We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
345 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2004
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (106)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (246)

About

#114 of 251 in San Francisco
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Silver level
Newly renovated boutique hotel in San Francisco located steps from Union Square, 8 blocks to Moscone Center, walking distance to BART, cable cars, and the Theatre District. We feature a lively restaurant and bar, The Douglas Room, and the curbside coffee shop, Tilden Café. The Tilden’s unassuming presence is defined by clean, organic and streamlined aesthetic choices. Our stylish hotel offers open, airy spaces marked by subdued colors and raw materials. With a residential-spirited lobby, lively bar and restaurant, and curbside coffee shop, The Tilden is a breath of refreshing modernity. In addition to sleek, comfortable San Francisco accommodations, our hotel offers an invigorating solution to urban living, with unfussy spaces and unexpected surprises – just look at our local artwork. The Tilden embraces authenticity and personality. More than a hotel, we’re an engaging community gathering place where guests experience thoughtful spaces designed with genuine hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
768Reviews28Q+A76Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 232
  • 265
  • 140
  • 71
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karen S wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I highly recommend the Tilden hotel. The staff are wonderful and extremely friendly and accommodating. They went over and above for me on several occasions during my stay, directions, booking Ubers and generally taking really good care of me as their guest. The location is superb, just minutes away from Union square. The room was clean, comfortable and we'll decorated. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for your stay in San Francisco. You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Vazquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tilden Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Hey Karen! I am so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay here at the Tilden Hotel. We have a great staff and I am beyond happy we were able to help you out through out your stay. Thanks for the feedback! I will be sharing your with the staff.
Read more
James wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The Tilden was a great place to stay in SF, with a relaxed vibe and very friendly staff. If you need to be in the Tenderloin, it's perfect. Breakfast is highly recommended and my bed couldn't have been more comfortable. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: 9th floor was ok, but the bin collection outside was pretty loud at 4am
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kunal Khandwala, General Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write review for us. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy some yummy breakfast at the Douglas Room and that you're bed was super comfy! We have a super staff and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are int he city.
Read more
Joe Delfino wrote a review Feb 2020
Atkinson, New Hampshire2 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for 6 nights while attending a trade show. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I was impressed with the level of service. They have a nice breakfast with all items cooked to order. Tea and coffee complimentary throughout the day. Rooms are a good size for the single business traveler.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quiet
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review for our hotel. It makes me happy to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Douglas Room! FYI we have a new Chef and you must come back and try some of his new dishes. Again, thank you for feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Read more
Jon S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
The staff was extremely helpful. Parking my car was such an easy process with their valet service. Joseph and Ayana were welcoming the moment I walked in. The lobby has a really hip vibe. The location is really close to union square. Definitely felt comfortable and clean; Will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review about us. We love our lobby and love that our guest enjoy it as well! I am glad our staff made you feel welcomed for the very beginning of your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Read more
BonnieEncinitas wrote a review Jan 2020
Encinitas, California2 contributions4 helpful votes
We purchased rooms for this hotel on Travelzoo and were not sure what we would find. Well, the staff over our 5 day 4 night stay were exceptional. Thank you Tre, Ayana, Joseph and Mario. I even asked them as about their training. The rooms are lovely. Not large, but serviceable. The bathrooms are decorated circa 1950, which is cute. The restaurant was good. I will definitely stay here again. And Union Squareis only 2 blocks away!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. We have a wonderful staff and I am glad we were able to make your time in San Francisco that much enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in the city.
Read more
LightPacker101900 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Friendly Staff, Clean, and very convenient location. Highly recommend it to any guest looking to stay close to Union Square and shopping. The valet parking staff was super helpful and friendly a well as the lobby staff and the bartenders.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our staff always providing excellent customer service and your room was clean. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Read more
brittledust wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Everything was great Hotel wise. My only issue is that I used my bank account debt card to book the room. I payed cash at check out. They've been holding 439 dollars for over 2 days now and late fees for bills I had to pay after NYE are happening from this hold. Really sucks for people living paycheck to paycheck. Just a warning to folks that are poor like me. Don't book if you don't have a credit card. I'm paying big time for that stupid mistake.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! I am sorry to hear about the funds not being released back to your account by your bank. Once you check out we release the funds on our end and then its up to your bank. Please call the hotel directly if the problem hasn't been resolved yet. We'd be happy to help. Again, thanks your feedback!
Read more
Girl Travels World wrote a review Dec 2019
7 contributions15 helpful votes
went there in Dec 2019 and it seems an average hotel with limited breakfast options. Very conveniently located in the city with transit and uber options. because the hotel is newly built it's clean and worth living for few days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Ivy N wrote a review Dec 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada4 contributions7 helpful votes
I have stayed at The Tilden at least 5 times. I enjoy the ammenities, service, convenient location and overall comfort. The price is always reasonable and the stay is a positive experience. Beds are super comfortable, the bath products are exceptional!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We love hearing about our guest experience especially our repeat customers. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Read more
Andy wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We should have done research on the Tenderloin district, which this hotel is located in. We walked 3 blocks to get breakfast, and crossed through 3 large homeless encampments. Even on the corner of the block that the hotel is on, there were homeless tents pitched on the sidewalk, homeless garbage collections on display, drug use, and homeless people just lying on the ground sleeping. I've heard about the homeless problem in SF, but experiencing it was shocking. Up two blocks is a Walgreens with a security guard poster, everything on the shelves under lock and key, and homeless people crowding the entrance. We took my two daughters and it was definitely not a place I'd recommend for families to visit. Aside from that, the hotel was old (as noted by the hotel), walls are SUPER THIN. We had to have ours and my daughters' rooms due to an obnoxiously loud rap party in one of the rooms. And even without that, we could hear our daughters' cell phones vibrating in the next room whenever we sent a text - so, super thin walls. Later at night the neighbors on the other side of us were watching an infomercial at 3 am that I could hear so clearly, you'd think they were in the same room. I can't stress enough - do not stay here if you value a quiet sleep. Additionally, when we were relocated to the third floor, the hallways smelled super dank with marijuana smoke - if you're into that, not a problem, but we weren't, so... We were not at all happy about the "Resort Fee" - hey, it gave us free Wi-Fi...but we stay in hotels all over the world and we've never been charged for Wi-Fi...so...what's the value? Also communication and handling of the Resort Fee was really bad. The night front desk clerk actually gave us a document which explained the "benefits" of the fee (laughable), but on the reverse side of the document was apparently an internal-use only section. It included items which instructed the FD person to refund the fee if the room was booked prior to Nov 1st (which ours was), and also a message about how to deal with a customer who complains enough and mentions social media that they should refund the Resort Fee. When I brought these two items up during checkout, the FD person was confused by it, and the manager (I'm assuming - he didn't really identify himself as such) accused me of printing out the document myself (which mad me angry), then he blew it off and said it doesn't matter what it says because it's not something that they hand out and he kept asking where I got it. Again and again I told him that the girl that checked us in handed us the sheet. So he dismissed it - which is really stupid - especially given the message that it stated regarding a complaining guest. All in all I would definitely never stay there again, and advise others to heed the negative reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tildenhotel, Front Office Manager at Tilden Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mark twain hotel, mark twain san francisco, hotel mark twain
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Mark Twain
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tilden Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tilden Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marrakech Magic Theater (0.03 miles), San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.2 miles), and San Francisco Playhouse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tilden Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Tilden Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tilden Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tilden Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tilden Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapisara Eatery, Liholiho Yacht Club, and Fino Bar & Ristorante.
Is Tilden Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of San Francisco.
Are pets allowed at Tilden Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Tilden Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tilden Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Tilden Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (2.9 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (4.4 miles), and City Lights Booksellers (0.9 miles).