We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

968 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 714: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Picwick Hotel when we were in San Francisco for 9 day, Hotel is very center of the city ; rooms are large and we choosed 2 seperate bed , they were big and very comfortable, Rooms are clean and new , bathroom is very acceptable , However as it is very center of the city and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tula B
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Due to an early morning flight from Boston we arrived 2 hours before check in time. The font desk staff was very accommodating in securing us a room right away and mapping out the local attractions for us The room was clean and in great condition. It afforded us a interesting street view

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawrence s
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us and mentioning Front Desk Staff! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your...

westfield, nj
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here on business this month. I arrive late in the evening. Although the primary sliding doors were locked, the door next to it was open. All these glass doors are visible to the front desk, so I easily got in, and checked in easily. The two elevators were somewhat quick, and there is access to at least the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_bl
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location was good, 1 blok to shopping mall, 4 minutes walk, and Mall conecting to BART statition. Front desk staff( Man) was friendly. Front desk staff (woman) (forget the name a bit big body and long hair) was rude with straight face, very disapointing, when we were re booking this hotel...need improvement how to speak and service guest!!! Elevator was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Widiarto W
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are some undeniable signs that this hotel's glory days are a thing of the way distant past. Somehow, that didn't take away from our experience-- maybe it was the location, maybe it was the decent bed. In terms of value for money, it seems like there are only a few comparable alternatives to the Pickwick. At approx 100 euro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Knew the location would be good but was worried about the hotel. Outcome much better than expected. Rooms on 7th floor were good and not too noisey. No complaints. Obviously not 5 star but nor is the price. Pleasantly surprised

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double room with ensuite. We booked this hotel mainly due to the price and location. We had read some negative reviews that had made us cautious but after staying here we have nothing negative to say. The location was great and we felt safe walking at night around here. It's an easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy-and-Jess-UK
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our location is amazing and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

Reviewed December 19, 2016

Overall our stay at the Pickwick in December was good. The location is great - close to Union Square & Moscone center. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly - Jose at the concierge desk helped us make our shuttle to the airport (they would have left us if he didn't call), and the front desk staff was very accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby F
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about our staff and personally mentioning Jose! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We apologize for the heating as we had a major system breakdown and we spent over $40,000 to repair as fast as we could, and all is working now....

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

As first timers to San Francisco this hotel has helped make our trip. The hotel is super close to union square and many other things. The rooms are clean with a nice feel. The beds are comfortable and the room is spacious. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in San Francisco for good value and good price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eveierogers
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Pickwick hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was old but spacious and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, very short walk to Union Square. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdolan73
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (263)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
409 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
2,230 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 230 in San Francisco
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zelos
Hotel Zelos
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
575 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 230 in San Francisco
758 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Price Range: $146 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher and Quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles 131tulab, 6 days ago | Read review
“The hotel has a bar that has happy hour most evenings with reduced drink prices and small plates meals at the bar(think tapas)”
 of 5 bubbles lawrences658, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you are used to spreading out in the rooms this hotel is not for you .”
 of 5 bubbles S1190ZSsharond, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors not facing the street are less noisy buy the elevators are slow.”
 of 5 bubbles Ostracario, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“I was in 716, at the side. overlooking the air conditioners - noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles cazzij5, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay