We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Free Valet Parking Package
Expedia.com
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Algotels
$172
View deal
Hotels.com$209
Official Site$209
Trip.com$214
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2560)
360
Panoramas (37)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#13 of 244 hotels in San Francisco
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Located in the heart of San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf, Argonaut Hotel exudes the true essence of a boutique hotel. With a name like the Argonaut, it's impossible not to speak of this hotel in grand, almost legendary terms. Inspired by the Greek legend and Gold Rush-era adventurers, it's one of those rare places in San Francisco that truly merits a term like iconic. Located in the historic Haslett Warehouse, the Argonaut's home is a grand building built in 1907 of exposed brick, Douglas Fir beams and so much seaside character; you feel as though you can almost reach out and touch the colorful Barbary Coast past here.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Mini golf
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Free Valet Parking Package
7603Reviews132Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,872
  • 1,993
  • 476
  • 183
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rww1212 wrote a review Today
2 contributions
We wanted to be close to the warf and the Argonaut Hotel certainly filled met that wish. Cleanliness and attention to detail were very evident in all areas of the facility. Historic building with modern amenities. Thumbs up to the staff. Cheers CHEERS
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
StevieT2888 wrote a review Aug 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom19 contributions24 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Lovely hotel, such a great location and so easy to get to pier 39 or catch a tram into town. Loved our room which looked out over to the Golden Gate Bridge and was very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A great experience to have on our first part of mine and my wife’s honeymoon. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
11 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefan Muhle, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded Aug 6, 2022
StevieT288, Fist of all - congrats on your nuptials! Secondly, thank you so very much for your brilliant review. It was a true pleasure accommodating you at the Argonaut Hotel. We are genuinely delighted that we exceeded your expectations and helped to kick off your honeymoon in style! Wishing you safe travels and all the best for many years to come, Stefan Műhle VP, Regional Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaclyn C wrote a review Today
Ringwood, New Jersey8 contributions7 helpful votes
awesome hotel, super dog friendly, and the people are great. I left the fairmont SF to come here, and was extremely happy with the swap. Will return if I have the chance. Blue Mermaid is a good value for your money. The hotel itself is very cool, brick work, nautical, great location for walking the main road and good views from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Culture83728 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
You cant beat the location, however resort fee is unacceptable especailly when i wasnt informed upfront. Parking is not avaiable and extremely expensive. Carpets need cleaning and bathroom needs update
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded today
Hi there, Thank you for the review and I am happy to see that you found our location to be fantastic, though I wish you enjoyed the rest of your stay as much as you did our location. Based on the hotel survey you completed, I can see you booked through Agoda, and I know they do a good job to disclose the amenity fee so I am unsure of where the surprise came from. We guarantee parking availability for hotel guests and are always happy to offer more cost effective options if our onsite and secure valet is not quite the right fit. Thanks again and I hope the rest of your travels were well spent. Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KFreeman87 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wrexham, United Kingdom66 contributions47 helpful votes
We booked this hotel as we felt the location felt safer than around union square as we were so glad we did. It’s a beautiful hotel, perfect location by the tram turnaround and close to some lovely restaurants. The hotel was very clean, friendly staff and the bed was so comfy! Loved you could get water whenever you needed from reception and the bedroom had lots of useful items including an umbrella to borrow. If we come back to San Francisco we would 100% book to come back. Thank you for a great trip!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi there, Thank you for spending your holiday with us and I am thrilled to see we made for a memorable stay! Fisherman's Wharf is definitely one of the safest neighborhoods in SF, and if you wanted to see the sights in Union Square, its a quick Cable Car trip across the street from us for a day visit. I am grateful to know our team took amazing care of you and that you found our hotel to be clean - two things that are always top of mind for us at the Argonaut! I look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you Stateside and thanks again! Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crystaljean27 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Love that this is at the end of the warf where it’s not as loud. Service if very kind and helpful. My family loved the stay. Only downfall for me was the bed was a little hard for my liking, I personally prefer a really soft mattress, but other than that the blankets and pillows were great
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Crystal, Thank you for the 5 star review and I am thrilled to see our team took great care of you and that you enjoyed our slice of the Wharf. Its definitely a classier vibe on the Ghirardelli Square side as opposed to Pier 39, with a nice mix of boutiques and restaurants that locals visit, not to mention the Cable Car turnaround right across the street from us. Next time you come to visit us, please let us know and we would be happy to add a memory foam topper to your bed to make for a softer sleep. Thanks again, and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Argonaut! Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah R wrote a review Nov 2022
United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
Very comfortable room but overall we felt we were constantly being tricked on the money side - $30 per day compulsory amenity fee for things you would normnally take as base hotel service, 7% added to restaurant fee for hotel guests to cover min wage, endless taxes that are a mystery to a British person, min 20% tip expected in the restaurant. No expanation of hotel facilities (apparently there was a fitness centre according to their post stay survey). Variable quality in the hotel restaurant and not a great selection of restaurants & bars close by. Very good location for the Maritime National Park, buses & cable car. Very pleasant and helpful hotel lobby staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi there, Thank you for the review and I am pleased to see our team was friendly and helpful. All taxes and fees are disclosed and included in the total cost when booking a room with us so there aren't any surprises when arriving to the hotel, if something was missed I would be happy to address it directly with you. Regarding the 7% fee specific to the restaurant, its standard in SF restaurants to see this added as it pays for the employee benefits. Its something that is unique to the City and helps support and take care of all restaurant workers. I do appreciate you spending your holiday with us and I hope the rest of your travels Stateside went well. Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kcblanton77 wrote a review Nov 2022
Zebulon, Georgia28 contributions33 helpful votes
Fabulous location. Clean and neat hotel. I would stay here again. Beware of extra charges = resort fee and 85 for parking with parking tax. Instead of feeling like they nickel and dime you, I wish the extra charges were included in the nightly rate as a total.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi there, Thank you for the review and I am pleased to see you found our location to be great and our hotel to be clean. We have put extra emphasis on our attention to cleanliness to ensure we provide a safe environment to our guests as well as our team. I am sorry if any taxes or fees came as a surprise, everything we charge is listed in the total cost prior to booking so we don't catch any of our guests off guard. Thanks again, and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Argonaut. Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana H wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions
We booked a VERY expensive SUITE in this hotel WAAAY in advance and requested the top floor for a view of Alcatraz, but were put on the lowest floor, 2nd floor even if we went there at earliest check-in time of 3pm. Upon entering the room we were greeted with a VERY STRONG MUSTY ODOR as if the room hadnt been used for YEARS. We asked the front desk to put us on the top floor (4th) floor which we had requested and she said nope. We asked her to have the strong musty odor fixed in our room and she said she was going to have someone look into it. Nope. She never sent anyone and it Never got fixed. The room decor is VERY OLD and needs remodeling. The musty smell comes from the very old carpets which they could have replaced during the 2 year covid lockdown. The wall paper is creepy octopus all over the walls makes it feel like the octopus is all over you. The shower and vanity are VERY OLD tiles. The couch and pillows in the livingroom were nice as well as the flat screen TV in the livingroom and bedroom. The window shutters were difficult to open because they put furniture in the way(You have to move furniture out of the way). They were heavy to move. They had a small CHEAP-Looking diningtable. I was hoping for a nicer one since they charge so much for this room. We had Thanksgiving dinner in their restaurant and my daughter ordered a $75 Thanksgiving dinner which they served to her COLD. We asked them to heat it up which they did. Food wasn't great but it was super expensive!! Luckily Im a vegetarian and didnt eat much. We tipped them 20% anyway despite their bad service. Our booking was for 4 adults but when we were ready to go to sleep we couldn't find 2 extra pillows/blankets ANYWHERE. They only had pillows/blankets for 2. We called front desk and asked for assistance (same moody lady answered). We waited for @45 minutes and our bedding still hadn't arrived so we called again. I was angry this time and the guy delivered the bedings immediately. No, its not over. The next day, we were RUDELY AWAKENED at 10am by A VERY LOUD OBNOXIOUS NONSTOP RINGING OF the hotel phone. I was in a deep sleep after taking an early morning walk and going back to sleep. I answered and the front desk guy said he was looking for 2 bowls that a prior guest said he had left behind. He said the cleaners before us didnt see it but maybe we did. HUH? You dont trust your cleaners? Of course, there were no such bowls in our room and I was very upset why he woke us up on our relax day over 2 bowls that their cleaners said werent there. I called the manager and she made lots of excuses for their low par musty hotel, terrible service. She ended up paying for our dinner tab of $200. Thanks for ruining our family holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lower your expectations... MUSTY OLD Suites. We discovered a SUPER Breakfast place couple blocks...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I am sorry to see you had a disappointing stay with us. I appreciate knowing my manager tried to make things right by refunding your full dinner bill, if things go wrong we do our best to fix them. I understand hotels are a personal preference and we cannot make everyone happy. Our suites are our most booked room type and continually receive TLC from our engineering and housekeeping team, musty smells is not a complaint we have received in the past. I would hope future guests would look towards our overall Traveler Ranking here at #13 along with our quantity of 5 star reviews and know that we just weren't the right fit for you as a traveler. I trust the rest of your holiday weekend was well spent and again my apologies. Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PWD40 wrote a review Nov 2022
Winchester, United Kingdom94 contributions100 helpful votes
We chose the Argonaut Hotel for a number of reasons when looking to stay in San Francisco. The reviews on trip advisor were great, the location looked perfect and the room rate was good compared to other hotels in the city. We ended up staying an extra night as we liked the hotel so much and there was lots to do. The location was perfect to walk to Pier 39, and to the Alcatraz cruises. There were plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, and the bike hire place was also really close to be able to collect a bike and cycle over the Golden Gate Bridge. The hotel was perfect, the staff really friendly and welcoming, the room was a good size and we opted for a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge that didn't disappoint. There is a nice bar/restaurant on site, the Blue Mermaid and although we didn't eat there the food looked good, and the drinks and staff were great. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, value and staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Roumph, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thank you for the review and I appreciate you spending your holiday with us at the Argonaut. It looks like you took full advantage of our location too, there are some many things to do within walking distance and its pretty memorable being a short bike ride away and getting to cross the Golden Gate Bridge. I am grateful for the recommendation towards future travelers and I hope the rest of your time Stateside was well spent. Tony Roumph Area Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kimpton san francisco, argonaut hotel san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoFisherman’s Wharf
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARGONAUT HOTEL $168 ($̶2̶8̶2̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - San Francisco, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Argonaut Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Argonaut Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Fisherman's Wharf (0.3 miles), Musee Mecanique (0.3 miles), and San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Argonaut Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Argonaut Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Argonaut Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Argonaut Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Argonaut Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eight Am, Norman's Ice Cream and Freezes, and The Baked Bear.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Argonaut Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Argonaut Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Argonaut Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Argonaut Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Argonaut Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Indonesian, Filipino, and Nepali.