We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 08/30/2020.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$99
$85
View Deal
SAVE $14
Free cancellation until 09/12/20
Agoda.com
$99
$85
View Deal
SAVE $14
Free cancellation until 09/13/20
Priceline
Expedia.com$99
CheapTickets$99
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (115)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Wailuku
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Wifi
Snack bar
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, German
620Reviews7Q+A91Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 347
  • 191
  • 44
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jas wrote a review Apr 2020
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
This global pandemic brings out the best and worst in people and their businesses. I'll like future visitors to know what type of people run this hostel and you can decide to go with them or not based on how they handle things during this pandemic. Due to the Covid-19 virus, my country warned its citizens that borders will be closed starting in the next couple of days for all non-essential travels. I really wanted to go on this trip but this announcement came the day before my departure. I called the hostel as soon as the announcements were made, letting them know that if I leave for Hawaii, I would not be allowed to come back home, therefore I needed to cancel. At first, the man on the phone seemed understanding and said he will refund me the following day. I thanked him and said because of this, I will REBOOK with them as soon as this pandemic is over. However, the next day, the same man picked up the phone and gave me a different name and pretended to not remember our previous conversation. He refused to let me talk to the manager and told me to send an email instead. After sending an email they said no and said that since my flight wasn't cancelled by the gov't and that I cancelled it myself ( due to gov't instructions), I won't be receiving a refund. I called again to ask why he said the opposite when we talked on the phone and the same man ( he has a very distinctive way of talking btw) gave me a DIFFERENT name again and said that he will get back to me and try to refund me. This again was a lie. I got no callback. No emails. The 3rd time I tried calling, the same man gave me a different name once AGAIN and pretended to be very understanding and promised to call me back. As you can guess, I never got a callback. I understand that these are unpredictable times now. However, to continuously give out fake names, make promises knowing very well that they have no intention to keep them was unnecessary. I explained to him on the 2nd phone call that I've been saving up for a trip to Maui for a year now and this was a graduation gift to myself. I had every intention to go until my government's announcements. I don't have a job right now due to this shutdown. $60 is a lot to me as a recent grad and the man on the phone pretended to be sympathetic and promising a refund all while lying to me and giving me different names. How shameful. If you guys ever have plans to honour anything you said, please call/email back. If not, at least the public knows how the people that operate this hostel stand morally.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dour, Owner at Northshore Hostel Maui
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 919, it is regrettable that you had such a bad experience on the phone and that you feel you were lied to and deceived by the same man. During these 'unpredictable times' we are using guidelines set forth by government agencies. If a reservation does not meet those guidelines then we treat it as we would any other situation and enforce standard policy. It is a difficult time for everyone, and we are trying to leave emotions out of the process. We hope you managed to celebrate your graduation in some special way...aloha.
Read more
Audrey W wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
This was definitely a good experience and I met some cool people. If you are looking to experience authentic Maui then I highly suggest this Hostel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The one negative would be some bug issues. I came across a cockroach wandering the floor of my room and a few ants here and there. Although Undoubtedly this is not a common problem seeing as how the rest of the place is kept very clean. It's a perfect place for independent travelers or small groups.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room #9 (one queen bed), has its own sink and toilet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Amanda S wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
Garret and the staff are amazing! very clean would recommend to anyone travelling to maui! It's a little bit out of the way but only a block away from local transit that will take you anywhere on the island. Plus the wailuku coffee company is a block away and they have the best coffee and breakfast in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
E1189FSalexandrec wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Uncertain cleanliness of sheets provided (seemed to be those of the previous traveler) and of room (dust). Old creaky beds and rough strips from bed ladder torn off (it would be safer to remove them completely). Price too high for a dorm and facilities of this quality, in addition to the fact that towels are not even provided. Breakfast provided is actually ingredients that you have to mix yourself to cook pancakes and then eggs: at this price, we would have expected better and more. Lack of seats (less than 10) for lunch for all travelers of hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at back to avoid street noises
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
CDR wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
I tried to make a spontaneous and direct booking with this hostel and made the mistake of choosing a bed in a male dorm (being a female traveller myself). Having travelled for several weeks and having only encountered female and mixed dorm categories, I assumed the male category would be the same as mixed. I did, however, try to let the hostel know of my mistake as promptly as possible (within 2hrs of the reservation), so they would not have to hold on to the reservation on my behalf. Seeing that the reservation was only made 24h in advance, I could not have possibly given them 2 days' cancellation notice. After calling them several times – each time being promised a call back which never happened – I emailed them and they still insisted not refunding in a really RUDE and NOT AT ALL CUSTOMER-ORIENTED way. I simply cannot believe how entitled their management must feel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sightsee67836740666, General Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui
Responded Apr 3, 2020
It’s regrettable that you are aggrieved about your booking error. Unfortunately we were unable to accommodate you by no fault of our own. Your booking prevented us to reallocate the bed for a male to to stay at our hostel because we held the reservation you made for a male dormitory bed. Our cancellation policy is been made clear online and in your confirmation email. We wish you the best in your future travels. Aloha, The Northshore Hostel Maui
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northshore maui hotel wailuku
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailuku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Northshore Hostel Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Northshore Hostel Maui?
Nearby attractions include Iao Valley State Monument (0.2 miles), Mystery Maui Escape Room (0.05 miles), and The Historic IAO Theater (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Northshore Hostel Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Northshore Hostel Maui?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Northshore Hostel Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Northshore Hostel Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include 808 on Main, Wailuku Coffee Company, and Giannotto's Pizzaria.
Does Northshore Hostel Maui have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Northshore Hostel Maui offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Northshore Hostel Maui?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Northshore Hostel Maui?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Northshore Hostel Maui?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (0.2 miles), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (1.6 miles), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (0.08 miles).