outside of Paris. Ariscault is a must-visit, the chocolate croissants will bring tears to your eyes,and the almond croissants are like a trip to France!! So yes, the neighborhood is in transition, and no, I would not take long walks late at night in the neighborhood. (But I wouldn't do that in any city.) But the hotel really circumvents the location gorgeously -- and even offers complimentary and luxurious car service that takes guests, upon request, anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel. So you don't even have to bother with Uber! So . . . THANK YOU San Francisco Proper, and especially to all the incredible staff members we met. When you stay in this hotel, you realize that so much thought has gone into every single aspect of the guest experience, from the big things to the smallest touches. And what an experience it was! We left The Proper with the feeling that all hoteliers hope their guests will have upon departure . . . and that is, we can't wait to come back!! See you soon!!! George Daugherty and David Wong
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure and experience Charmaine's rooftop bar, with firepits, a breathtaking view of San...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at San Francisco Proper
Responded Feb 20, 2024
Wow! What an excellent review to receive, and it's truly music to our ears. Being a part of your wonderful stay is the greatest compliment, and we are delighted you enjoyed so much about your time at San Francisco Proper Hotel. Thank you especially for spotlighting our attentive team, as we aim to ensure our guests have a comfortable, welcoming experience when they join us. It was an honor having you, and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another fantastic time. Until then, we wish you well. Warm Regards, Cody Felice General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
$290 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renoir hotel san francisco, renoir san francisco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Renoir Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN FRANCISCO PROPER - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about San Francisco Proper
Which popular attractions are close to San Francisco Proper?
Nearby attractions include Asian Art Museum (0.2 miles), Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.3 miles), and Orpheum Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Francisco Proper?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at San Francisco Proper?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at San Francisco Proper?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at San Francisco Proper?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Francisco Proper?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sam's Diner, Montesacro Pinseria, and 54 Mint.
Is San Francisco Proper located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Francisco Proper?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Francisco Proper?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Chinese, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to San Francisco Proper?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (4.5 miles), Alcatraz Island (3.2 miles), and Fort Point National Historic Site (4.1 miles).
Does San Francisco Proper have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.