We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Monarch Hotel

1015 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was ok. On the edge of a bad neighbor hood. The rooms were aged. Located across the road from a community centre so lots of interesting characters hanging around the front door. It was close enough to walk to most areas but still a 20-30min walk.

Helpful?
Thank watt61
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok where to start . . . . So the hotel itself is in my opinion in a very rough area of San Fran, lots of homeless people outside, literally everywhere. My girlfriend and I felt very nervous when going out in the evenings. Even though it was only 300m away from designer shops like Louis Vuitton and Prada it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Handi B

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cant believe this is what you get for so much money per night. It's just a ripoff. Hotel smells of piss everywhere, bedroooms lining is dirty. I dont mind a place that is not the last fashionable place to sleep but at least not a place that is going to make all of my cloths smelly in 2 nights!

Helpful?
Thank Sara M
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is average but matches the price compared to the other hotels. San Fran is so expensive so this was the best price for what you get. We walked to Fishermans Wharf and Union Square, we like to walk though. Lots of homeless across the road so if that worries you, maybe think again. They didn't try and talk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carley B
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Carley, we're glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We are located in a highly desired area of San Francisco, and there is lots of activity near our hotel as we are located just a few blocks from Union Square area and many other restaurants, bars, civic center etc. Just like many major cities, our city... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can tell that this is the worst hotel I have ever been. Reasons: my bed had hairs in between the sheets. The pictures from Expedia absolutely DO NOT match what you are getting. The elevator from The Tower Of Terror in Disney is way safer than the one they have here. The price is not justified at any means,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pablo G
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pablo, we sincerely regret to hear of your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with flawless service and product delivery. Our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We were very distressed to learn of your impression of the hotel. As a guest, your stay here should be clean, comfortable and pleasant.... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the room was horrible with dirty showers. I would agree: that's the worst hotel I have ever been respectively that I left before I slept there as I just couldn't imagine, sleeping there during my holidays! I certainly will not recoomend this place to my friends!

Helpful?
Thank Dimitri H
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dimitri, we are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We aim to provide clean, comfortable and pleasant stay for all our guests so we are disappointed to hear that this was not the case. Our room service team generally does a great job when it comes to preparing the room for upcoming guests, so... More 

canton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

My husband booked a trip through travelocity for San Fran and got this old historic hotel that advertise the picture when they opened back in 1930. OMG! Avoid this hotel because it's old, shower didn't work in our room and there is a homeless shelter right across the street. People laying on the street with needles in their hands. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackice3311
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. we were very distressed to learn of your impression of the hotel. Please know that we are always here to help, had we known of these issues during your stay, we would have loved to switch your rooms to ensure you had a good stay with us.... More 

Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

The front desk was very nice. It's an older hotel with ok rooms. My tub dripped the whole time. It is in the tenderloin district. As a woman, I was followed and harassed a bit when walking alone. Ended up walking with male coworkers or taking Ubers to nearby Union Square. It is centrally located.

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, we're glad that our staff were friendly and attentive. We are located in a highly desired area of San Francisco, and there is lots of activity near our hotel as we are located just a few blocks from Union Square area. Just like many major cities, our city also suffers from homelessness, But we assure you that our... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Probably the worst hotel I've lived in in my life. Stained sheets, towels on fire slams, old utilities, strong stench. Wouldn't recommend it for business or leisure . Don't bring family or friends.. hair dryers not in the room but need to be taken from downstairs. More like a motel not a hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Soha M
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soha, we are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We aim to provide clean, comfortable and pleasant stay for all our guests so we are disappointed to hear that this was not he case. Our room service team generally does a great job when it comes to preparing the room for upcoming guests, so... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

It was a very old, rustic hotel located away from the main powell station. It has a very strong aroma in the hotel room and a very old lift. Wet and slippery floor in the toilet with an attached bath tub. It is 15 to 20 minutes walk to powell. Left my power adaptor after check out and took many... More 

Helpful?
Thank wongks14
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review and sharing your concerns here. We're disappointed to hear about your stay with us. You room should always feel and smell fresh. This is not the usual comment we receive from guests. Our goal is for you to have a pleasant stay and we hope you will give another opportunity in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#131 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#107 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#172 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#156 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#180 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 1015 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $147 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel San Francisco
Monarch San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay