We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Northshore Hostel Maui

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Northshore Hostel Maui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved it there. the staff was amazing and so helpful (especcially Janine). They helped us with everything: planning our daily trips, fixing our car, finding a cheap car rental, finding good hostels on the other islands. I've rarely seen such great staff in a hostel. In the end of our stay Janine (and her put dog Elvis) was more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling917
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night only while waiting on connecting flights. Wish I coulda stayed longer! Friendly, informative staff. Clean, comfy rooms. And homemade complimentary pancakes! Highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Christina G
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spend few nights there, one of the best hostel in the world where I was. Fantastic, helpfull crew, nice rooms, and good location on island. Free pancakes and coffee, big kitchen with lot of stuff. You can drink alcohol inside

Helpful?
Thank Gábor H
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I originally planned to stay here for 4 nights but ended up staying 10. The staff are all super helpful and awesome people. The hostel is VERY clean. Even the rooms/dorms are swept and mopped everyday. The kitchen facilities are fantastic. Also the free pancake and coffee breakfast is a huge bonus. There is a quiet time from 1030 pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelle F
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is very dirty and smelly. The structure is decrepit and the place where is located is a bit depressive. The double room are small, uncomfortable and very high priced for what they offer . All bathrooms are shared, but nothing to complain here. The lady at reception desk was very kind and helpful. They have good general services... More 

Helpful?
Thank Filomena M
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Filomena, we regret that you're experience was 'Terrible' and had so many complaints about our hostel, and that you've posted a similar review on Booking, but pleasantly surprised at least that you found 'nothing to complain here' about having to share a bathroom. We're happy that you found something that we did to your liking. And yes the lady... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

We were there for 5 days and stayed in a private room. Very quiet to rest and clean. We had free pancakes, coffee, tea and basic kitchen needs. Be aware of the parking lot you have in front of the hostel. When they say 12h parking is 12h h parking!

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thanks for taking the time to post a review and most of all thank you for staying at the Northshore Hostel Maui....we appreciate your business....Aloha More 

Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

I've always loved Maui but accommodations can be so expensive. This was the first time I'd seen Northshore Hostel in my search so they must be busy a lot. I'll start with a few of my not so favorite things. The bed was just ok. My room did not have air conditioning, only fans, so it was almost always a... More 

Helpful?
Thank happy_nomad_11
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear happy_nomad Thanks for your summary of our business and taking the time to write. We're happy you found your Maui home and that we could provide a pleasant experience here at Northshore Hostel Maui....mahalo nui loa! More 

Port Ludlow, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Second time I've stayed here, as some mainland flights arrive in Maui too late for Molokai connection. Such a deal: free shuttle from airport & back (do tip!), people who work here are nice & helpful, the other travelers are always interesting. I'm happy to share a dorm room, as long as I get a lower bunk! Felt very comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathpurvis
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear kathpurvis Mahalo for your kind words....we hope to see you back soon at Northshore Hostel Maui! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

I came for some much needed R&R and found the hostel a perfect place to stay. They do a great job at keeping the place clean and organized. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I have stayed before and will definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Alone....thanks for your visit...we're happy you enjoyed your R & R at Maui's best hostel.... The Northshore Hostel Maui! Mahalo More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Room tiny but comfortable and clean, conditioned air. The kitchen was full of accessories. The stuff kindly and friendly. They give you all info you need. There is a free wifi and a pc to use. Close to airport of Kahului, close to the restaurants and cafè.

Helpful?
Thank Zonex S
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Zonex....mahalo from the friendly and cute staff of The Norhshore Hostel Maui More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $64 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay