We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Monarch Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed here for 6 nights and really loved the place, yes the rooms are a bit small but the hotel in general make up for that, the staff are truely lovely , so helpful & friendly the room was spotless , huge closet which was great, nicely decorated, only downside was there was nor fridge or coffee machine in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, it's really great to get such positive feedback from guests who have stayed us for a relatively long visit. We're really happy that we were able to be a comfortable and convenient base for you while you were visiting San Francisco, and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Thank you so much for your review... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a great location and nice staff. Older hotel with an old and small elevator so I used the stairs. Clean and less expensive than other places nearby. Only problem was there was water under the tub so it was squishy to stand in the shower which was weird, but again it's an older hotel. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi G
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandi, we are so happy that you found us a convenient and affordable place to stay in San Francisco. We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your trip in San Francisco, and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Thanks again. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and clean, nothing fancy but good enough and the price is right. Bathroom needs improvement, some issues with the bathroom sink clogging up. Close to City Hall. Transportation is handy and there are bus stops across the street. No problem finding restaurants around the hotel, front desk attendants are very helpful. Free WiFi sure helps but top floors signal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, we are really happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's great that you found our location so convenient, and that you found our front desk staff to be so helpful - we will be sure to pass your comments to them. We are sorry that you had an issue with your sink - it's a... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a clean decent place. Close to everything in walking distance. Breakfast included and was good. Easy access in and out of the parking garage. Check in was fast. Staff was very friendly. I would come back and stay here the next time we come to SF.

Helpful?
Thank Christine T
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, we could not be happier that you were so impressed with our staff and our service - we'll be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We aim to make this impression on all of our guests, and usually we do. It's great that you liked our amenities and location, and we hope that you'll come... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I write this review while trying to go back to sleep after an hour of partying in the upstairs room. I called reception to have him call to ask them to be quiet. We have our 9 year old with us and the noise is out of control. He said he would call upstairs,, but he did not. I know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina C

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is not located in a nice area for a family, many strange figures in the hotel's street. Some of the rooms do not get the wi-fi signal (my family and I had to move to another room that was smaller than the first one in order to have a decent wi-fi connection) and also they did not accepted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haroldo D
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haroldo, I am sorry that your stay with us was marred by a room-move to get a better wi-fi signal, but am happy that we rectified your problem for you. Unfortunately, like many major cities, San Francisco also suffers with homelessness - we have many families stay here every week - in fact many return time and time again.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was ok. On the edge of a bad neighbor hood. The rooms were aged. Located across the road from a community centre so lots of interesting characters hanging around the front door. It was close enough to walk to most areas but still a 20-30min walk.

Helpful?
Thank watt61
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed that you did not like our location. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback - thank you very much. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

My boss and I just checked into The Monarch Hotel and it's already become the nightmare we were hoping and praying we could avoid. After a 6 hour flight from NYC the last thing we need are nuisances, inconveniences, and horrible odors. I'm confident a Motel 8 would have better hospitality. As we're driving from the airport to the hotel,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine K
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katherine, I'm so sorry that your stay with us got off to such a bad start. It is not the arrival experience that we want our guests to have, and it is not the experience that the vast majority of them do have. It really is disappointing that both our telephonist service and valet service disappointed you before you... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Cant believe this is what you get for so much money per night. It's just a ripoff. Hotel smells of piss everywhere, bedroooms lining is dirty. I dont mind a place that is not the last fashionable place to sleep but at least not a place that is going to make all of my cloths smelly in 2 nights!

Helpful?
Thank Sara M
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara, I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I'm shocked to hear that you thought that the hotel was smelly. I can honestly say that I have never had that complaint before, and nobody else mentioned it during the course of your stay. It may be that there was a particular smell in... More 

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is average but matches the price compared to the other hotels. San Fran is so expensive so this was the best price for what you get. We walked to Fishermans Wharf and Union Square, we like to walk though. Lots of homeless across the road so if that worries you, maybe think again. They didn't try and talk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carley B
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Carley, we're glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We are located in a highly desired area of San Francisco, and there is lots of activity near our hotel as we are located just a few blocks from Union Square area and many other restaurants, bars, civic center etc. Just like many major cities, our city... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#115 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#172 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Layne Hotel
#205 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#154 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#183 of 236 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 1015 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6902
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $110 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel San Francisco
Monarch San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay