We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Share
680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Lol.travel
Booking.com
FindHotel
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (9)

About

#2 of 75 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
456Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
139Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
578Reviews16Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 469
  • 71
  • 20
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John E wrote a review Apr 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom69 contributions33 helpful votes
Great location - easy walk from the main shopping area/ centre of the city. So was easy to access via the train from the airport. So many convenience stores, restaurants & takeaways just minutes away. Friendly & helpful staff - good rooms which made it easy to get a good nights sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Daoudooms wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Dear Pacific Tradewinds Hostel, I am very disappointed with your cancelation policy, especially in this time of the coronavirus pandemic. Indeed, you are the only hostel I booked that refused to refund my booking. I had to cancel my booking, because of the lockdown due to the Covid-19. I asked for a refund of my booking, but you denied it arguing that I did not choose the insurance for canceling when I booked my ticket. Who could imagine that the coronavirus would appear and spread around the world when I did my booking a few months ago? You are in your rights, but I would have expected another attitude in this troubled time where we are all confronted in the same situation. But I guess that business is business whatever are the circumstances for you. I have a double sanction: all my trip in SF is canceled and I cannot be refunded, at least partly, by your hostel. David
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Overby, General Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Hello, David. My name is Darren and I'm the owner of Pacific Tradewinds Hostel. I apologize if there has been some sort of misunderstanding. We have absolutely been issuing many, many refunds under the Covid-19 circumstances. We have been swamped with so many refund requests ($10's of thousands of dollars) we are not even sure if our small hostel will survive our losses. And, yet we still continue to offer individual refunds. Please check the modifications to our cancellation policy we promoting in a video on the front page of our website then email the hostel and ask that your email be forwarded to me so I can look into this matter and issue whatever refund you are due.
Read more
AKS wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
A lifelong bay native and one time SF resident I stayed here to try another way to enjoy the city from a different perspective . What I found is a small gem perfect for visitors and checks all the boxes. The digs: Superb . Clean rooms. Comfortable solid bunks . Clean and Functional but small shared bathroom space. Stocked kitchen for cooking meals. Social space with games and books. The location: Choice. In the financial district about 10minute walk from Montgomery BART, a little quiet at night but also safe. Easy access to major tourist points along Embarcadero and Downtown. Quick walk for access to BART and Muni. The peeps: Awesome. Fun and happy people, engaging social atmosphere, great hostel crew that goes out of their way to make people feel welcome and included.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica N, Community Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Hi!! You were so much fun!! We generally don't accept Bay Area residents, but as you were traveling through for a short period of time it was okay. We're glad you liked our safe and quiet neighborhood of Chinatown - we love it too! Glad you liked the room. Our beds are sturdy steel and designed not to make noise when people move around at night. Thanks for joining our common room festivities and we hope to see you again soon! <3
Read more
Oscar Manjerovic wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We could not have had a better time at the hostel. They were incredibly accommodating in every way. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The environment made us feel welcomed and invited to talk with other guests. We definitely would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica N, Community Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
We loved having you guys!! We try to be as social as possible for guests who want to participate, with our events board, events in the hostel like community dinners, and our guests-only WhatsApp group where we post event suggestions. We're glad you were able to take advantage of our awesome location - right between Chinatown and North Beach! Definitely stay with us again if you're back in San Francisco! Safe travels!
Read more
lpd811 wrote a review Jan 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania7 contributions1 helpful vote
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is a great place to stay on a budget in SF. The beds were comfortable and the location felt very safe. It was also central to many of the popular attractions in San Francisco. There are many events planned throughout the week (tours, meals, shows) and opportunities to get to know the other travelers. The bathroom and kitchen area are clean and spacious, and they also provide free ramen and peanut butter and jelly. If you need help navigating San Francisco, the front desk staff is very friendly and eager to help. Would definitely recommend, especially for travelers looking to make friends in the process!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica N, Community Manager at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Yay! We're glad you like our awesome location, right in the middle of Chinatown and North Beach! We know what it's like to be traveling on a budget, so we love providing free ramen, coffee, tea and PB&J sandwiches to our guests! We're glad you were able to take advantage of our events we advertise in our WhatsApp group and the reception board! We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city and safe travels!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific tradewinds hotel san francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoChinatown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game San Francisco (0.3 miles), City Lights Booksellers (0.3 miles), and EscapeSF (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quince, Trestle, and Tadich Grill.
Are there any historical sites close to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.5 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.5 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.3 miles).