We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen Anne Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Queen Anne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 506: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We spent 6 nights at the Queen Anne with my family, and all of us were very pleased with our experience. The over-the-top decor, particularly in the downstairs parlor, was quirky and charming, and a bit more toned down in the guest rooms. The front-desk staff were always welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisak313
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you LisaK, And thanks for bringing your parents to stay with us too. We hope you've all taken a lot of great memories with you!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed July 7, 2016

I spent at least an hour going through the list of hotels recommended by UCSF - looking at them on Tripadvisor. I finally chose the Queen Anne as mid-priced and reasonably well reviewed. Overall I found the experience disappointing and would not stayt here again. This place feels the opposite of "refreshing". Good things were that the lobby staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edgewood_Ave
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Edgewood_Ave, Wish you had also mentioned these things to us during your stay. Sounds like you have a good eye for interior decorating. We like to change things up. Hope you will have another look on a future visit. Our complimentary towncar, however, is indeed limited to 7:15am, 8:30am, and 9:45am (Mon-Fri). UCSF also provides free shuttles throughout...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Queen Anne Hotel and it was as delightful as the last time! It is a comfort and a pleasure to walk into this charming Victorian hotel with its fire lit spacious sitting areas downstairs, continuous coffee/tea and iced water available in a grand wood cabinet, a lovely scent wafting up through the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bubbly_sunshine
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Bubbly_Sunshine, It is the nicest compliment, in addition to your review, that you have become a repeat guest of the historic Queen Anne. Enjoy your travels and we look forward to your next visit.

Avoca Beach
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Walking into this hotel is a bit like a Baz Lurman film set, or a 19th century bordello, Not that i have done either. Helpful and pleasant front desk staff, large guest lounge downstairs with tea & coffee available. A large old fashioned lift took us to our large bed room. Comfortable bed, decent ensuite. A substantial continental breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donswim
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Donswim, We appreciate your kind review. Our WiFi is back to 100% now. We located the problem and guests are giving it a thumbs up now. Thank you for being our guest.

Stockton
Reviewed May 23, 2016

I can't believe I never noticed this gorgeous hotel. The exterior and rooms are so beautifully appointed, so over the top late 19th century decor, that you really need to come just to see it. The stairwell is magnificent. The lobby lounge is dripping with baubles. You have to love it. My only gripe is that the breakfast really sucked....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken A
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ken, Your kind 5 Star review means so much to all of here at the Queen Anne! Glad you had a great stay overall. Our included continental breakfast has expanded quite a lot over the years. Please accept our regrets that it doesn't fully meet your expectations. We've opted to provide a continental breakfast in order...

Tucson USA
Reviewed May 18, 2016

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at the Queen Anne and found it an enjoyable and offbeat choice. It's a real 1890s mansion that survived the famous 1906 earthquake and fire, seemingly with all original furniture and decor in tact. An elevator, the televisions, and en-suite modern bathrooms with excellent showers and the expected toiletries, hair dryer, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redwinterTucson
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you redwinterTuscon, We are honoured to learn you will return to us and appreciate your kind review. Hope it's alright if we clarify a couple points... Our building was originally a Girl's Finishing School. Though we have a mix of authentic antiques and reproductions, none of them are original to the building prior to 1930. However there are some...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed May 18, 2016

The Queen Anne is one of the most stylish hotels I have ever stay in. We stayed several nights, it was quite luxurious, and stylishly decorated in period style. It is also very convdeniently located. The Queen Anne is one of the best boutique hotels we have ever spent time in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffry B
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Jeffrey B... What a wonderful review to discover today. Thank You from your entire Queen Anne Family!

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Very impressive looking from the outside, and our room was lovely and big with two massive double beds, but the staff weren't particularly welcoming, and breakfast wasn't as good as we hoped because we had a lay in and got there in the last 45 minutes of service and they hadn't replenished the options. I'd have thought we'd get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy, We're very sorry you were not welcomed properly and breakfast items were not restocked as fast as they ran out. Please accept our regrets and know that we aim to please on your future visits. Glad you found the room to be lovely and comfortable!

San Jose
Reviewed April 25, 2016

I stayed at the Queen Anne while my husband was in UCSF for several days so I had an opportunity to get to know the staff and the rooms. Not only was this well kept Victorian charming the parlor/s, dinning and guest room were furnished with period pieces and no musty old building smell. The fireplaces were lit in both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurals2016
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You laurals2016, We're glad we could assist you at a time when you need to look after your husband. As wonderful as the folks are up at UCSF, hospitals are never an easy time. We greatly appreciate your thoughtful review.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 25, 2016

This really is a charming hotel. FULL of character, very unique, not at like a chain hotel. Really gorgeous lounge area which has free cookies and sherry every afternoon - very nice touch. The breakfast is good to. Free coffee all day - again, nice. We would 100% stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 911dg
QueenAnneHotelSF, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You 911dg. We're overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (244)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Deluxe King Fireplace Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior King Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Two Queens Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Victorian Queen Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
342 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
857 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $191 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Queen Anne Hotel staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Carnarvon, Australia
Sacramento, California

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Anne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“410 Anne Lakes room. Active.”
 of 5 bubbles ORBS_inv, 1 week ago | Read review
“The higher rooms are obviously quieter and towards the back it would be really quiet”
 of 5 bubbles stanjanparanormal, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Given the hotel's location in a nice neighborhood, I'm sure all of the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Real_Grenadine, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The hotel is supposed to be haunted - if you want that experience, ask for Room 10, the Mary Lake Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles jdrooke, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“411 is located to overlook a Wall and no view. Request view and floor 4 where various options are available”
 of 5 bubbles AK687, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question