We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostelling International- San Francisco\/ Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 527: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Probably not the best HI I have stayed in, but a nice enough place. The hostel is fairly centrally located with bus, train and cable car stops nearby. Plenty of shops and restaurants to chose from, all within a few minutes walk. The check in staff seemed lovely and helpful but the maintenance and housekeeping staff didn't seem to understand...

2Thank Emily H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 3, 2015

I stayed at a number of H.I's during my time in the US and this one was lovely. The location was great and their facilities were absolutely fantastic and wonderfully unique. It's a great place to explore San Francisco from and it's close to public transport. My only grievance with this hostel is that when I booked my stay I...

Thank Sarah H
HISFDowntown, Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities and you found the downtown location convenient. The issue with the co-ed space really concerns me: our policy is to never move guests booked in a gender-specific dorm to the co-ed dorm (unless the guest specifically requests to do so), for obvious reasons. If this was a mistake on the...

Reviewed January 30, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in early January for 5 nights. The hostel is in a great location. Close to the cable cars, shopping union square, and restaurants. Its also located directly across from car hire companies so handy for anybody interested in that ;) The Hostel itself is basic but does the job. The only big negative about...

Thank Shauna G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 23, 2015

This hostel is so centrally located, it is about 2 blocks away from the Bart and Muni and pretty much in the centre of the shopping district (Macys, Sephora and major clothing companies) are all within a few blocks and a large CVS is also within a few blocks. Breakfast is included but it's nothing fancy, just bagels with cream...

Thank lacouronne
Karlskrona, Sweden
Reviewed January 20, 2015

This hostel is average.We got a private room, not on the streetside so not noisy at nights. The beds and the bathrom were okey although the air was humid and the towels smelled chlorine. Cleaning was good, new towels every second day. The whole hostel had a creepy smell that they tried to hide in the kitchen by opening the...

1Thank Chaselle
Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

First the positive: great location and staff. Unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positives by far. As some other reviewers have mentioned street noise is an issue. Mason is a street with lots of activity. The noise is partly coming from the traffic and partly fron the people that live on the streets. Yep, there are lots of homeless people in...

Thank Gianluca B
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed January 5, 2015

On the Hostel website, they had stated a link with Lorries transport service at a rate of 14$ per person.Booked Lorrie's shuttle which was recommended by the hostel and had paid full but at 1am, Lorrie's shuttle failed to turn up at the airport. I made a call to the hostel lobby after waiting for 1.5 hours and spoke with...

3Thank Kiran0905
HISFDowntown, Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Kiran, I am very disappointed to hear about the difficulties which you had in getting to our property and the poor reception and assistance you recieved at our facility. The described actions of the staff member you mentioned not only go against the training which our staff recieve, they also undermine the good work and positive spirit of our...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed January 1, 2015

+ The hotel is perfectly located(next to the union square). The room is simple but clean. There is a small hairdryer available. The wifi signal was pretty good in the room. The breakfast if too simple though: some confiture, any kind of white cheese, bagels, butter, coffee, tea, apples and oatmeal, that's it. You can also cook there yourself if...

1Thank Kristina B
Concord, California
Reviewed December 30, 2014

Clean atmosphere including rooms, warm staff, nice kitchen, decent breakfast, nice rooms (especially if you have a bathroom in your room), clean communal bathrooms, nice lounge areas, nice TV room, centrally located (near restaurants, shops, Metro, Muni, Starbucks, drug stores and more) and friendly guests.

Thank AnonymousPurveyor
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed December 29, 2014

This is a huge and clean hostel. My friend and I stayed at a four-bed dorm for three nights and it was great. fast wifi access everywhere in the hostel and there's a charging outlet right beside the bed. The design is pretty user friendly and the breakfast is nice as well. the only bad thing is that the street...

Thank chianhenglee
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

262 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (241)
Room/Suite (71)
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Dining (21)
Bathroom (16)
View from Room (5)
Family/Play Areas (6)
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (15)

Staying in Union Square

Neighborhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theaters in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $63 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and other travelers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“315 is quieter.. the hostel is on a corner of a busy intersection so there is traffic.”
Love2travelGuelph, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
“"Rooms on those dorm rooms are quieter and easier than ever."”
DennisAlabaso, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Queen room with private ensuite bathroom if you can!”
DJSHOWBOY, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Far back corners of upper floors have a bathtub. Handicap accessible .”
Taniatheawesome, Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
“City view rooms are loud. Use the freely supplied earplugs and you'll sleep well.”
513iang, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question