We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Clift Hotel San Francisco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,970 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clift Hotel San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,564: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was very annoyed by an additional charge of USD 25 per day that showed up on my prepaid room (suite). When asked for explanation, they confirmed that this was for internet and "coffee and thee" services. Just an old trick to squeeze some additional money out of clients if you ask me. The hotel is really in a deplorable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm now the fivth year in a row in the Clift hotel each time to visit the oracle conference. The hotel is a very nice place to be in the central of sf. But it is recognizable hat the hotel gets older and older year by year. The breakfast is good but far to expensive as usual for hotels of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Morgans Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank alexander726
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very good hotel in the real downtown close to union square! large and clean room with two queen bed. The hotel bar is a great place to enjoy some drinks and music! Full of people in the evening coming in this very nice bar.I would really suggest clift hotel!

Helpful?
Thank Silvernick
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed various aspects of your visit which sets Clift apart- from our central location to the renowned Redwood Room. Please come back and be our guest again! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location but very old hotel great bar. The hotel quite different as the Decor is out there. Easy walking to union square and all the shops. Like most of SFO it is run down not a city to re visit. The rooms ok reasonable size . Was only there one night so other sleeping did not use much of... More 

Helpful?
Thank tuner1950
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your stay. As you mentioned, Clift is in a good location and walking distance to Union Square- the hub to San Francisco’s shopping and dining meca. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city. More 

Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

If you're from the UK and are looking for what we would expect from a hotel - don't stay here. 1. No coffee facilities in the room (or hotel before 5.30am or in the afternoon). 2. Restaurants are not open after breakfast until 4.00pm - so you can't get a drink of anything except water. 3. $25 daily "facilities fee"... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy H
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

We are equally as disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with your stay. As a boutique hotel, Clift is designed to offer a unique and original guest experience complemented by friendly and attentive service. Please know we will take your feedback into consideration and your comments will be shared with appropriate department leaders to address the concerns you mentioned. We... More 

London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stylish public areas. Dark decor. Destination bar. Rooms large but a little tired. For quiet from the street, chose an inner "courtyard" view - no view and not really a courtyard - but very quiet from traffic etc. Some noise from other rooms - it is an old building. Gym ok - with a couple of bikes and 4 running... More 

Helpful?
Thank DK63
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your experience does not reflect our commitment to providing each and every guest with a memorable visit from arrival to departure. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will... More 

Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a gorgeous hotel. Great service. Only drawback is it has PAPER THIN walls. You can hear everything in the room next door along with a very loud toilet flush. Valet parking is quite expensive and takes a LONG time to get your car when you need it.

Helpful?
1 Thank faye1011
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the friendly service provided by our team. While Clift just celebrated our 100- year anniversary, we recognize there are certain design aspects of our historic building which cannot be modified such as the thickness of our walls. With over 372 guest rooms, we have many options to... More 

brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location. Bad sound proof in the rooms and size of the bathroom is quite hierd comparad to the room. The bar is vibrant simple and good options for a quick lunch. Good fragrance and decor. P Stark decor could be better maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Mariangela K
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location, we are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. Should appointed accommodations not be satisfactory for any reason, we are happy to provide alternatives, as based upon availability. We hope to... More 

Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Be warned (and read the other reviews) that the compulsory $25 per day "amenities fee" is distasteful profiteering. It covers basic internet (free elsewhere), terrible luke-warm flask coffee and a discount of $10 to an already inflated breakfast menu to ensure the discount is nothing but a perception. Rooms terrible - old fashioned. TV was old, not digital nor HD... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank timborules84
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction with our hotel. While we do charge a daily $25 Urban Facility Fee, guests can receive items like in room WiFi, a daily $10 breakfast credit and complimentary local and 1-800 phone calls included with their stay. Our new Urban Facility Fee allows for a great value... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here. Their valet service broke our car, making it unsafe to drive. The hotel manager was unable to contact the valet service manager to help us resolve the issue. They are unwilling to comp any part of the stay to reimburse repair costs to the car and we are left without a way to leave the city and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan F
Clift_Hotel_Manager, Director of Rooms at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review

We are just as surprised and deeply dismayed to hear about your experience. Please know that your comments do not reflect the level of service or our commitment to providing guests with a seamless stay from arrival to departure. We invite you to contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Rooms so we may discuss your concerns in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

837 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (481)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (189)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Private Apartment (55)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#39 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,393 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#74 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Union Square
Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighborhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theaters in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $197 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay