We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I went up to the North Shore with a couple of friends during my three weeks in Oahu. Stayed for two nights in a dorm room at this hostel. The location was good for us, because we had a car, but otherwise it is pretty far from everything except the beach :-) There's a store a few minutes away by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malene K
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Close to grocery and across from 3 tables beach. Front desk people were both really nice, Greg and a woman who was originally from Michigan. Common area was ok. A little dirty but fine. I wasn't expecting the Hyatt but the room was horrible. No AC and the fan was broken. No closet or place to set your... More 

Helpful?
Thank garysP755FL
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Aloha Sorry for your bad experience. Yes it is true we don't have any AC in any of our rooms. Usually the fan is good enough. It's unfortunate yours was broken, please come to us next time with concerns and we will be happy to help fix them. Glad you enjoyed sharks cove :) Mahalo More 

Travelers are raving about these Haleiwa hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reasons to stay here: - one of very few cheap options on Oahu's northern shore Reasons not to stay here - Yes, it is cheap ... but it is still very poor value for money (out of five hostels I visited in Hawaii this was by far the worst deal I got) - the dormitory can be found in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SchwarzwaldTraveller
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Aloha We are sorry that you had a bad experience with us! We do clean the cabins every morning we apologize it wasn't up to par for you. Yes it is true there are no sound proof windows and sometimes people like to stay up and chat and enjoy some stories over a couple of drinks. However, quite hours are... More 

Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for four nights. Its true the place could do with a deep clean. But during my time there the staff came through everyday and swept the floor, cleaned all the surfaces and the bathroom. It's an amazing location, across the road from the beach and only a couple of minutes to the food trucks and supermarket. The common... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelle F
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

A big mahalo for the kind words! We are working on renovating the cabins and giving them a make over! So stoked that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that you come back to visit us one day. :) Aloha More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

We were supposed to stay there for 3 nights. We did not even stay for one. This place is really dirty and gross. The owner rarely comes over and the staff are too busy talking about sex to clean the dorms. Btw the staff dorms is probably the dirtiest of all. Except for the guy at the office (who was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank catherinebeaulieu
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Hey Catherine! We are sorry you didn't enjoy your time here with us. We hope the North Shore was still a pleasant experience and you took advantage of the beauty Hawaii has to offer. How great are those lunch trucks?! So convenient to just stroll down and grab a bite. My favorite is elephant truck. About the lizards and the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

The dorm rooms are great with good communal areas but the staff are rude, no respect for customers, possibly high all the time as the rude girl entered the building multiple times wearing sunglasses inside every time, waking everyone up at 9am to tell you your checking out which you already know. Would stay again but staff need to sort... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
connerjwagner, Manager at Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village, responded to this review

Hey Adam! Thanks for the review man. Stoked you had overall a good time. Yes Alexis isn't the best people person but she's a damn good cleaner. We will tell her to chill out. Mahalo More 

Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Stayed on the beachside, and when you wake up to a million dollar view of the beach, amazing. It is a backpackers and it is what you expect, but a great location close to food tucks, supermarket and everything you need. Beach going gear of snorkels and body boards to loan with a deposit.

Helpful?
Thank Suva T
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Great location, food trucks & everything you need in walking distance along with an easy bus system. The staff are all super friendly & helpful and regularly run world class snorkelling tours. There are bikes, surfboards, snorkels, fins & various other playthings all available at a very reasonable rate to hire at reception. It's no 5 star accommodation but if... More 

Helpful?
Thank elsiejdodd
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I knew this wasn't going to be a 5 star resort. It was clean enough for what it is and we had a patio overlooking the ocean. Staff were generally friendly and the beds were not terrible. Loved the beach across the road, the five minute walk to the supermarket and food vans. I'd stay again.

Helpful?
Thank DeanMosz
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing time staying at backpackers Hawaii on the north shore. For the price we payed it had everything you need for the average backpacker travelling on a budget. We were staying in the backhouse which had everything we needed and some awesome views! All the beaches, grocery store and food trucks were within a 5-10 minute walk. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 stars 3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget accommodation and hostel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village

Address: 59-788 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-9420
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Price Range: $78 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hotel Haleiwa
Backpackers Vacation Inn And Plantation Village Hawaii/Oahu - Haleiwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay