We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Tradewinds Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tradewinds Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I stayed here for a few times. Room was very clean, their beds are comfortable. Swimming pool is awesome. Kinda too expensive for the size of their rooms. The inside restaurant "Equador" has amazing food but the service was unfortunately bad. I wish they can do something about some of their waitresses. But overall, average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easteraulava
Ithaca, NY
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We just spent 4 days discovering the National Park of American Samoa, a truly beautiful place, While there we stayed at the Tradewinds. Before arrival we were told it was American Samoa's 5 Star resort. While not what we would expect from a 5 star in New York or London, it was a unique experience for where we were, The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank truane1148
Paso Robles, California
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Beautiful People. Beautiful Hotel. The staff was super. The free breakfast was great. Just the right amount to start my day. The room was very spacious and relaxful. Very clean and modern. The pool is really nice and perfect temp 24/7. The island is the gem on the South Pacific. Blue Water, Warm Water. The coastline is breathtaking. Try the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gkhuffman
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed August 23, 2016

The room that I stayed in was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the people are fantastic. I ate the continental breakfast each morning, it was always full of fruit and usually 1 or 2 pastry type of items that changed daily. It was nothing special, but it was good enough for me. You could order breakfast off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

This is a roadside inn comfort for the price of 5 star hotel. It is supposedly the best hotel in the town, but the town is so far away. Hotel recommended the in hotel car hire who did not have any cars. Only when I have asked the extremely helpful and friendly receptionist in Sadie Thompson's inn dead in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lepoje M
Seattle
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We were here for several weeks for work and had a great experience. The rooms were certainly comfortable, but as with most good hotel experiences, the enjoyable interaction with the staff made all the difference. All were good; particularly outstanding was Finau at the front desk. She remembered that I had been a guest 7 years before (no small feat),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen05
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Of all the hotels in American Samoa this one will be the best. A lil pricey but the staff and rooms were lovely. Breakfast is lovely. The pool is clean. Not Bad. My husband and I plus our friend enjoyed our stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nataliemachee
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Service was nice. Entrance, lobby, hallways were clean and spacious. Rooms are standard but comfy. In general restaurant food was good but the stakes were very good. Pool is not so large. Good place to have group meetings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majed M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 3, 2016

You certainly ease back in Pago, everyone drives at 25mph or less. The Tradewinds is not the only hotel in town but it's close. I decided to stay in a small suite as the price was very reasonable but the extra space was a bit of waste. The sort of little living room didn't have a TV so didn’t have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denabroad
THManagement2015, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Denaboard, Thank you for your review. That is American Samoa for you. Laidback, relax and enjoy the summer breeze and sunshine. Hope you visit again soon! Regards

Reviewed June 13, 2016

Good room. 100% working A/C. Good room service. Good location. Nice pool, restaurant, bar etc. My issue is with the front desk. I arrived with a group of about 30 people. All military personnel. We were first of all, all very much upset about the fact that we had no phone service on the island, at all, what upset us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
THManagement2015, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank Tom D for his version of events concerning his issue with our WIFI service. I am sure everyone who had stayed with us before our new WIFI service was launched can testify of the slow and undependable of that free service we used to offer. After consultation and surveying with a good number of guests,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pago Pago hotels
4.7 mi away
Sadie's by the Sea
Sadie's by the Sea
#2 of 4 in Pago Pago
150 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sadie Thompson Inn
Sadie Thompson Inn
#3 of 4 in Pago Pago
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel

Address: Ottoville Road, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Location: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Price Range: $152 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Pago
Tradewinds Hotel American Samoa/Pago Pago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tradewinds Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors will give you amazing views and more quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles easteraulava, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Suits were a bit higher in price but the extra space was worth it,”
 of 5 bubbles truane1148, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“There can be large groups at the poolside dining area on Friday and Saturday nights.”
 of 5 bubbles Glen05, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Best to have time to order the cooked breakfast as the buffet lacked anything of interest.”
 of 5 bubbles Denabroad, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
“Load up on water, beer & snacks at the market down the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 259jimmyh, Jan 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay