We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8017
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lowest price we found
View Deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (60)
Room & Suite (47)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 06/02/20


#176 of 246 hotels in San Francisco
HTL 587 is conveniently located at 587 Eddy Street in the heart of Downtown San Francisco. Our central location allows guests to easily access acclaimed gourmet restaurants, popular bars, Union Square, cable cars, and nightclubs, As well as major attractions like Fisherman’s Wharf, The Embarcadero, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Pier 39. Impeccably designed modern guest rooms deliver a blend of comfort, luxury, and urban style. HTL 587 brings urban style and modern architecture together in a newly remodeled boutique hotel. Take in our on-point metropolitan décor set in open common areas that invite social interaction, or sit back, have a drink in a quiet nook and people watch as the city activity surrounds you. Our guests can enjoy our on-site Vietnamese restaurant, Saigon Sandwich as well as additional complimentary amenities. HTL 587 also offers Valet Parking, Late check-out, and a convenience store, however; these additional amenities may incur additional fees.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, Hindi
102Reviews3Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 27
  • 24
  • 13
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paula T wrote a review Feb 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is not in a safe area of the city. Unfortunately, there are homeless sleeping on the sidewalks outside the building. There is a bus route in front of the hotel. You can brave that means of transportation or take an Uber. I like to walk but that was not a good experience either with the strong urine smell and homeless coming up to you on the street. The hotel was dark inside and the condition of the elevator was poor during my stay. I would have changed hotels but I was in the city at the time of the marathon and the availability was limited. The rates fluctuate so I paid the highest rate for the same room that is 1/3 the price in off season. I did complain about the service but it made no difference in the amount charged for the room. I have since tried contacting the
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
2 Helpful votes
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Mar 9, 2019
Many of our guests love the central location of our hotel, which allows them easy access to many of the city's main attractions, as well as to local public transport links. Unfortunately, there is an element of homelessness throughout the city which can be apparent in this area, but the city authorities have begun to take steps to improve this situation for the benefit of the city's residents, businesses and visitors. As with all hotels, our rates fluctuate, depending on many factors, and we advise our guests to reserve their rooms as early as possible to get the very best rate that might be available. In the vast majority of cases, our guests feel that our property offers them wonderful value in a very central location in San Francisco, which is a very expensive city. We are sorry that there was an issue with the charges on your bill at the end of your stay, but we trust that this has now been rectified, and will not impact upon your decision to stay with us again. We would welcome an opportunity to host you again. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
iheartdwight wrote a review Feb 2019
Sydney, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wish we had read all of these reviews before booking our trip to San Francisco (which is apparently the homeless, filthiest, drug capital of the USA). Had always wanted to visit and never thought of having the need to ‘google search’ the area (the Tenderloin) before booking a hotel- but wish we had! The first day we wheeled our suitcases up from the Civic Centre station up Hyde Street and the left onto Eddy Street- the location of the hotel. We had to cross the road as there were so many dodgy looking homeless people sitting on the streets or in tents completely blocking one side of the footpath, we also had the pleasure of dodging the human faecal matter which littered Eddy St footpath. Once making it to the hotel, we were thankful to be inside and away from the terrors
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Feb 19, 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your visit to San Francisco. Homelessness is, unfortunately, evident throughout San Francisco, but thankfully, the city is taking measures to improve this aspect of San Francisco, to make the city more enjoyable for everyone. We are sorry that the specific location of our property did not particularly appeal to you, but it does offer many advantages as a base in this area, which the vast majority of our guests enjoy. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in San Francisco more. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Jiayang Y wrote a review Feb 2019
29 contributions15 helpful votes
The neighborhood is terrible, people are smoking crack on the sidewalk just a block away from the hotel. Someone opened my door in the middle of the night, scared the living hell of my family. Definitely my worst experience ever.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Feb 8, 2019
Hi Jiayang, The area in which we are situated can, at first glance, be a little off-putting, but our guests are never troubled by any of the homeless people in the area. We hope that this will not dissuade you from staying with us again; we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you on this occasion, and we hope to do so again. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
Jane wrote a review Jan 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I really enjoyed my stay at HTL 587. The room and bathroom were very clean and simple -- met my needs perfectly. I loved the coffee maker in the room so I could wake-up and get going and also wind-down at the end of the day with a hot cup of tea. The staff was friendly and very helpful when it came to answering all my questions. The hotel seemed to cater to a mostly young crowd (I'm in my 30's and felt most of the guests were my age). The WiFi was strong and TV options solid -- a little something for everyone. I'm not really a "room with a view" person but I thought the view was decent for being in the middle of the city. You definitely get the city noises here so be prepared for hearing traffic and car alarms -- you're in the middle of the city so it really isn't a
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Jan 26, 2019
Thank you for your detailed and complimentary feedback; we very much appreciate the time that you spent sharing your experience with us. It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback in relation to our rooms and amenities, thank you for those comments. The homelessness that is evident throughout the city can be very disconcerting for those who are not used to it, but please know that our guests are never approached by people, and despite appearances occasionally, our area is very safe. It sounds as if our hotel was very suitable for your accommodation needs, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in San Francisco! Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
d c wrote a review Nov 2018
Istanbul, Turkey26 contributions23 helpful votes
Little hotel with tiny rooms. Smaller then I imagined. Some rooms are facing a wall; so u can not know if it is day or night... showers are interesting; not easy to use. Elevator is archaic. Friendly stuff but not enough. The Eddy street is dirtiest I have ever seen; on the sidewalks living homeless people; streets stinks, like an open WC.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at HTL 587, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Dec 3, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. We have a variety of rooms available, and we would be happy to discuss which one might suit you best in terms of size in advance of your next stay. San Francisco is a vibrant, busy city, that unfortunately has more than its fair share of homeless people throughout. The city is taking steps to assist with the homelessness situation, which will have positive effects throughout the city, and on our street. We are sorry that you did not like this aspect of our hotel or the city, but please rest assured that the people are harmless and the area is safe. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you have another opportunity to visit San Francisco. Best Regards, Fernando Arizaga General Manager
Read more
$127 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / Tenderloin / Theater District / Little Saigon
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing