We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat

Save
Share
12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3102
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!BOOK EARLY, SAVE UP TO 25% OFF
$169
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$169
View deal
Booking.com$200
Travelocity$169
travelup.com$232
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (194)
Room & Suite (160)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/31/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Updated 08/31/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#62 of 245 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in the historic Pacific Building in San Francisco’s SoMa District, Hotel Zelos is more than its prominent address — it’s where energy thrives. And where attitude reigns. Step into the sophisticated lobby that opens to a portal to rooms of intimately warm shades of gray and a modern residential feel. Peel back the layers and explore the complexity of our merging with technology. Stay in, explore, dine at Dirty Habit, the sultry heart of Zelos.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:BOOK EARLY, SAVE UP TO 25% OFF
1579Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 782
  • 465
  • 157
  • 90
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
4FamilyontheGo wrote a review Sep 2022
Vancouver Canada29 contributions44 helpful votes
We spent 5 days in San Francisco in July and were very happy we chose Hotel Zelos. I booked 2 connecting rooms, which were perfect for our family of four. The location of the hotel is within the shopping area, in the Union Square area of San Francisco. The rooms were spacious and quiet. Would recommend this hotel if you want to be close to multiple transit and bus options. Great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 4FamilyontheGo! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Everyone is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your room and our location. We hope to see you again the next time you come through San Francisco! Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kyleb643 wrote a review Nov 2021
Jonesport, Maine28 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We have now stayed at the Velos Hotel twice. It is perfectly located - on Market street and within easy walking to museums. There is vibrant street life on Market Street, but the hotel windows are so shielded that you barely here the noise when you are in your room. Beds are great! We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Rosana, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Nov 22, 2021
Dear kyleb643, Thank you for this amazing review of your stay at the Hotel Zelos! We are very happy to hear on your loyalty--it means a lot to us. We appreciate your compliments to our location ideally in heart of downtown San Francisco, and centrally walkable to sites and spots. We appreciate your review and are delighted that you enjoyed the peacefulness of our Hotel, steps from Union Square but a calm and refreshing oasis. Please do return soon, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Jorge Rosana Front Desk Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarah o wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Great hotel, location, staff and cleanliness. Stayed here for a business trip and the entire staff went above and beyond to make my stay exceptional. Specifically Jeff Abenoja was more than kind helping me change my reservation multiple times over the phone as well as room change to accommodate my need. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sarah O, Thank you for staying with us and we're delighted to hear such positive feedback. We're happy to know you liked our location and the service from our team helped to make your stay exceptional. I'll be sure to share your comments with Jeff and the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen K wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Hotel Zelos was perfect for our weekend trip to the city! We booked their Road Trip package which included valet parking and were able to check in early and park the car before we went to the Giants game. I had mentioned that we just had our 17 year anniversary and the manager, Peter Vricella, was kind enough to have a bottle of champagne delivered to our room while we were at the game! The room was clean and updated and everyone on the staff was super nice and accomodating. Checkout was at noon but they let you park there until 3pm which was great! Didn't have a chance to check out the restaurant but we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Karen K, It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that the Road Trip package worked out well for you. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly the next time you come into town as you really need to try out Dirty Habit! Thank you again and warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise H wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
We had a really comfortable stay at Zelos SFO on our honeymoon for the last 2 days. Modern room with a very cozy bed, VERY clean everywhere, nice and stylish design of the hotel. Not at all noisy at night even though it could not have been located more centrally in SFO. Tons of good restaurants to reach by a 10 minute walk. Most importantly, we want to share how extraordinary friendly the staff of the hotel has been. Very helpfull right from the beginning, helping us out with all questions and needs, e.g. including public transport recommendations. Jeff who is working at the hotel lobby is such a kind and professional person letting us as guests always feel safe, compfortable, and prioretized. Fully recommended! Thanks a lot guys!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Denise H, Thank you for sharing you feedback and we're very happy to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. I will be sure to share your great feedback with everyone, especially Jeff, and hope we'll see you again in the future! Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1sandlover wrote a review Aug 2022
Oregon139 contributions83 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is great. Close to all forms of transportation. It was clean, and the front desk staff were friendly enough... but that's it. There is a "resort fee" which is ridiculous because well, it's not a resort. The fee is for the fitness center and business center, internet access and phone calls "which may be limited", and concierge service - there was no concierge. There was also no housekeeping, and the hugely overpriced restaurant/bar was closed for private events two of our three nights. The one night we did go we had 2 glasses of wine for $24 - and that was after $20 credits. From here I moved to the Hyatt Regency around the corner. Room was far less expensive, staff included dedicated bellman/valet and concierge. Really wanted to like this place, but I won't be back nor would I recommend it. For the money there are far better options.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear 1sandlover, Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience enough to return. In particular, Dirty Habit has a large following of both locals and hotel guests who love the venue, cocktails, whiskey selection and food so it's unfortunate you did enjoy your time there. So that other travelers are aware, it is true we are not a resort. As such, we have a $29 per night amenity fee which includes WiFi access, coffee and tea daily, local calls, 24 hour fitness center, printing services, bike use, concierge services from our Front Desk staff and a $10 F&B voucher. This is standard for nearly all hotels in the San Francisco market and our amenity fee is competitively priced lower than most. I would also like to point out that we provide daily housekeeping service to all guestrooms. If the guest is currently in the room, we will reschedule to come back at a later time. The only reason a room would not receive housekeeping service is if the "Do Not Disturb" sign is on the door. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Should you have any further comments, please feel free to reach out to me directly at peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com. Furthermore, should you wish to give us another try, I would be more than happy to personally prepare for your stay. Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MariaTF-SF wrote a review Aug 2022
San Francisco, California1 contribution
This was a business trip - but compared to other boutique hotel experiences I would say this was great. It was clean; the staff was helpful and friendly, walking out of the hotel into a very busy area of town - but walking distance from our office, the pier/Ferry Building, etc. It was a great part of the overall SF city experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear MariaTF-SF, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I will be sure to share all of your great comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RominaFahl wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful clean room with an awesome vibe and art, great view, easy check-in and check-out. I was there on a work trip, and could easily walk to my office from the hotel. It was close to many fun things and I chose to walk most of the time, but public transport readily available as needed. Hot dog guy who sets up on that corner is 100% worth trying too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear RominaFahl, Thank you for such great comments! We can't wait until you come back again. Please contact me directly after you book your next stay so that I can personally prepare for your arrival. Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harshalarajesh wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
I had Good Stay at Hotel Zelos, Centrally located for most of the activities. Facilities were excellent to come back and relax after long day at work . Peets coffee just round the corner was blessing .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear harshalarajesh, Thank you for sharing such great comments and we're delighted you enjoyed your experience staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in San Francisco! Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanderer765267 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We have spent 2 nights in this hotel in August 2022. We are a family with 4 children. We booked connecting rooms, but open arrival the hotel had 2 rooms apart for us. After complaining they finally had 2 rooms one in front of the other… Also, the area is not safe. You simply can’t get out of the hotel at night. Surrounded by people using drugs in front of children. The hotel itself is nice, rooms are clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Vricella, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear Wanderer765267, Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. After reviewing your feedback and researching the reservations, I am sorry that you were not provided with connecting rooms at check-in. While we don't actually book reservations for connecting rooms as we have very few, we see that our reservations team was contacted. We certainly want to be able to provide connecting rooms in your situation and for that, we do apologize. I would also like to note that at check-in, in order to accommodate your family, we provided a complimentary upgrade to our largest suite in order to provide rooms that were across the hallway from each other. Regarding the surrounding area, unfortunately, the situation you described affects not just our area but many parts of the city. This is why we take the safety of our guests very seriously. That is the reason both our exterior lobby doors and our elevators require guest keycard access in addition to our nightly security officer. I myself live in the area and walk home from work every night without incident. Thank you again for sharing your comments and we're sorry for the challenges you experienced. Should you require any further assistance. please feel free to contact me at peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com and I would be happy to speak with you directly. Warm regards, Peter Vricella Director of Operations Hotel Zelos San Francisco peter.vricella@viceroyhotelgroup.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$233 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel palomar san francisco, kimpton san francisco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa / South Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
202
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), San Francisco Playhouse (0.3 miles), and Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taylor Street Coffee Shop, Eno Wine Bar, and Blue Bottle Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Zelos San Francisco, a Viceroy Urban Retreat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (4.6 miles), Alcatraz Island (3.0 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.8 miles).