We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Share
Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“common room”(27 reviews)
“pb j”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOKDIRECT-SAVE $3/NIGHT
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOKDIRECT-SAVE $3/NIGHT
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
394
60
17
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
394
60
17
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomflights of stairspb jquiet hoursbunk bedsother guestsfelt like homethe financial districtdorm roomfourth floorclose to public transportfull kitchenbart stationhome away from homeenjoyed my staylocation is greatstay in san francisco
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 486 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Took me ages to arrive at reception with all my luggage, the concierge was very rude and when I finally asked for my bed to sleep (I was exhausted) he mentioned was a mistake in his system and my booking was only for one night....More

Thank bertha cecilia H
Property's Favorite Review
Reviewed November 11, 2017

Had this place recommended to my by a friend, and price was good so I thought I'd try it. The people here are so incredibly friendly and welcoming, facilities were good and atmosphere was relaxed and cheerful. Stayed in one of the quiet dorms (on...More

Thank Steph X
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's everything you need (clean, cheap, good location) but it also has that thing that many others don't: it is really easy to make friends there. There is a genuine good vibe, like being at home with your roommates in SF

1  Thank mercedesterragno
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel staff and guests were all very nice, it's a fun friendly atmosphere. There are lots of plugs to charge your phone, free food/ drinks, toiletries etc which is very nice considering the cheap price.I was even rescued from a homeless person late at...More

Thank Chris C
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

I have been visiting my HD office at 600 California street many time. That’s the reason why I always staying this place. First, it’s a heart of Financial district walkable to my office and incredible restaurant! Second, the staff are super friendly! even they were...More

Thank chartzter
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$42 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style
#1 Budget Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Quirky Hotels Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Charming Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Quaint Hotel in San Francisco
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$42 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style
#1 Budget Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Quirky Hotels Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Charming Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Quaint Hotel in San Francisco
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
April 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
June 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShelbyTucker | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"It's a hostel, very comfortable bunks with linens supplied. They have a jar of earplugs, which I elected..."
Read review
"Floors other than the one on the same floor as the lobby would be quieter. The lobby floor is quiet during..."
Read review
"Try the free PB&J!"
Read review
"There is a no noise policy past 12am, so even if you book a "social" dorm, you will still get quiet..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing