We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (12)

About

#23 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Desert Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the Inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special features including a Finnish Style Sauna, or Whirlpool tub, private balcony suite and fireplace suite, making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood Inn starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. Extras include : A gift shop on site in the breakfast room. We have Cards, Postcards, Maine Nature Photos, and we make sea glass jewelry and art works out of sea glass collected off our Island Shores. Order a fresh pie or cinnamon rolls or a fresh scrumptious fresh bread We offer Kayak & Canoe rentals and deliver to your freshwater destination for a small fee.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free parking
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
141Reviews
1Q+A
13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 116
  • 17
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had an event to attend in Bar Harbor. Stayed at the Heathwood Inn based or reviews. We weren't disappointed. The owner were delightful. Room was ready for us. Don't worry if you forget something, they've got you covered. Breaksfast was wonderful. Catered to my partner being
Read more
Response from Lena H, Owner at Heathwood Inn
Responded Mar 13, 2019
We are still talking about our visit at breakfast with you both. It was such great conversation. It’s so nice to get to know our guests and to receive these compliments. Thank you for your stay with us.
Read more
We booked this hotel on the reviews listed , however I must admit we were disappointed when we arrived. we were not greeted by the owners as they were absent upon arrival however they had emailed us to advise this.The inn is located too far out of town and your first impression
Read more
Response from Lena H, Owner at Heathwood Inn
Responded Sep 30, 2018
Ahh, Nigel, it was so nice to have had you here, and to see your smiling faces at breakfast. Concerning the check in, we are a small family operation and need to grocery shop etc, therefore, not knowing what time guests will actually arrive, we do offer pre e mails as well as instruction and text and phone call communication about self check in. With foreign numbers and booking engine bookings rather than direct contact, we realize some guests may not check e mails or texts. The Breakfast survey is offered in order to eliminate dietary restrictions and preferences guests may have when we plan the buffet style of service each morning for our 10-12 guests. I’d say we could very well be average, in comparison to the offerings of this area, as guests could reserve far ahead of time and pay anywhere from $200-$2500 per night and quite possibly have a more formal experience. We cannot change our location, but many guests feel relieved to be away from the congestion and pricing of Bar a Harbor after experiencing it. Again, thank you for your acquaintance, we enjoyed meeting you.
Read more
Great people, wonderful breakfast, clean rooms and a great location . The bus runs right out front and you can go all over the park for free. Also the bus can take your bike so you can ride in the park. We had car problems and the hosts were more than accommodating. We highly
Read more
Response from Lena H, Owner at Heathwood Inn
Responded Sep 4, 2018
It was so nic yo gave gas you stay! We enjoyed the visit.
Read more
Stayed for 2 nights recently. The owners were very helpful suggesting activities and dining ideas. The breakfast was very good. The owners helped us when Hotels.com messed up our reservation, and they graciously honored our pricing despite never having received our
Read more
Response from Lena H, Owner at Heathwood Inn
Responded Jul 17, 2018
I’ll have to look up what sneers means.... Thank you for the kind review! (I think ha ha)
Read more
Lovingly decorated with local Main Art, the Heathwood Inn provides sweet romantic getaway from the crowds at Bar Harbor. Lena your hostess makes incredible delicious breakfasts tailored to your style. They also have kayaks available for rent. Would definitely return.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineMount Desert IslandBar Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing