Geary Parkway Motel

Geary Parkway Motel

Noisy 24-7 Bus stations right next to the rooms
Traveler (92)
Panorama of the Double Full Room at the Geary Parkway Motel
360
Panoramas (5)
Premium 2 Double Beds
Room & Suite (106)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#11 of 32 motels in San Francisco
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
4.2
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118-2909
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
San Francisco Intl Airport
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
14.3 mi
See all flights
433Reviews16Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 186
  • 69
  • 10
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John Padden wrote a review Feb 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The front desk staff as well as housekeeping are excellent! They are on par with any Nob Hill hotel at 5 times the cost. Henry, the manager, is always there to help and be of immediate service. The housekeeping staff is very professional and accommodating and leaves the room spotless and well stocked with new linens etc
The only issue I had during what turned out to be an extended stay, was the noise when one has a downstairs room. If a party upstairs is loud, then those below will be somewhat inconvenienced. (this could therefore be remedied by booking an upstairs room).This motel came highly recommended by family friends and they were right!.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will have less noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Feb 15, 2021
Dear guest, It is great to receive feedback from you regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you had a positive overall impression of your visit. We are glad that you found the rooms clean and spacious, and it's nice to read that our central location suited you. We are also delighted to know that our front desk personnel, housekeeping staff members, and property manager impressed you with their excellence in customer service. We apologize for the noise issue that caused you some inconvenience. We do ask all guests to respect one another and keep the noise level to a minimum, but, unfortunately, not all of our guests abide by all rules. When you stay with us again, if there is ever any issue with noisy guests, just let us know. Our staff will be happy to request the concerned guests to keep the noise down or to move you to another room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. We trust that everything else was in order, and we look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike Mincer wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Geary Parkway while visiting San Francisco on a motorcycle ride. The hotel was great and conveniently located to the Golden Gate Bridge. However, the best part was the manager Henry and his customer service. We unknowingly dropped our bike key and didn't realize it until 300 miles later when we stopped for gas and couldn't turn on the bike. Luckily I could start the bike with a pin code, but Henry called me to tell me about the key. Not only that he printed out a shipping label so UPS could pick up the key from the hotel and get it back to the Harley Davidson rental shop. In essence, that $25 to ship the key was far better than paying $300 to replace it. I know this review seems less about the motel and more about Henry, but we are just so greatful and appreciative for his help.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that your stay was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. It was wonderful to read your comments about our staff and rest assured that we will share your feedback with them and the rest of the team who take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable stay. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Aug 2021
Simi Valley, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this motel many times over the last several years. Once we discovered this jewel, we have not stayed anywhere else. As a person who uses a wheelchair, I can tell you that Henry The Manager is most helpful and accommodating to meet all of our needs. He is a gem! The wheelchair accessible room has always been impeccably neat and clean, with an accessible sink and roll-in shower. It's on a main bus line for easy access to other parts of the city, and has FREE on-site parking! Free Keurig coffee and sweet rolls in the morning (a nice touch). The rates are always reasonable for the season. Don't miss an opportunity to book a room at this oasis. But don't wait, they go fast!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear guest, we highly appreciate your in-depth review of your recent stay at our hotel. Our manager Henry, along with the entire staff is delighted with the fact that we could make your stay so wonderful. We believe that hospitality as an element is primarily personal and, it usually commences with a caring and dedicated team. Your feedback makes us proud and motivates us simultaneously. We hope to serve you soon! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa M wrote a review Mar 2020
Gordon, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Felt really safe in this area of San Fran. I was a single mum travelling with young teenage kids and needed a safe place to stay but that was also a great location for transportation and food. Area is called Little Richmond and there’s lots of Asian food around. Jack in the box on the corner and a laundromat very close by. On site parking, owners are friendly and helpful. Pastries and coffee machine for free at breakfast time which is just enough to get you going but wouldn’t plan on it filling you up. And best of all this place is great value!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear Vanessa, We are known for the excellent value that we offer in this location, and we appreciate your acknowledgment of this. It sounds as if our property was suitable for your stay in this area, and if you have similar accommodation requirements here again, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your review. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeannette M wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this motel because my partner was having surgery at UCSF and it was a little over 1 mile away. I spent 3 nights. I had booked 2 but I needed an additional day and the Manager was very accomodating and booked me for another night.
The room was extremely clean. The location was very centralized able to walk to many restaurants, coffee places, grocery and Golden Gate Park. Although, it was on a busy street, it was very quiet. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood.

There was no continental breakfast, however, coffee and danishes were available.
If we need to go and stay in SF in the future this will be our go to place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Mar 12, 2022
Dear Jeannette, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim Rumsey wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy to locate as a visitor from overseas. Room 202 was a bit noisy facing, as it did, Geary Boulevard. There is a bus stop immediately outside the room. If the 'bus then is held up by the traffic lights that is a double-whammy as it can be some time before you lose the sound of the bus engine! Welcome was friendly with access to the front desk controlled by the receptionist, meaning - as in our case- waiting outside until the previous customers had concluded their enquiries/registration. The room was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear Guest, We are sorry for any disturbance caused to you by noise, but we hope that this, will not deter you from staying with us again - we would love to host you again very soon. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott M wrote a review Feb 2020
Ayr, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic accommodation but very clean. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels given. No frills accommodation. Noisy due to the traffic on the main road but you get used to it. Check in/check out process easy. The motel is a fair distance from the main area of san Fransisco but regular buses available from right outside the motel entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Dear Scott, It sounds as if our hotel was perfect for your needs, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you for your positive rating; we hope that you will have an opportunity to make a return visit very soon. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Ho wrote a review Mar 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel based on previous reviews, much like a recent review from someone else said. We are certain that many of the reviews are fake.

The man on the reception was incredibly rude to one of us and spoke to us in an appalling manor.

The room we had was really run down, smelled musty and repairs were carried out to a poor standard. Holes were patched up in the walls and the doors bashed in. The bedroom window was smashed.

The parking was tight and the owner was very quick to make us sign a disclaimer saying the car being broken into would be on us and that we can’t complain if there is no parking.

We ended up rechecking the reviews in disbelief as we had expected much better, and looked to change our hotel. We note that you can’t cancel once checked in- we suspect as many people will have done the same as us; realise how horrible it is and want to leave.

The street itself is terrible. Full of drug users and we did not feel safe. We’d planned to walk to places on our trip, but ended up driving everywhere and not getting a spot in the car park because not only was everything a long walk, we didn’t feel safe in this area.

Overall the only positive thing I could say was the price wasn’t awful, but if we could have left and paid more to stay elsewhere, we would. I would say a higher price for a better motel is a better option than staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Mar 18, 2022
Dear guest, we care about every guests' experience, and we are always disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first rate experience. We aim to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay, and we are pleased to say that this is the case the vast majority of the cases. We listen to our guests' constructive feedback to make improvements, and this reflects on our reviews across the board. As for your remarks about the 'drug users', we are in the city's residential area, and this is not such a neighborhood. We are located near iconic destinations of the city, and we get visitors all over the world who cherish the location and easy access to restaurants and the best of what our beautiful city has to offer. Having said that, unfortunately, just like many major cities, we do also suffer from the issues of homelessness, which is spread across the city. However, we assure you that our hotel is safe! We are sorry that you felt such strongly about your stay. This, however, isn't an accurate description of our hotel and the surroundings as depicted by guests' stays and experiences across major platforms. We are always here to help and address your concerns. Please feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. Warmest regards, Customer Care Team Geary Parkway Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David R wrote a review Oct 2023
Henderson, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before and as usual found it to be very comfortable and clean. The room has everything you need for a nice stay. Location is ideal for me because my granddaughter lives nearby. There is free parking right within the hotel space, which is a big plus, but it is very tight.

Because of the importance of getting a room there, I made a reservation which is something I usually do not do. Apparently the hotel does not handle its own reservations, and I was concerned because the 3rd party sites were quoting rates way above my budget. Until I got to Booking.com, which I have used in Europe. They made my reservation at a very good reasonable rate along lines that I had expected. The reservation was honored, and all was well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: There is parking on-site, but it is very tight and somewhat limited. Recommend that you get your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear David, thank you for being a returning guest, and we're delighted to hear that you consistently find our hotel comfortable and clean. We appreciate your feedback on our location and the convenience of free parking. It's great to know that Booking.com helped you secure a reservation at a reasonable rate that met your budget. We look forward to hosting you on future visits, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further comments or suggestions. Your feedback is valuable to us. Safe travels, and we'll be here when you return! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul P wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very clean and tidy, excellent sized room with a massive bed!! Comfy pillows, good shower and bathroom facilities. The pastries from reception were very nice with good coffee and tea as well as apple and orange juice. A good sized TV, fridge and microwave in the room added to the facilities as well as an iron. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Vijay the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly too and happy to immediately resolve any problems with the room( there was a slightly broken light switch and he arranged for it to be fixed straight away)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Free coffee/tea and fresh juicemaking facilities are at reception. The coffee is better than in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Team, Owner at Geary Parkway Motel
Responded Aug 22, 2023
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be clean, spacious, and well-equipped. It's great to know that you appreciated the amenities such as the large bed, comfortable pillows, good shower, and additional facilities like the TV, fridge, microwave, and iron. We're glad that our staff, especially Vijay, were able to assist you promptly and that they contributed to making your stay enjoyable. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future! Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brenda W
Bark River, Michigan22 contributions6 helpful votes
I considered it comfortably safe. We had 2 women in our party traveling together and felt comfortable the entire time. You pull into the parking lot from the road and the room doors face the parking lot. I believe you can see this in one of their online photos.
FPWhitePlains asked a question Dec 2018
White Plains, New York319 contributions124 helpful votes
What type of coffee maker in room. Is it a Nespresso pod compatible one ?
Answer from hollys2kes
Austin, Texas1 contribution
hi, I saw your question-sorry, I didn't have a coffee maker that was fancy in any way in my room. however, there's a Peet's coffee shop that I recall catacorner to the motel. if you're not familiar with Peet's then you are in for a treat. hope that's helpful.
Emerald H asked a question Jun 2018
Raleigh, North Carolina11 contributions
When leaving the hotel did you feel safe walking in the area?
Answer from J S
Tampere, Finland203 contributions35 helpful votes
Yes, no problem, looked like typical urban setting. Didn't see any "threatening" characters. There are also bus stops very near the motel, handy for going to downtown.
Emerald H asked a question Jun 2018
Raleigh, North Carolina11 contributions
How close is the location to public transit?
Answer from DRU842
Sydney, Australia
Buses go past the front door
darogo wrote a tip Dec 2023
San Francisco, California36 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try a different more honest hotel "
Read full review
David R wrote a tip Oct 2023
Henderson, North Carolina33 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is parking on-site, but it is very tight and somewhat limited. Recommend that you get your parking spot early and leave your car there"
Read full review
Paul P wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free coffee/tea and fresh juicemaking facilities are at reception. The coffee is better than in the room. There are breakfast pastries too. "
Read full review
Randy C wrote a tip Jun 2022
Fresno, California17 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is definitely limited and the stalls narrow. Arrive at check in time to get a spot. We used public transit and Uber once parked."
Read full review
lise ivar wrote a tip May 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic motel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Francisco area.
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
geary parkway hotel san francisco, geary parkway motel, geary parkway san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoInner Richmond / Richmond District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GEARY PARKWAY MOTEL $137 ($̶1̶7̶0̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Geary Parkway Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Nearby attractions include de Young Museum (0.7 miles), Conservatory of Flowers (0.6 miles), and Japanese Tea Garden (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Geary Parkway Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Geary Parkway Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Geary Parkway Motel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burma Superstar Restaurant, Chapeau!, and Mandalay.
Are there any historical sites close to Geary Parkway Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Golden Gate Bridge (2.7 miles), Alcatraz Island (4.1 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (3.7 miles).
Is Geary Parkway Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All San Francisco HotelsSan Francisco Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San FranciscoHotels near Geary Parkway Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars