We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buena Vista Motor Inn

Save
Share
1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (246)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (139)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Buena Vista Motor Inn
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#118 of 248 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Separate living room
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Nepali
877Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 411
  • 237
  • 62
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travellerLyn_Canada wrote a review Feb 2020
Lyn, Canada33 contributions50 helpful votes
Clean convenient great value hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful especially since this was our first visit to SF.Comfortable bed and nice shower. Breakfast was included and was a nice surprise of excellent pasteries, fresh fruit. juice and cereal.The roof top patio was wonderful and even allowed a view of the Golden Gate bridge.We had a room near the back of the hotel and it was very very quiet.Would stay there again.Parking is free although we didn't need it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Agency / Consultant at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic feedback - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience with us, and that our hotel was so suitable for your needs and expectations. We appreciate your review, and the detail that you have provided for future guests at our property. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Lowseas wrote a review Feb 2020
Sidney, Canada133 contributions77 helpful votes
Indy the manager was very accomodating when our cruise embarkation was delayed 6 hours. We are very grateful they stored our luggage and gave us the use of the sunroom and terrace. The rooms were clean and quiet even though the hotel is on Lombard st. Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind feedback and for taking the time to share it. We are always thrilled to receive positive comments such as yours. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Kebuh wrote a review Jan 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1,682 contributions225 helpful votes
+1
Coinciding with JP Morgan’s Healthcare Conference, all hotel rates around San Francisco were astronomical. This hotel was still relatively expensive but located at Cow Hollow, it was convenient to Fisherman’s Wharf whilst a single bus ride got you to Downtown. Hotel is quite basic but everything worked and staff were very friendly. Rate included breakfast which was also very basic and probably set up primarily for take aways. Main draw for this hotel is its location, halfway between the shops at Union St and Chesnut St. Fisherman’s Wharf is walkable and generally the area does seem quite safe. The room I had included two double beds so lots of space. Check out the balcony on the third floor, you can just about make out the Golden Gate Bridge which is also walkable depending on your level of fitness. I would consider this hotel again should I find myself back in San Francisco.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear Kebuh, It is always a pleasure to receive such a wonderfully detailed review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your visit with the online community. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments. We would love to welcome you back, when you are next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
EuropeinNewYork wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York276 contributions104 helpful votes
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is very well-located in San Francisco. For the price of the room, you're very close to most everything. You can walk to Fort Mason and Fisherman's Wharf, and there's a bus stop literally right in front of the hotel. The room was fairly large, and the cleaning staff was good. The bed was not super comfortable, however, and the room smelled a little bit of cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room). The parking area is very small, and we were not able to fit our car in there for a couple of nights. The hotel staff was very accommodating, however, and they let us park in a non-spot and took the key if they had to move it. The main problem is the breakfast. The breakfast is generally pastries and coffee (about what you'd expect from a budget place), but the area for breakfast seated 10 people. There was only 1 table (for 4), and 6 satellite seats (2 were comfy sitting chairs) for other people. Most days we would arrive for breakfast and we wouldn't even be able to get to the coffee or muffins because the room was so crowded. They use the lobby area for the breakfast, which is about as big as the bathroom was in our room, and there is no space to move. If you stay here, either go down really early for breakfast, or resign yourself to taking a tray to your room. They really need to fix this breakfast thing because the hotel isn't bad otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Guest, Although delighted that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel, we were sorry to hear that our breakfast offerings and seating arrangements were not to your liking. We review our breakfast menu regularly and will ensure that your feedback is used for improvement purposes. We are a little limited for space in our breakfast area and as a result, during certain periods, the area can become very busy. If you are staying with us again, our team can advise you of a quieter time for which to enjoy your breakfast. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We would love to welcome you back, to impress you with our service, when you are next visiting the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Nick Stephen wrote a review Jan 2020
Witham, United Kingdom184 contributions111 helpful votes
I stayed here with a friend whilst travelling California. Due to travelling from one end of the country to the other, we had a hire car and therefore our hotel searches were also looking for parking, which was often few and fast between. We found this place via TripAdvisor which was a fairly decent price and had free parking which was an absolute find, being in a major city. The hotel is situated on a main road but the noise level is minimal too non, but this does give you great access to anywhere in the city. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and every morning, as included in the price, fresh tea, coffee, juices and pastries were put out for the guests, which was always nice to get your day going. The rooms were average and nothing special but could do with modernisation as they are dated. The main thing was they were clean and tidy and did us perfectly for having a base in San Fran. The locality has all the amenities you would need. These are walkable as well as drivable. All the main attractions are a short drive away, some walkable and an Uber into the city only cost about $5 each way. In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in the Buena Vista Motor Inn. It serviced our needs and was a great base and I would happily stay here again should I be in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear Nick, Thanks for your comments. We are so pleased that you found our hotel to be a nice place to stay. We are also glad that our hotel impressed you enough that you would stay with us again. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you in the future if you visit the area again, as we always strive to maintain a great experience for guests like you. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buena vista motor hotel san francisco, buena vista hotel, buena vista motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoMarina District / Union Street
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buena Vista Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Russian Hill (0.3 miles), Union Street (0.2 miles), and Fort Mason, the Great Meadow (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a rooftop terrace.
Which room amenities are available at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a separate living room.
Is parking available at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roam Artisan Burgers, Capannina, and La Boulange.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Buena Vista Motor Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Buena Vista Motor Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alcatraz Island (1.8 miles), Golden Gate Bridge (3.1 miles), and Battery Spencer (4.9 miles).
Is Buena Vista Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.