We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental San Francisco

888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Visit hotel website
16 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$223
$206
View Deal
Travelocity$206
Orbitz.com$206
Booking.com$206
InterContinental$206
Expedia.com$206
ZenHotels.com$223
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1120)
Room & Suite (728)
Dining (62)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area's upscale landmark hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Parking
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Members save at least 25%
Hotel deals
3,370Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,671
  • 1,137
  • 348
  • 121
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here in May 2019. Hotel was very nice and room was very spacious and clean. Only spent two nights here before heading onto Los Angeles. Location is good and close to Union Square. However this will be my first and last time to San Francisco. Felt extremely unsafe in this city and unfortunately didn't enjoy my time there; however cannot fault the hotel was a nice stay shame about the city.
Read more
Response from PMK54, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Lots88, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in San Francisco. I am delighted that you were pleased with your accommodations and the hotel’s location, however, concerned to read that you did not feel safe in SF. I am sorry for your unfortunate experience however appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback. Best regards, Peter Koehler General Manager
Read more
The hotel is conveniently located next to the Moscone Convention Center. It is newer than most of the other hotels close by. It is much quieter than the Marriott Marquis which is typically the Headquarters Hotel for conventions. As a member of IHG rewards, I was given a room on the 32nd floor with a great view of the bay and a late check out at 1pm. The reasons for the lower rating are due to: the front desk staff after midnight who were not welcoming to weary travelers, the poor quality of food for in room dining - it should be avoided, the high cost of breakfast - there are breakfast places within a few blocks with excellent food at half the price, and the lack of receiving points for my 9 day stay. IHG members should complain regarding this last point. I stayed for 9 days in business and booked through the conference. The conference rate oer night with tax was $428.68, far higher than booking during non conference dates. They informed me there is no credit for conference negotiated rates! Unacceptable.
Read more
Response from PMK54, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Carol S, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your overall experience. We value our IHG reward members and are committed to providing the highest quality and services. I will address your comments and concerns with my team and IHG member services in order to improve on our guest experience and expectations, however should you wish to discuss further, please reach out directly to my director of rooms, James Telmo at james.telmo@ihg.com. Best regards, Peter Koehler General Manager
Read more
5 nights at the Intercontinental San Francisco, Howard Street. Big room and big bathroom with both a bath and walk in shower. Bed and pillows too soft for my taste. Breakfast buffet very good with lots of choice, though I was thankful I wasn’t paying the $40 myself. For an expensive hotel the loo paper was really quite thin. I also had to ask for sanitary bags for the bathroom as the bin provided didn’t have a lid nor was it lined. I used the concierge team and found everybody very helpful and pleasant.
Read more
Response from PMK54, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 5 days ago
Dear sneezyLM, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Best regards, Peter Koehler General Manager
Read more
We stayed at the InterContinental for two nights, the location is excellent. The room has large windows, floor to ceiling offering great views. If possible request a higher floor, to fully appreciate the view. The room was clean, the bathroom is spacious.
Read more
Response from PMK54, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 1 week ago
Dear vacaybrend, Thank you for taking your valuable time to submit a great review for our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and the hotel’s location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Peter Koehler General Manager
Read more
I stayed in the corner king room, beautiful view and bright. Clean bathroom, but water pressure was very low. Good location and Front desk never smiled and does not make guest feel welcomed. Perhaps it’s the training by Intercontinental to show arrogance? Staff never smiled when I checked in or while checking out. Very similar with LA, maybe it’s the IHG DNA to be unfriendly to elite member? Hope the front desk staff can be more friendly.
Read more
Response from PMK54, General Manager at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mmleee450, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read about your experience. I will address your concerns with my team to ensure such shortcomings do not happen again. We certainly value all of our guests and want to make sure everyone feels welcomed and comfortable at all times. Once again, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Best regards, Peter Koehler General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental san francisco hotel san francisco, san francisco intercontinental
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
550
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing