We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 720: English reviews
Start your review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
 Click to rate
Thiells
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very old, the elevators do not work well. Nothing worked in our room- the fridge, phone, faucets. I know we were in the city center area but we had roaches in our room. The staff is extremely unfriendly (except for a few members). They never greeted you when entering or existing the hotel, when you did have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiverDanie
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel's location was very nice to travel everywhere in Sanfrancisco. there it was very in downtown so it could take lot of transformations I wanted to go. the hotel is very antique and historical building but cozy to stay there and clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyunju L
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Allen Allgood, Front Office Manager

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay. Rooms are spacious. Very clean. Great location for walking the city and near public transit. Staff knowledgeable of the area. They were courteous and addressed our questions about the city. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STRDAK
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loud room overlooking a busy street. Poor water pressure in shower. Broken door lock that took hours to fix. Hotel cleaning staff that walked in my room at 8am to clean (?). Indifferent front desk staff that I must have walked by 20 times in three days, that never said hello or goodbye or thank you. Good location to market...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeadfirstCreative
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely perfect location 5 mins from the heart of the shopping district. The rooms are old, but pleasant. Sheets and towels are in great condition. Biggest complaint is the indifference by reception staff. Don't acknowledge you on the way in, nor on the way out. Also no good morning when you step out of the elevator in the morning. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelloSAM
Oakdale, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were given a room with two double beds, but because you can't request king or 2 doubles in advance we realized this would be a possibility. The hotel is in a wonderful location -almost next door to the Westfield Mall and very close to Union Square. It has most modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristineH622
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! When you book online, the best rate available is our Run Of The House rooms which comes with a King, Queen, or 2 doubles based on hotel availability. You can reserve a specific room type i.e. Deluxe King or...

Reviewed January 18, 2017

We stayed at Picwick Hotel when we were in San Francisco for 9 day, Hotel is very center of the city ; rooms are large and we choosed 2 seperate bed , they were big and very comfortable, Rooms are clean and new , bathroom is very acceptable , However as it is very center of the city and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tula B
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Due to an early morning flight from Boston we arrived 2 hours before check in time. The font desk staff was very accommodating in securing us a room right away and mapping out the local attractions for us The room was clean and in great condition. It afforded us a interesting street view

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawrence s
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us and mentioning Front Desk Staff! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your...

westfield, nj
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Came here on business this month. I arrive late in the evening. Although the primary sliding doors were locked, the door next to it was open. All these glass doors are visible to the front desk, so I easily got in, and checked in easily. The two elevators were somewhat quick, and there is access to at least the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_bl
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Pickwick Hotel and for taking the time writing this great review about your experience with us! Our team strives to provide a pleasant stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback is helpful in obtaining this goal. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and we...

Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

Location was good, 1 blok to shopping mall, 4 minutes walk, and Mall conecting to BART statition. Front desk staff( Man) was friendly. Front desk staff (woman) (forget the name a bit big body and long hair) was rude with straight face, very disapointing, when we were re booking this hotel...need improvement how to speak and service guest!!! Elevator was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Widiarto W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (263)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
430 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,242 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos
Hotel Zelos
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
734 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#18 of 229 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighborhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighborhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighborhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Price Range: $156 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question
East Aurora, New York
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
over a year ago
East Aurora, New York

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't pay for parking on the premises, there is a parking lot across the street that is a lot cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles RiverDanie, 2 days ago | Read review
“Higher and Quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles 131tulab, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has a bar that has happy hour most evenings with reduced drink prices and small plates meals at the bar(think tapas)”
 of 5 bubbles lawrences658, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“If you are used to spreading out in the rooms this hotel is not for you .”
 of 5 bubbles S1190ZSsharond, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors not facing the street are less noisy buy the elevators are slow.”
 of 5 bubbles Ostracario, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question