We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Orchard Hotel

0.9 miles from San Francisco center
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Special Price
Get 15% OFF + FREE WIFI
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,456: English reviews
Start your review of The Orchard Hotel
 Click to rate
San Jose, CA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In fairness, my roommate would be writing a different review, but here goes. The room booked was for two beds. When we checked in, we were given a suite with one king size bed (which I'm sure was very nice) and a made-up sofa bed (which was not). The hotel was overbooked and unable to accommodate moving us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances L
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

very good, convenient location; hotel rooms are spacious and very clean. Problem with getting enough hot water for shower in the morning. When we checked out another guest was issuing the same complaint about the hot water. It must be a frequent problem because the front desk receptionist expressed very little concern or sympathy, merely saying that she would pass...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lgs515
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I couldn't be more pleased that you liked our room for its spaciousness and its location! I can understand how that would be frustrating if you didn't get a hot shower, and please know that it is not the norm for us. Thanks for giving us your feedback, because it's always valued. Best regards, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Mendon, New York, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the staff were friendly. The location was perfect for us to use BART from the airport and to walk around the city. Many restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, Deb! See you again next time. All the best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Oakland, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are a small non-profit based in Oakland, CA. We have held our Board of Directors meetings here for the last two years. We continually receive the best service and assistance from all staff at the Orchard. The board meeting room has always suited our needs, and the service staff continues to provide fantastic service with care. All of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christina653
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It means a lot to me that we can always help you have a smooth and enjoyable event at our hotel! I know how hard it can be to organize meetings, and we're always happy to help. Tommy is great and I know that he always takes great care of his clients. I will be sure to let him know...

Reviewed 1 week ago

- Tidy room, but a little small restroom space - Room with the window on the street side is better for view - Average level of staff service - provides valet service for car parking with nearby parking garage

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byoungchan E
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It's disappointing that the size wasn't exactly what you were looking for, Byoungchan, and that the staff was only average. We do our best to show our guests the best stay they can have. Hopefully you'll stay with us again and notice much better service! Best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have nothing bad to say about this place. The room was very clean, and actually quite large for being in San Fransisco, the bed comfortable, the wifi fast and free, power outlets where they can be easily reached. The bathroom well appointed and again very clean. The vale parking efficient. I don't watch TV so never turned that on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psjofors
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

We pleased that our beds were comfortable and our bathroom perfectly spotless! Thanks for coming by to stay with us. Until next time, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was unwell during my stay, and subsequently we were given a 4pm check out so I could stay in bed until we had to leave for the airport. It was really kind and incredibly appreciated. In fact the staff were so attentive and helpful in every way during our stay. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cmjct
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

We're happy we could help! We do our best to be attentive and it means a lot that we could succeed in that area. I hope you decide to stay with us next time you're in San Francisco. Fondest regards, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quite a nice lobby area, parking costs are astronomical, you can park on the street beware of time and day restrictions. Valet parking was around 57 dollars a night... water pressure in the bathrooms sucked, you can disconnect the shower head (unscrew) for a decent shower, hot water was also a bit iffy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keshav R
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, Keshav! We're sorry you weren't quite a fan of our parking cost, because we do try to keep them low. In comparison to many hotels around us, we actually charge about $10 less per day - parking is at a premium in San Francisco. We're an eco-friendly hotel, so the water pressure is actually lowered...

West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Orchard Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The room and facilities were clean and charming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was delicious (though pricey), elegantly served, and the atmosphere was attractive, quiet and conducive to conversation. Th only drawback: For those not physically fit, it is a tough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onearleft
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It's awesome that you liked staying with us! Thanks for your kind words on our staff and our rooms. We're looking forward to your next visit to San Francisco. Fondly, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Watertown, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at The Orchard Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff was very friendly. We especially appreciated Joe the Bell Hop. He gave us tips on places to visit while in town. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ireachmydreams
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

We couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay here! It's awesome that our bellhop was friendly -- we'll be sure to pass your kind words on to him. All the best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

605 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (404)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room (40)
Viewed
Second Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Third Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
4,750 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
4,985 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighborhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theaters in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $214 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Orchard Hotel staff and other travelers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Orchard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“affordable price”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
“Higher rooms are quieter since it's on the Cable Car line.”
 of 5 bubbles Y8980AEdd, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“Try asking for an inclusive breakfast when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Angelalong, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the lower floor, choose rooms at the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles wukong1205, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“back side room are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles laurent503, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question