We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buena Vista Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely horrible experience. In San Francisco to support family member in ICU. Last thing we wanted to worry about was our room. 1st night, found trash in ice bucket. Next day, tried to extend stay via phone & add room for additional family member flying in, but after 15 hours at hospital, locked out of room. When finally let in,... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Vanderpoole, I do apologize for all of the problems that you encountered during your stay. The trainee that cleaned your room on your first day is no longer with us. Due to your extending your stay your keys had expired and that is why you were locked out of your room. I do apologize as we did discuss... More 

Rockhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights staff were lovely rooms were large enough for a rollaway bed. Close to restaurants and fast food. Complimentary breakfast (muffins pastrys cereal fruit and yogurt). Outside of fishermens wharf area but close enough to walk and the price is brilliant. Would definitely stay again if ever in San Francisco.

Helpful?
Thank dsypher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

Horrible, Pay more & don't get bit or take any bugs home. Price seemed fair until you consider the cost of taking vermin back home with you. Parking was difficult & someone had peed right in front of my car trunk. Luckily this caused me to only take in a carry on, instead of all my luggage.We only stayed 1... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa A
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teressa, I am sorry that you feel that you had problems during your stay. I have tried to find your situation but was unable to find the issue you had described. I hope you can contact us again as I have checked with our Pest Control Service as we take the bug problems very seriously. Ecolab which is our... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016

After reading a few reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little hesitant. Due to booking last minute, there was not a lot of hotels left to choose from in San Fran which didn't blow the budget or were already booked out. Upon arrival, the front desk staff were lovely. Though it is a little cramped when this same area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2016

My husband and I arrived in San Francisco after a long day on the road without a reservation or a good understanding of where to stay so I used Trip Advisor reviews to guide us and that's how I found Buena Vista Moter Hotel. I'd say other reviews are accurate. It is over priced for the accommodations but not for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary T
Athens
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2016

The 'Buena Vista Motor Inn' hotel is located centrally on Lombard Street, one of the main roads of San Francisco and is very convenient to walk to the Marina district from there or have access to the center of the city. The rooms are quite big and spacious and while the furniture is outdated, the beds are comfortable enough. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paixtaras
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the same day we stayed (after a failed Airbnb experience). We chose this place because of its great location, price and "ok" reviews. Honestly, we were quite impressed with the facility and value for money. The room was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. It is so well located that we could walk to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DeeCeeDeeCee
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016

My Family and I stayed in this hotel from the 14th of August to the 19th of August 2016. We had two double rooms, my Wife and I in one and children in the other. The rooms are reasonably small and a family room (with two double beds) would have been tight. If you have a room to the front... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HonestWayne
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear HonestWayne, I am sorry you felt that your stay was not to your liking. However since you were here for 5 nights and you did not comment on you stay until you left, why did you not move to another hotel you looked around and found better? We try our best to address problems in the hotel and especially... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Great price with free parking, wifi and breakfast.and a central location. The rooms were old and shabby but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was new. The 3rd floor had a lovely terrace garden with a view of the Golden gate Bridge. So nice to eat breakfast on terrace or enjoy a glass of wine.An international crowd gave the hotel a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ttravelravelcarol
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2016

This place was way above our expectations, especially as it says it's a 2 star hotel. Having been on a roadtrip for weeks and stayed in many places in California, I can assure you this is more of a 3 star hotel. Very comfortable room and great location! Very high standard in its price range. Rooms were big and clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KayWAmsterdam
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
Queen Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 233 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#141 of 233 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 233 in San Francisco
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 233 in San Francisco
454 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 233 in San Francisco
1,414 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 76 in San Francisco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighborhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighborhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $128 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Opt for a room at the back of the hotel. Noise from Lombard street in front rooms can be unbearable, especially during the night.”
 of 5 bubbles Paixtaras, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“Look around at others, there are better, even on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles HonestWayne, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to check daily for best rates; the values goes up/down on a daily basis...we get a great value for our budget.”
 of 5 bubbles itumidon, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“not to the road”
 of 5 bubbles grienig, May 2, 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back which had no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles JanCornubia, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay