We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Save
Share
101 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2602
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (10)

About

#188 of 248 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We are a block away from Market Street (the main street in SF) and within walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center, Cable Cars, Civic Center, Asian Art Museum, and Union Square among other sights of the city. We offer clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate all year round. Onsite parking is available at fee. We offer free WiFi, free coffee and free newspaper to compliment our professionally decorated rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
113Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
36Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
176Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 47
  • 52
  • 21
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NY_realist wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York88 contributions27 helpful votes
I was in town during a major conference and all the typical business hotels were either full or exorbitantly priced. SOMA Park Inn was an excellent alternative. The style is what used to be called a motor hotel, which is a multi-story version of the classic park-at-your-door motels that used to be ubiquitous. The room was very nice: comfortable bed, good linens, plenty of hot water, and clean. It had in addition to the usual coffee maker a small fridge and microwave. The WiFi worked fine. The location is reasonably convenient: right on the Mission MUNI bus route and a quick walk to the Civic Center station on Market. There’s a nice coffee shop across the street and a good Ethiopian cafe a couple doors down the street. As others have noted, the area is a little sketchy. But I never felt unsafe or concerned about security. If you want a full service hotel with a bar, restaurant, business center, room service, pool, and fancy lobby, this is not your place. If you need a comfortable room not far from the business district on a budget, this is a good choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight, Guest Relations Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Responded Jan 24, 2020
NY_realist: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a candid review of your stay with us. I am glad that you had a great time here. I am happy that you found our rooms clean, convenient and comfortable. I am delighted that you found our hotel conveniently located. We believe in delivering excellent service and genuine hospitality to each of our guests. We would love to host you again. If you do give us another chance, be sure to book your stay at SomaParkInnCivicCenter.com where you will find the lowest possible rates. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Sushma, General Manager
Read more
pitttrader1988 wrote a review Jan 2020
Chicago, Illinois53 contributions33 helpful votes
it's located not too terribly far from public transportation. however, you have to walk through tons of homeless to get there. I checked in. TV is a satellite dish and has zero channels. they put earplugs on the nightstand.....there is a reason why. no amenities but expensive for what you get and out of the way. carpet pretty cheap and the doors are open to the outside (old fashioned motor inn) bathroom small and the toilet seat in my room was broken. nothing really around here, except homeless people. the other problem with SF is it smells like pee and poo. really gross. hotel can't control that.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight, Guest Relations Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Pitttrader1988: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your time in San Francisco, and that your room didn’t meet all of your expectations. This is not the usual experience of our guests. I hope you give us another chance to impress you. If you do give us another chance, be sure to book your stay at SomaParkInnCivicCenter.com where you will find the lowest possible rates. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Sushma, General Manager
Read more
Cheryl C wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
You will be pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms, especially given the neighborhood—spotlessly clean, comfortable, recently painted, well-maintained, well-stocked with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, TV and Wi-Fi. The staff are courteous and helpful. The location is just a short walk from the BART Civic Center station, so this is a very convenient location if you have business in downtown SF.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Less noise on one of the two upper floors.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Responded May 22, 2019
Cheryl: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We work hard on making improvements here every day, and we have made many upgrades to our suites. We feel very lucky to have such a great location that is so close to popular attractions. Remember to book your stay direct at SomaParkInnCivicCenter.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online. Booking direct can save up to 15% vs. online travel agents. Thanks again for staying at the SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center General Manager SOMA Park Inn
Read more
Geoff B wrote a review Mar 2019
Kilifi, Kenya13 contributions
It seems most places in this town are tiny and old styled so other than it was clean and tidy there was nothing much to write home about the room. However, the staff were super helpful. I had a lot of baggage and they really went out of their way to help
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Responded May 22, 2019
Geoff: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our amenities are certainly useful and our rooms are tidy as can be! Our staff works very hard to keep our guests comfortable and happy. I hope you stay with us next time you are in the city. Do book your stay at SomaParkInnCivicCenter.com where you will find our lowest rates. Booking direct can save up to 15% vs. online travel agents. Thanks for choosing SoMa Park Inn Civic Center, General Manager SOMA Park Inn
Read more
HockeyHerrick wrote a review Mar 2019
Boston, Massachusetts13 contributions5 helpful votes
The inn is like someone dropped one of those three floor motels you saw in the southwest in the ‘50’s in the middle of a very urban (rundown, but improving) area of San Francisco. If it’s to get a feel for the extent of the homeless issue in SF, then this is your spot! Some may even try to join you as you go through the stairway door (which only opens by room key) as you ascend to your clean, but very dated and small room. Bedding is old, carpet could have been changed years ago, but the plumbing works fine and the room had a nice new flat screen tv. Would not be my first choice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Responded May 22, 2019
HockeyHerrick: I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time with us. Far from being a time capsule, our newly renovated guest rooms have new linens, modern decor, and clean carpeting. The envious address of our urban hotel is central to some of the most sought after attractions in San Francisco, as well as being within walking distance to fantastic restaurants, and shopping. Unfortunately, there are many people in the city, and the entire Bay Area who have been stricken with poverty and homelessness. This is not an issue that is exclusive to our neighborhood, or our city. The good people of San Francisco, and its city leadership work very hard to try to compassionalty help those less fortunate, and find a solution for those that find themselves homeless. If you do decide to stay with us in the future, remember to book direct at SomaParkInnCivicCenter.com to find the lowest rates online. I wish you the best, General Manager SOMA Park Inn
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rodeway inn downtown hotel san francisco, rodeway inn san francisco, san francisco rodeway inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rodeway Inn Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Which popular attractions are close to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center?
Nearby attractions include Oasis (0.3 miles), Asian Art Museum (0.3 miles), and Orpheum Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a 24 hour front desk, and newspaper.
Is parking available at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sam's Diner, Ananda Fuara, and Vive La Tarte.
Is SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are there any historical sites close to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (3.5 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.6 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (1.5 miles).
Is SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.