We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Francisco

Van Ness Inn Hotel

Save
2850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-1426
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$72
Trip.com
Hotels.com$72
Expedia.com$72
eDreams$72
Hotwire.com$72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (101)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (9)

About

#217 of 246 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Russian Hill
Russian Hill has evolved into a chic residential neighborhood with outstanding views from every corner. Combined with several great cafes, restaurants, antique shops and boutiques, it’s easy to see why any visitor would gladly leave their heart in San Francisco. Cars line up day after day to drive down Lombard Street, the “crookedest” street in the world, and make the slow creep downhill past charming period homes. Polk Street is the main drag in this neighborhood, where you will find trendy bars, cafes and shops populated with locals, but for one of the most charming rides in the city, grab a cable car heading up and down Hyde Street.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
290Reviews3Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 71
  • 78
  • 38
  • 94
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The room me and my friend stayed in wasn’t very clean. The lamp was broken and some stuff was very outdated. The sheets also didn’t smell clean. I was really disappointed and will not be staying there again.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Van Ness Inn Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Klynn13, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your response. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the room immaculate. We will definitely ensure that cleanliness is properly ensured in all the rooms. Also, we will look into the issue with the amenities and replace or repair them. Wish you'd told this to us earlier which, in turn, would have enabled us to shift you to a better room. Please know that we are always there to assist you with your needs. We request you to give us a second chance to allow us to restore your faith in our hospitality and hotel! Best Regards, Vanness Inn, Customer Care Team
Read more
The staff were nice, breakfast a bit little. Vending machine present. Rooms were clean but very dated. Walking distance from everything. We would stay again because it was inexpensive and ok for get away
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Van Ness Inn Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi richcelena, Thank you for your response. We are glad that you liked the staff service and found the rooms immaculate. Thank you for appreciating the location too. Also, we have noted your feedback regarding the breakfast and room update and will surely pass it to the management. We are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Best Regards, Vanness Inn, Customer Care Team
Read more
The hotel was conveniently located downtown within walking distance of many tourist locations (about a mile from pier39, minutes from Lubard street) The room was comfortable and decent sized. The door to my room was hard to close though it really had to slammed to latch closed. Also there was not a working ice machine at the hotel
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Van Ness Inn Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2019
Dear briani2703, Thank you for your response. We are glad that you found the location convenient and room comfortable. However, we are sorry about the situation with the door. We will surely look into it. Again, we have noted your feedback regarding the working ice machine and will pass it to the management. We hope to provide you with a more comfortable and convenient stay in the future! Best Regards, Vanness Inn, Customer Care Team
Read more
I booked my room on line. I choose this hotel because it said "Free Parking" and breakfast included. It was also supposedly close to walk to the Hot Spots. I don't know about you, but for me a 9 min drive, does NOT equal a 10 min walk. Anyways, so I go to check in, and the woman has me a paper and says she needs my plate number, so I walk out to get it, and I turn around, and she has followed me out to my car. I come back in, and she takes my information and charges my credit card. I look and she has charged me $25. MORE than my reservation was. I asked her why. She said that I could see it on my receipt when I checked out. I told her NO, I wanted to know why now. She proceeds to tell me she saw I had 3 people in MY CAR, and I only paid for 2. So I tell her there are only 2 of us staying. She said she didn't believe me. So I asked her again... "You are charging me for an additional person because my daughter has her friend in the car?" She said YES. So needless to say, I had her cancel our reservation. Their "Free Parking" is a joke. They have approximately 2 rooms for each parking spot, so you have to double park, and leave your keys with them. The woman at the counter was very rude and unsociable. (BTW, we ended up staying with my daughters friend, who was in the cars, family)
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Van Ness Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 25, 2019
Hi Dyana, Thank you for voicing your concern to her. We are extremely sorry to hear that you left without a first-rate experience and this is something that we need to consider seriously. First of all, we are sorry for charging you an additional amount. However, there are certain rules that we have to follow in keeping up with the regulations and policies. Our staff was doing exactly that but we apologize profusely if their behavior came across as a little unprofessional while doing so. But we request you to consider this as an uncommon instance as we do not accept any sort of unprofessional or rude behavior with the customers. We will also have a word with our staff regarding this and we equally assure you that this will clear all the misunderstandings without leaving any room for repetition in the future. Also, we are sorry if the information was conveyed to you in the wrong way. We will be more careful about it the next time. We are extremely sorry for all our shortcomings. However, we request you to give us another chance to redeem ourselves! Best Regards, Vanness Inn, Customer Care Team
Read more
Desk clerk extorted an extra $30 from us for 'extra car parking' when we stayed here during the PG&E region-wide power outage in the Bay Area. Only 2 of our family of 4 stayed overnight at this hotel. But on the second day, since there was no power and no hot water at our home across the bridge, two other family members drove over to the hotel for a shower and lunch. When we returned from lunch, our room key didn't work. We went to the front desk, and the young lady clerk said we must pay $30 dollars for our extra car parking and extra person using the room. By the way, we reserved the room to have 2 queen beds given that as many as 4 people may need to stay during the outage. We did not even have the extra car parked in the hotel lot when we all went out to lunch. We explained our predicament, but the lady clerk was unapologetic and completely unsympathetic and would not issue a working room key unless we paid. So we forked over the $30 under duress, but once the fires and power outage is over, we will certainly report this establishment to the authorities for gouging customers after a State wide emergency had been declared yesterday. I believe this must be illegal, not mention immoral. Unbelievable that people do this to other people in a time of area wide crisis and hardship.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Van Ness Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 22, 2019
Dear guest, We are disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first rate experience. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay. We sincerely apologize that our hospitality and attention to details left something to be desired, this is very unlike us. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Best Regards, Vanness Inn, Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
america`s best inn san francisco hotel san francisco, best inn san francisco, san francisco best inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
America's Best Inn San Francisco
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoRussian Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Van Ness Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lombard Street (0.3 miles), Russian Hill (0.10 miles), and Ghirardelli Square (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leopold's, The Original Ghirardelli Chocolate Manufactory, and The New Spot On Polk.
Are there any historical sites close to Van Ness Inn Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (1.7 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (3.2 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (1.0 miles).
Is Van Ness Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.