We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$219
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Autograph
$228
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$219
View deal
Hotels.com$219
Travelocity$219
Priceline$219
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (322)
Room & Suite (80)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Updated 01/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#80 of 245 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Silver level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
308Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
90Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1878Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 750
  • 753
  • 245
  • 72
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jared B wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
Booked because it was listed as a city view, but the view was just looking straight at a wall. I feel misled and would’ve booked a different hotel had I known. Were unwilling to move us to a room on a higher floor so that our room would have a city view. Terrible to deal with—Booking.com blamed Adagio and Adagio blamed Booking.com while no one was willing to make a simple accommodation to provide what was advertised. The homeless people lingering outside the front door make it really unsafe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Gauthreaux, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 days ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Hotel Adagio. I wanted to apologize for not assigning a room with a high floor city view. We do our best to honor all requested room types and views but can be somewhat limited depending on our occupancy. I also apologize if the team seemed unhelpful when you requested a high floor. I have shared your comments with the team and again apologize for not meeting with your expectations.
Read more
Chris L wrote a review Aug 5
Sheboygan, Wisconsin2 contributions
We spent six nights here for a family reunion/birthday celebration. Although some renovations were being done off the lobby, the hotel was very quiet and pleasant. Kelvin checked us in and gave us a room on the 15th floor so it would be away from the construction. Our room was large, quiet, and well appointed, The location of the hotel was great - two blocks from Union Square, and the Geary Avenue bus stop was right outside the door,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Gauthreaux, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 days ago
Hello and thank you for your kind words. We appreciate this feedback and are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I am also very happy that Kelvin was so accommodating and made sure you were comfortable away from any renovation noise. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Kevin K wrote a review Jul 2022
Reno, Nevada157 contributions31 helpful votes
Stayed here for a weekend. The room was comfortable and the valet parking was easy. The room had a fridge but it was fully used by an in room mini bar. The hotel is under going renovations but that didn’t cause any major bothers. The hotel is close to union square.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marukaigirl90 wrote a review Jul 2022
Compton, California5 contributions
Terrible customer service! Joanna needs some serious retraining in how to run not only the business but also the hotel computer system. EJ please teach her how to look up vitural cards and understand what the system is charging people for, because her response is the system does and she cant explain what it does. Joanna is a terrible representation of your hotel and of the Mariott brand! Not only that but I have it on record with Joanna acknowledging that they will continue to put a an authorization code on your tt every night you are there. I was already checked in, prepaid for, incidental taken care of and I was still hit with $129 in pending hold
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Gauthreaux, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I want to apologize for the problems you experienced with our staff member and the errors with you booking setup. Unfortunately our staff member was unsuccessful in explain the error that cause an over authorization on your card, and I am sorry about that. The error has been corrected and there will be no charges that appear on your credit card from the hotel. All authorizations have been submitted for release. Again my apologies for everything.
Read more
Laurie C wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Wasn’t informed until check-in that the fitness center and restaurant would be closed and that there would be no water for a period the next day. I definitely would have appreciated an earlier heads up so I could have found work out alternatives or left all the workout gear at home! Also no heads up until entering the lobby that there is ongoing renovation. The room was apparently renovated in recent years, but the carpet feels and smells decades old, the hallways are narrow, dark, and scary, and they definitely skimped during the reno on basics like light switch covers (which are yellowed/browned from age), toilet (also yellowing). It seems like upkeep isn’t a priority either as the towels and robe are old, worn, and pilled, the yellowed mattress is visible through the thin and worn sheets, and the windows are super dirty. I realize all autograph collection hotels are different but the quality of this hotel doesn’t come close to other autograph collections I’ve stayed at. For the price I paid ($$$), I expected much much better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from flordeliz torres, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded May 15, 2022
Hello Lauriec469, We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Since you last booked our hotel, we have added information about the renovation of our property. Our guests will now know of the improvements and call us directly if they have questions about the renovation. I am also sorry that you had such a bad experience while walking in San Francisco while going to work, San Francisco is such a beautiful city, and part of it needs more improvements. The Major and the city of San Francisco are working hard to address the homeless and mental issues plaguing the street of San Francisco. To better uphold our commitment to delivering exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with the hotel leadership team. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely,
Read more
TomOpo wrote a review May 2022
Prague, Czech Republic255 contributions85 helpful votes
A surprising location, but a stylish and fairly friendly place to be. The staff is caring, the rooms slightly above average for the category, you get your coffee and tea free all day in the lobby, nice features overall, but warnings necessary about the neighborhood, not for all tempers!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The higher the better as the streets around are lively
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EJ Varela, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded May 5, 2022
Dear TomOpo, Thank you for your genuine feedback and for your personal insight! The team at Hotel Adagio take pride on work and each department feels vested in creating positive memories for our guests. As we know we are not the newest property in the city, we work hard to provide a unique experience and to exceed our guests expectations. The details of your visit provide a clear view of the city and the areas our City leaders are working to improve our neighborhood and we as a responsible grassroot business are providing the necessary support needed to achieve progress in the safety and security of our future guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcome you again should you return to San Francisco! Sincerely, EJ Varela, General Manager
Read more
Paprika25 wrote a review Apr 2022
California230 contributions54 helpful votes
Comfortable room and bed, older building/shower, good location to walk around, and good cocktail bars nearby. However, the first time we found out that this place is undergoing construction is when we checked in. Not at time of booking. Check in is too late, imho. We were woken up super early on Sunday morning with sounds of construction - I thought Sundays, at least in other cities, are a day off from construction. Regardless, I would recommend letting people know at time of booking. Which wouldn't be a good business model, I get it hah.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EJ Varela, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Dear Paprika25, Thank you for your genuine feedback! We appreciate your time to let us know how we can improve, as we are a bit disappointed that we did not exceeded your property expectations due to the construction factor, I know we are under going a property renovation and this may be part of the limitations and downfalls you highlighted, we are working with our brand to make the renovation banner update on all websites for these reasons we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you had a comfortable stay with us at Hotel Adagio, as our team really cares to make every interaction with our guests a special connection, and we missed the mark during your visit and for that reason our sincere apologies. We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit San Francisco to experience our new amenities and genuine hospitality! Sincerely, EJ Varela, General Manager Hotel Adagio
Read more
Avasgram wrote a review Feb 2022
95 contributions83 helpful votes
This hotel is perfectly located. Walking distance to the theaters, Union Square, numerous restaurants. No need to use the car which there is valet parking next to the hotel! The rooms are well appointed, good views from the ninth floor. Excellent staff. I felt like my comfort was their #1 goal.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EJ Varela, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Dear Avasgram, Thank you for your genuine feedback! We are very pleased to know we exceeded your service and property expectations and that you had a great stay with us at Hotel Adagio. We love that you also enjoyed our valet parking services and understand that the parking as it is a commodity in the city. We are very excited to know you had a great stay with us at Hotel Adagio. We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit San Francisco!
Read more
Colleenpenn wrote a review Feb 2022
Penticton, Canada82 contributions57 helpful votes
The room and the staff are great. The team at the front desk and housekeeping are really helpful, friendly and try really hard to make sure you have a great stay in the hotel. The room, while older is well kept. A few signs of wear and tear like holes in the comforter cover and a crack around the drain in the tub and nubby towels. But for the price, you get a robe, a bright bathroom and comfortable chairs. The fridge didn’t work very well which may or may not matter to most people. The downside is the Tenderloin area which is dangerous especially for women alone. I was harassed a number of times. Once a person took a swing at me when he didn’t hear me behind him on the sidewalk. Out our window, I could count 10 people sleeping on the streets and alleys in my line of sight. It’s too bad the hotel is here as otherwise, its a nice place. We moved as soon as we could to a Marriott in the SOMA area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from EJ Varela, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Dear Colleenpenn, Thank you for your genuine and detailed feedback! We are very pleased to know we exceeded your service and property expectations and that you had a great stay with us at Hotel Adagio. We love that you also enjoyed our team member's interactions and warm service. We understand your observations, and want you to know, we are working with the city and our Union Square community ambassadors to maintain our neighborhood safe and clean in the near future while we address the Homeless and transient challenges within our district. We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit San Francisco! Sincerely, Team Adagio
Read more
Mariah B wrote a review Jan 2022
Lafayette, California, United States48 contributions58 helpful votes
What a fantastic hotel! Rooms are very large, bed super comfortable, staff is really nice. The bar/restaurant downstairs is AWESOME with really creative Craft Cocktails (thanks Luis!) We used the Valet for our car and that was lightening fast both when we dropped off and when we picked up at 5:45am to make a flight out of SFO. We stayed here because we had a show at the Great American Music Hall and it was an 11 minute walk. I saw some reviews complaining about the location/homeless people.... not sure what to say about that, don't come to San Francisco I guess (or any other major city.) Yes parking is expensive but again, you are in the city, that is what it costs and at least your car is parked safely by them! We loved this hotel and will stay here again for sure next time we are going to Great American Music Hall.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EJ Varela, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Dear 324mariahb, Thank you for your time and feedback! We are pleased to know you enjoyed our staff service during your stay. We take pride on maintaining our genuine personality and team atmosphere to exceed your expectations and provide you with a great stay experience with us at Hotel Adagio. We look forward to welcome you back next time you visit San Francisco! Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$209 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adagio san francisco, hotel adagio san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Downtown / Theater District / Lower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Magic Theater (0.08 miles), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.3 miles), and San Francisco Playhouse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapisara Eatery, Liholiho Yacht Club, and Tacorea.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.