We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

da Vinci Villa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
da Vinci Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 731: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent three nights in the Da Vinci. The location is great as many major sights are within walking distance and the nearby selection of restaurants are absolutely fantastic. In fact we had three sensational meals all within five minutes of the hotel. The room itself was basic. We are a family of 5, and while the hotel provided adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danir180
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during our vacation to SF. It was a good 20 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We were close to Lombard St. There are bus stops all around and accessible restaurants. It was clean. Good breakfast buffet which opens at 7am. Not bad prices of you go thru a third party. Parking available. Pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny M
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear Jenny M, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted that our location was ideal for your and your family exploring the city and our staff provided great service throughout your visit. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with our team and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. stayed with the family for 1 week, felt safe. booked the hotel after reading the reviews online and I am glad that it didn't disappointed me. Very close to the Fisherman's Wharf(10 min walk). Rooms were clean and service was great. Enjoyed the breakfast, would have loved it more if they can offer some variety on alternate days(breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hariprasad A
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear Hariprasad A, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is always exciting to receive such wonderful feedback from our guests! We are so happy that da Vinci Villa was your best choice for your trip in San Francisco and our staff made your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your suggestion on breakfast. We actually did...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located and a good walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard street which is famous for a steep, one-block section with eight hairpin turns. Clean and pleasant rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suebR4262ZI
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear suebR4262ZI, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team is so happy to hear that you had a a very pleasant and comfortable stay at da Vinci Villa. I am glad that you felt our location was ideal for you exploring the bay. I personally enjoy walking to San Francisco Maritime National Historical...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Toilet flushing handle and shower head is broken. Found a blue hair in the shower. Great location, but this hotel is outdated. Bathroom door opens half way and hits the bed. Review says 3 1/2 star, I think it's a 2.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fengsta
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear fengsta, Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our Engineering department and Housekeeping department and I assure you that our rooms will be maintained and cleaned to our highest...

Reviewed December 7, 2016

It's the third time we stay in this hotel very well situated; Swimming pool very pleasant with warm water. All the staff is friendly with a special mention for the new breakfast manager. He wellcomes people in a very friendly manner, keeps an eye on all, cleans tables and the breakfast is now upgraded. Thank you to him.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W4722IIpaulb
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear W4722IIpaulb, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your returning stay and greatly appreciate your loyalty! It is always wonderful to receive recognition from our guests for the effort we put in to improve service and products. I am glad that you noticed the upgrade in breakfast. We did recently upgrade our breakfast with additional healthy breakfast items...

Kansas City, MO
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting downtown San Francisco and we were less then pleased with the experience. The location was ok, we walked round trip to and from Chinatown and the Wharf and had wished we stayed somewhere a little closer to the pier. The room was small but not miserable, it just felt cheap and dingy. After...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawaiitraveler2011
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear hawaiitraveler2011, Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. We sincerely apologize for the level of service you received from our team and we did not meet your expectations and let you down. I promise you that we will address this issue with our Housekeeping team and ensure our rooms are...

Reviewed November 30, 2016

We booked our hotel through a travel agent, on arrival staff were unhelpful and unwelcoming. Our room was on the second floor with our bed positioned right next to the elevator, we could hear it all night it also shook the room, along with people above us stomping around until early hours of the night which was frustrating as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel M
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. On behalf of my team, I want to sincerely apologize for any of the products and service you experienced over your stay that did not meet your expectations. We could have absolutely accommodated your family's early breakfast need. On the special request like this, we normally would...

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 28, 2016

I spent 4 nights for a weekly trip to San Francisco and chose the da Vinci Villa (DVV) due to its location closer to Fisherman's Wharf, even though my employer is downtown. It was only 1.3 mile walk, which is great. I found DVV to be quite noisy at night and but opted to leave window open at night (I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robm99x
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear robm99x, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that our location was ideal and convenient for your business trip. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive quality rest due to the noise. We would have absolutely offered you a different room if we were aware of this...

Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewed November 15, 2016

After staying in several hotel during our round-trip in California, San Francisco was the last stop and we were really excited about visiting this famous city ! The city itself and its harbour were absolutely as we have expected - beautiful. The Hotel da Vinci Villa is in urgent need of full refurbishment ... the access from the Reception to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Regina L
DVVManager, Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this review

Dear Regina, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement and would like to let you know that we have been scheduled projects to update rooms, public area, elevators as well as the breakfast. We are confident the enhancements will...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Florentina Suite (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Premium Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Premium King Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Second Premium King Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
517 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#107 of 230 in San Francisco
1,079 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
2,226 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Russian Hill

Neighborhood Profile
Russian Hill
Russian Hill has evolved into a chic residential neighborhood with outstanding views from every corner. Combined with several great cafes, restaurants, antique shops and boutiques, it’s easy to see why any visitor would gladly leave their heart in San Francisco. Cars line up day after day to drive down Lombard Street, the “crookedest” street in the world, and make the slow creep downhill past charming period homes. Polk Street is the main drag in this neighborhood, where you will find trendy bars, cafes and shops populated with locals, but for one of the most charming rides in the city, grab a cable car heading up and down Hyde Street.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Price Range: $117 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from da Vinci Villa staff and other travelers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from da Vinci Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a room away from the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles danir180, 6 days ago | Read review
“Lift has issues”
 of 5 bubbles suebR4262ZI, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor, away from elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room on the "inside" of the villa to dampen traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles robm99x, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor room if you have to stay in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 646reginal, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay