We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Share
680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
Priceline
CheapTickets
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Updated 10/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 78 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
442Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
140Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
579Reviews16Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 470
  • 71
  • 20
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Escape31052222494 wrote a review Dec 3
1 contribution
I only stayed one night but I felt like a part of the community right away. Everyone was friendly and I was invited to the daily event. Everything I needed was provided, including towels, breakfast, a lock, & earplugs. I never thought I could afford to travel in this city but I was so wrong! I can't wait to go back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Izzy Davies wrote a review Aug 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom12 contributions
This hostel is a traveller's dream! The staff are so friendly and go above and beyond, always recommending and/or organising and joining in on events both in and out of the hostel (e.g. Taco Tuesday, karaoke night, rooftop BBQ), and even sometimes baking delicious banana bread for everyone. The kitchen is well equipped and always clean (even features a blender!) and they even provide free ramen and peanut butter & jelly sandwiches. The location is also great for seeing lots of the touristy areas of SF, and well connected via public transport (it's less than a 10 min walk from the BART station so really easy to get to and from the airport). Overall, the hostel is great for socialising and meeting people and has a really lovely friendly, community feel. I had the best time and would recommend to anyone who's looking to explore the city and make new friends. Thank you Steve, Alvaro, Victoria and Assad for making my visit so great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bobby Dyer, Owner at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Sep 2, 2021
We loved having you stay with and we're glad that you loved the community! We work hard to make sure everyone has a great time, so it's nice to hear that you enjoyed everything so much! Thanks for the kind words and best of luck with your studies! Until next time. Cheers!!
Read more
John E wrote a review Apr 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom68 contributions75 helpful votes
Great location - easy walk from the main shopping area/ centre of the city. So was easy to access via the train from the airport. So many convenience stores, restaurants & takeaways just minutes away. Friendly & helpful staff - good rooms which made it easy to get a good nights sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Nemire, Other at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Oct 8, 2020
We're glad you were able to take advantage of our amazing location! We are also a 35 minute ride from the SFO Airport on the BART train, which is still running in COVID so it makes it easy. We hope you were able to use our WhatsApp group with recommendations around the city and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Daoudooms wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Dear Pacific Tradewinds Hostel, I am very disappointed with your cancelation policy, especially in this time of the coronavirus pandemic. Indeed, you are the only hostel I booked that refused to refund my booking. I had to cancel my booking, because of the lockdown due to the Covid-19. I asked for a refund of my booking, but you denied it arguing that I did not choose the insurance for canceling when I booked my ticket. Who could imagine that the coronavirus would appear and spread around the world when I did my booking a few months ago? You are in your rights, but I would have expected another attitude in this troubled time where we are all confronted in the same situation. But I guess that business is business whatever are the circumstances for you. I have a double sanction: all my trip in SF is canceled and I cannot be refunded, at least partly, by your hostel. David
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Overby, General Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Hello, David. My name is Darren and I'm the owner of Pacific Tradewinds Hostel. I apologize if there has been some sort of misunderstanding. We have absolutely been issuing many, many refunds under the Covid-19 circumstances. We have been swamped with so many refund requests ($10's of thousands of dollars) we are not even sure if our small hostel will survive our losses. And, yet we still continue to offer individual refunds. Please check the modifications to our cancellation policy we promoting in a video on the front page of our website then email the hostel and ask that your email be forwarded to me so I can look into this matter and issue whatever refund you are due.
Read more
AKS wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
A lifelong bay native and one time SF resident I stayed here to try another way to enjoy the city from a different perspective . What I found is a small gem perfect for visitors and checks all the boxes. The digs: Superb . Clean rooms. Comfortable solid bunks . Clean and Functional but small shared bathroom space. Stocked kitchen for cooking meals. Social space with games and books. The location: Choice. In the financial district about 10minute walk from Montgomery BART, a little quiet at night but also safe. Easy access to major tourist points along Embarcadero and Downtown. Quick walk for access to BART and Muni. The peeps: Awesome. Fun and happy people, engaging social atmosphere, great hostel crew that goes out of their way to make people feel welcome and included.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica N, Community Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Hi!! You were so much fun!! We generally don't accept Bay Area residents, but as you were traveling through for a short period of time it was okay. We're glad you liked our safe and quiet neighborhood of Chinatown - we love it too! Glad you liked the room. Our beds are sturdy steel and designed not to make noise when people move around at night. Thanks for joining our common room festivities and we hope to see you again soon! <3
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific tradewinds hotel san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoChinatown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game San Francisco (0.3 miles), EscapeSF (0.02 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quince, Trestle, and Roka Akor - San Francisco.
Are there any historical sites close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.5 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.5 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.3 miles).