We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save
1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$158
View Deal
Booking.com
$174
$156
View Deal
SAVE $18
Hotels.com
$158
View Deal
eDreams$156
Hotwire.com$158
Trip.com$174
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (246)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (81)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Fax / photocopying
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, German
877Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 409
  • 239
  • 62
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Coinciding with JP Morgan’s Healthcare Conference, all hotel rates around San Francisco were astronomical. This hotel was still relatively expensive but located at Cow Hollow, it was convenient to Fisherman’s Wharf whilst a single bus ride got you to Downtown. Hotel is quite basic but everything worked and staff were very friendly. Rate included breakfast which was also very basic and probably set up primarily for take aways. Main draw for this hotel is its location, halfway between the shops at Union St and Chesnut St. Fisherman’s Wharf is walkable and generally the area does seem quite safe. The room I had included two double beds so lots of space. Check out the balcony on the third floor, you can just about make out the Golden Gate Bridge which is also walkable depending on your level of fitness. I would consider this hotel again should I find myself back in San Francisco.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Kebuh, It is always a pleasure to receive such a wonderfully detailed review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your visit with the online community. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments. We would love to welcome you back, when you are next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is very well-located in San Francisco. For the price of the room, you're very close to most everything. You can walk to Fort Mason and Fisherman's Wharf, and there's a bus stop literally right in front of the hotel. The room was fairly large, and the cleaning staff was good. The bed was not super comfortable, however, and the room smelled a little bit of cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room). The parking area is very small, and we were not able to fit our car in there for a couple of nights. The hotel staff was very accommodating, however, and they let us park in a non-spot and took the key if they had to move it. The main problem is the breakfast. The breakfast is generally pastries and coffee (about what you'd expect from a budget place), but the area for breakfast seated 10 people. There was only 1 table (for 4), and 6 satellite seats (2 were comfy sitting chairs) for other people. Most days we would arrive for breakfast and we wouldn't even be able to get to the coffee or muffins because the room was so crowded. They use the lobby area for the breakfast, which is about as big as the bathroom was in our room, and there is no space to move. If you stay here, either go down really early for breakfast, or resign yourself to taking a tray to your room. They really need to fix this breakfast thing because the hotel isn't bad otherwise.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Although delighted that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel, we were sorry to hear that our breakfast offerings and seating arrangements were not to your liking. We review our breakfast menu regularly and will ensure that your feedback is used for improvement purposes. We are a little limited for space in our breakfast area and as a result, during certain periods, the area can become very busy. If you are staying with us again, our team can advise you of a quieter time for which to enjoy your breakfast. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We would love to welcome you back, to impress you with our service, when you are next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
I stayed here with a friend whilst travelling California. Due to travelling from one end of the country to the other, we had a hire car and therefore our hotel searches were also looking for parking, which was often few and fast between. We found this place via TripAdvisor which was a fairly decent price and had free parking which was an absolute find, being in a major city. The hotel is situated on a main road but the noise level is minimal too non, but this does give you great access to anywhere in the city. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and every morning, as included in the price, fresh tea, coffee, juices and pastries were put out for the guests, which was always nice to get your day going. The rooms were average and nothing special but could do with modernisation as they are dated. The main thing was they were clean and tidy and did us perfectly for having a base in San Fran. The locality has all the amenities you would need. These are walkable as well as drivable. All the main attractions are a short drive away, some walkable and an Uber into the city only cost about $5 each way. In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in the Buena Vista Motor Inn. It serviced our needs and was a great base and I would happily stay here again should I be in the city.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nick, Thanks for your comments. We are so pleased that you found our hotel to be a nice place to stay. We are also glad that our hotel impressed you enough that you would stay with us again. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you in the future if you visit the area again, as we always strive to maintain a great experience for guests like you. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
It’s convenient as it’s on Lombard St about4 blocks west of the bit of Lombard St that everyone wants to drive down. It’s about a mile walk to Fisherman’s Wharf so you don’t need to take the car (parking at the Wharf is expensive and painful). The Big Bus Tour stops outside the hotel so that’s useful. And the hotel has its own parking included. It’s not a flashy note and the street can be noisy but the staff are helpful. Breakfast is in the reception area and is included but the room has very limited seating considering the size of the hotel, so expect to pick some danish and muffins up and take them back up to your room rather than have a lazy breakfast.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
The continental breakfast was filling, they had several nice places to take your breakfast to eat a outdoor patio on the top, with a large sitting room with tables. Also there was a small garden with tables in back. The staff was friendly and helpful they let us put our bags in the room at 9am after an early plane arrival. That turned out to be a blessing as a few hours later our rental car was parked at the science academy d the back window was smashed. The thieves seeing grocery sack from Trader Joe’s Thought they were suitcase and only got a small back bag with with charging cords, a new rain jacket, and only one check book.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buena vista motor hotel san francisco, buena vista hotel, buena vista motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoMarina District / Union Street
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buena Vista Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Russian Hill (0.3 miles), Union Street (0.2 miles), and Fort Mason, the Great Meadow (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roam Artisan Burgers, Capannina, and La Boulange.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (1.8 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (3.1 miles), and Battery Spencer (4.9 miles).
Is Buena Vista Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.