We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not recommend Price to high Location not in good part of town Breakfast coffee and sweet rolls Sun closed early No room service one day No wash cloths one day No A/C Pillows terrible Lots of other reasons not to stay there Have water cooler in lobby But said no water available To far away from many things

Helpful?
Thank Bagboy42
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is fine if you're low maintenance. Dated and hallways are scuffed up but room and bathroom were clean. The staff were nice and helpful. Feels like a European hostel and we were fine as we knew we were saving money. There is a heating unit in the room but no AC. We walked to the fishermans wharf which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelforlife1989
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We strive to provide excellent service and clean accommodations to each and every guest and glad we did not fail you. I truly apologize for anything that was less than satisfactory with your stay. Thank you for your feedback and... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

I booked this place for location and price . In actually there now , leaving tomorrow . Whilst I always gauge a place by both price and location , what I haven't considered in waking up covered in flea bites . Yes - flea bites from head to damn toe . This place looks ok from the outside . The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank camster66
haspa, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We strive to be very diligent when it comes to pest control, so information like this is critical in order to win the battle against these pests. Please contact... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Very simple, there is not neither a vending/soda machine. The parking lot is $35 per night and the front desk personal... using headphones connected to a mobile phone... It sounded strange for me. The floor is made of wood and you can hear clearly what the guests in the upper apartment are doing. The water temperature of the shower was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mario G
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned regarding the hotel amenities, staff, and your room. Please know that I will address these issues with the appropriate staff members and will work to address the issues that you mentioned. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future. Sincerely, Hasu, GM Americas Best Value... More 

Totowa, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We stayed there from July 22th to the 23rd and had bed bugs in our room! The first one we saw was in my friend's hair after she was laying in her bed for a while!!! After looking closer, we found a couple more on the beds. It was so disgusting and we went straight to the front desk. They... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank louisaheinisch
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I deeply apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I have personally inspected your room and our pest control specialist has also inspected your room in order to keep us pest free. We have regular inspections and take this situation very seriously. We are always working to give our guests a great experience in a clean comfortable room... More 

Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

I was nervous about this stay since there were mixed reviews. Overall, the Inn met our needs and I have no complaints. The room and hotel were clean, but a little worn. There is no A/C but this wasn't a problem with the cool bay breezes. As mentioned by others, there is some noise from the bar downstairs, but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank James G
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We strive to provide excellent service and clean accommodations to each and every guest and glad we did not fail you. As you mentioned, it’s walk-able to several restaurants and public transportation is nearby. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

No Parking!!!!! Really? We did managed by parking on the street, but it means circling a bit to find a free parking at evening and watching the signs to see if it's a free night or a cleaning night. The room was small, had a smell, the bathroom is dated, well, you get the picture. Wroth it for less than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shai D
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your experience wasn't quite what you were expecting. I'm glad to have your feedback and I am addressing all of your comments so that we can improve for all of our guests. I have made our housekeeping supervisor aware of your concerns so that we can make sure that everything is fresh and ready for the... More 

Taylor, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

I should have read the fine print better before booking. This hotel was clean but no A/C. Luckily, San Francisco weather was bearable when we opened the windows. Unfortunately, since the windows were open, the noise from the street was really disturbing. Construction going on the building across the street made for lots of noise early in the morning. So... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walleska B
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I'm sorry for anything about your visit that was less than perfect. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean room. I hope that you will give us another chance to give you an amazing stay next time you're in San Francisco. I value your comments and encourage all... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Pros: Great value Clean lobby, room, shower and private bathroom Friendly and helpful staff Comfortable beds Nice shower/bath tub with good water pressure and plenty of hot water Good location with easy access to freeways, points of interest, etc. Counter to some reviews, the neighborhood felt safe to me Fridge in room at no extra charge Cons: No air conditioning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I'm glad that you chose us for your stay in San Francisco. We're thrilled that you liked our clean comfortable rooms, great location, spotless private bathroom, and friendly staff. The weather is so nice that it doesn't get hot but we always do everything we can to accommodate all... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

Should have looked at the pics. Nasty place. They charge your card when you make the reservation so you can't get a refund once you see the poor quality of the place. Worst stay ever! Old, smelly, brown water out of the pipes, no coffee in rooms, old old furniture. We even checked the beds for bugs before we slept... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissionGal
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry about the issues that you had during your stay and for your dissatisfaction. Our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to check in which is 3pm two days in advance. We are always working to improve for all of our guests, I have addressed each of the items you commented on, and all of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#158 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#140 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#199 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#178 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#129 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#128 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa is newly renovated summer of 2007 with 33 rooms and suites. A boutique style hotel, located off famous Folsom Street in a small, quaint alley Hallam Place, when you enter you feel you are in a charming small European town, yet still in SoMa/Downtown San Francisco. Most rooms with city skyline views. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, public areas and lobby are all non-smoking and the designated smoking area is outside 50 ft right of the lobby entrance door. Valet parking ONLY. Free daily breakfast (muffin, coffee, and Juice). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Address: 10 Hallam St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3907 (Formerly Globe Hostel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $118 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Soma Hotel San Francisco
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Soma
Americas Best Value Inn Soma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay