We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hale Ko'olau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hauula
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Ko\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding last summer. The wedding was held at the big house and was very nice... The owners were very kind and helpful. We loved the view from our condo. You can't beat the price and it was very peaceful. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed combing the beach on low tide. This beach is... More 

Helpful?
Thank mshelle13
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

First I will start with the positives. We did love the location of the property, right on the water. There really isn't a beach in front of the property, there is a rock wall to the water.Beautiful view of the ocean! We rented two separate spaces, the Molokai studio for my husband and I and the Ehu Kai studio for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelin2016
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We are aware of the ceiling issue. Unfortunately the company that installed our solar system caused a small leak and we've had to go through their damage resolution process. I am happy to say, however, that the roof and interior ceilings are scheduled to be fixed this month from January 23 to 26. As... More 

Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Just returned home from staying 7 days with a group of 13 extended family members in two separate properties, the Pukana La and the Nani Kai Hale. I had previously stayed at this property in June of 2014 and everything was great. The primary issue this year was poor customer service with Dave (all other staff were great). I contacted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

I wasn't really surprised to find this 1 star review. It really is a shame since I went out of my way to accommodate her, including providing complimentary snorkel and beach equipment to her entire group of 13 travelers which of course, she doesn't mention. Also, her reservation was only paid for 12 guests however by her own admission she... More 

Hawaii
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

As a family of four we traveled to Hawaii for a vacation on the calm North Shore. We decided to try a different location rather than Haleiwa and ended up choosing Hale Ko'olau. We rented a divided home that was right on the water front which was very nice, but if you don't like your floors or bedding being salty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan692183
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Ko'olani Kai 2 bedroom 1 bath, oceanfront the view was beautiful, however the customer service was sub par. Dave the owner needs to have better customer service. I checked in on a late Friday night and the moment I opened the home it was a overwhelming smell of lemon pinesol cleaner I needed to air out the home... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jamespW4253KS
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & mahalo for your review. Our rentals are literally 10-20 feet from the ocean and when they care closed during the day they take on the odor of the ocean. For those of us used to living by the ocean we probably don't notice, but the vast majority of our guests travel from places where they are not near... More 

Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Stayed in a two bedroom, 1st floor unit. It was adequately supplied and in good shape. The unit has two big windows that look out onto the ocean....fantastic view....problem is one of them is a bedroom up front where you can sleep looking out at the ocean but they have stuck a big light right in front of the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your response. The exterior lights can be turned off and the lights you mention are actually controlled by the switch on the ocean-facing wall of the bedroom you were staying in. We use a PBX call management system which traces all calls and records all messages and we have none from you asking about the light. We... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Great place to relax and enjoy the real Hawaii!! Enjoyed the all inclusive rentals for the beach they offer. Loved that all units have full kitchens which saved to cook our own food rather that going out every night!

Helpful?
Thank Reasunshine88
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at this location as it was out of waikiki, close to the beach and could fit a family of 7 under one roof. We found it easily as we had a GPS but did go past it once as it was hard to spot. The property met our expectations having a kitchen was great as we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylie O
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Our family of four just returned home from a one week stay at this property. We chose this property for its proximity to the beach, views, price, and number of bedrooms. The location is about 45 minutes from the airport, and not marked clearly from the road, so be sure to keep your eyes peeled when you are in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed as a party of 15 using 3 units here. Units are old but maintained. It served its purposes for us with 9 children in the party. The weather was the kicker for us but the accommodation was good and the price was spot on. We will be back in one of our annual visits to Hawaii. Dave was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
Hale K, Manager at Hale Ko'olau, responded to this review

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We're happy that our property was comfortable for your family and friends. We work hard each day to provide affordable and family-friendly oceanfront accommodations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauula
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Oahu North Shore
23.8 mi away
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
23.4 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,891 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hale Ko'olau Hawaii Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Oahu is a family owned & operated business rated "excellent" on TripAdvisor and ranked the #1 specialty lodging in our area. Our oceanfront & beachfront vacation rental homes are located next door to one another in Honolulu, Hawaii in the small fishing town of Hauula on Oahu's North Shore near the Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay, Sacred Falls, Sunset Beach, Pipeline, Kualoa Ranch and many other wonderful Oahu attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ko'olau

Address: 54-223 Kamehameha Hwy, PO Box 223, Hauula, Oahu, HI 96717-9522
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Hauula
Price Range: $99 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hale Ko`Olau Hotel Hauula
Hale Ko'Olau Hauula, Hawaii - Oahu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing