We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (119)
Room & Suite (19)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
Updated 08/19/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/19/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Wailuku
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Howzit Hostels is centrally located in Maui and is the perfect place to explore our tropical paradise for a reasonable price! Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Hair dryer
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
626Reviews8Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 350
  • 191
  • 45
  • 22
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ilya Feldman wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
My friends and I are scheduled to check out on May 2nd and we are said to say that we've had to endure a terrible hostel experience during our stay. Between the maddening noise of cockadoodledooing roosters which start crowing incessantly through the windows just after 4:00 AM, complete lack of dorm space, fake pillows and greedy management, which charged us more for a tiny room in a terrible location that's a great distance away from Maui's main attractions, than what we paid for an entire two-room suite in downtown Waikiki, you may not find a lot to like about this place. Did I mention that Wi-Fi only works near the reception area, never inside the dorms, and there is no hot water coming from the shower heads whenever solar pannels fail to draw enough energy from the sun?!? Consider yourselves warned and think twice before booking a reservation at this location. Based on the awful personal experience my friends and I have suffered during our stay at Northshore Hostel, I fully intend to seek a substantial portion of the original booking charges to be refunded back to my credit card.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Hello Ilya, we are very sorry that our hostel did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback. The Northshore Hostel is currently under new ownership and we are working diligently to make improvements where possible. We are quite proud of the amazing job our staff is doing to provide an incredible experience for our guests. We do hope you will return one day to view all of the positive changes we are making on a daily basis. Mahalo and Aloha - Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John D wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favorite Review
Incredible vibes in this hostel. Zack, Steven, daisy, and all the other staff were super nice and amenities are top notch. Free pancakes, coffee, showers, towels , activities during the week. Cliff jumping , sea turtle diving. Trivia was fun. - J DOG
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Aloha, and thank you so much for your awesome review! We are thrilled that you loved the amenities and activities offered and that you had such a great experience here at Northshore and with our awesome staff. Come back and see us again! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed 3 nights at the Northshore Hostel in Wailuku, Maui. It was by far the cheapest accommodation on the island, and we were very happy with our stay. We ended up booking 3 separate stays and stayed in 3 separate locations, so we got to try the private room, 4-bed dorm, and 8-bed dorm. The dorms can get a little stuffy, but there are both AC and ceiling fans. I brought ear plugs and slept very well. The showers were clean and some shower gel and shampoo was available. The showers were not as warm our second and 3rd night, but it is warmer on Maui than on the other islands, so it didn't bother me too much. I believe it is important to note that this hostel provides free chocolate chip pancakes every morning and different activities every day (Trivia night, snorkeling excursion, road to Hana...). I did not feel like it was advertised enough, and it is truly awesome that they provide guests with opportunities to explore the island, even those who don't have a car to get around. Some reviews mentioned the hostel being located in an unsafe neighborhood, and I disagree. I wouldn't wander around alone at night, but the hostel is very safe and requires a code for entry. We parked our rental car on the more well-lit streets and had no issues. The neighborhood is very artsy and full of gorgeous murals. The hostel even provides a map of the murals in the common area. It is close to the airport and Iao Valley State Park. We met lots of wonderful and very friendly people (both staff and guests) and will keep very fond memories of our time at the North Shore hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Aloha, and thank you kindly for your thorough review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here and that the hostel exceeded your expectations! The chocolate chip pancakes and excursions are certainly a favorite of ours as well, and we love that you were able to take advantage of them! We are also so happy to hear you found the art and charm of Wailuku appealing and welcoming. We would love to see you again and have you stay with us, should you make your way back to Maui in the future. Thanks again for sharing your time with us! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucia R wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
Walked in the hostel to stay for one night. Due to credit card issues I couldn‘t book online. It costed me 70$ which I find super expensive for a bed in a dorm. Nobody could explain lower prices online??? The room smelled pretty bad and didn‘t have lockers or something to put your stuff. Wouldn‘t go again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Aloha, and thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We do offer a 5% discount for booking through our website, and although traveling to Maui can be expensive, we aim to keep prices reasonable and affordable for our guests and are the cheapest accommodation on Maui. We are always committed to learning and improving, and have an amazing housekeeping staff that deep cleans all areas on a daily basis. As for the lockers, we understand the need to store your belongings securely and have a safe, as well as a large luggage closet that stays locked which guests are welcome to use. We hope you’ll find the improvements we are making to be a positive change in a future visit if you’re ever back on Maui! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F. J. M. D. wrote a review Sep 2021
21 contributions7 helpful votes
The location is creepy. Then some scary door and an “escaped from hell looking one” welcomes. Next floor there are not sanitary measures, it is clean, illuminated . But it is so tiny that it feels like too many people in such a reduced place? Not comfortable, not healthy. And people seemed like so. Sorry. It is not worth the price, I would prefer to sleep in the sand.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Aloha, and we appreciate your feedback. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here and that you had safety concerns. Please do be assured that the security of our guests is our utmost priority, which is why we have 24 hour reception, monitoring security cameras, state of the art smart locks on our doors, motion activated lights, and more. We are unsure of the room/space you are mentioning that is small, but please rest assured that we are up to date with all fire code regulations for guest capacity. We hope that you will consider returning in the future to see all the improvements we are continuing to make to the hostel. Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucie R wrote a review Mar 2021
7 contributions9 helpful votes
The Northshore Hostel Maui was an awesome stay! Rooms were spacious enough, and the place was equipped with a full kitchen, free coffee and pancakes. There was a spacious community area as well, and great wifi connection for early morning classes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Aloha, and thanks so much for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed the space (and the delicious pancakes!) and hope you’ll connect with us again on your next trip back to Maui! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jas wrote a review Apr 2020
Calgary, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
This global pandemic brings out the best and worst in people and their businesses. I'll like future visitors to know what type of people run this hostel and you can decide to go with them or not based on how they handle things during this pandemic. Due to the Covid-19 virus, my country warned its citizens that borders will be closed starting in the next couple of days for all non-essential travels. I really wanted to go on this trip but this announcement came the day before my departure. I called the hostel as soon as the announcements were made, letting them know that if I leave for Hawaii, I would not be allowed to come back home, therefore I needed to cancel. At first, the man on the phone seemed understanding and said he will refund me the following day. I thanked him and said because of this, I will REBOOK with them as soon as this pandemic is over. However, the next day, the same man picked up the phone and gave me a different name and pretended to not remember our previous conversation. He refused to let me talk to the manager and told me to send an email instead. After sending an email they said no and said that since my flight wasn't cancelled by the gov't and that I cancelled it myself ( due to gov't instructions), I won't be receiving a refund. I called again to ask why he said the opposite when we talked on the phone and the same man ( he has a very distinctive way of talking btw) gave me a DIFFERENT name again and said that he will get back to me and try to refund me. This again was a lie. I got no callback. No emails. The 3rd time I tried calling, the same man gave me a different name once AGAIN and pretended to be very understanding and promised to call me back. As you can guess, I never got a callback. I understand that these are unpredictable times now. However, to continuously give out fake names, make promises knowing very well that they have no intention to keep them was unnecessary. I explained to him on the 2nd phone call that I've been saving up for a trip to Maui for a year now and this was a graduation gift to myself. I had every intention to go until my government's announcements. I don't have a job right now due to this shutdown. $60 is a lot to me as a recent grad and the man on the phone pretended to be sympathetic and promising a refund all while lying to me and giving me different names. How shameful. If you guys ever have plans to honour anything you said, please call/email back. If not, at least the public knows how the people that operate this hostel stand morally.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Dour, Owner at Howzit Hostels
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Dear 919, it is regrettable that you had such a bad experience on the phone and that you feel you were lied to and deceived by the same man. During these 'unpredictable times' we are using guidelines set forth by government agencies. If a reservation does not meet those guidelines then we treat it as we would any other situation and enforce standard policy. It is a difficult time for everyone, and we are trying to leave emotions out of the process. We hope you managed to celebrate your graduation in some special way...aloha.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Audrey W wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
This was definitely a good experience and I met some cool people. If you are looking to experience authentic Maui then I highly suggest this Hostel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The one negative would be some bug issues. I came across a cockroach wandering the floor of my room and a few ants here and there. Although Undoubtedly this is not a common problem seeing as how the rest of the place is kept very clean. It's a perfect place for independent travelers or small groups.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room #9 (one queen bed), has its own sink and toilet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amanda S wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Garret and the staff are amazing! very clean would recommend to anyone travelling to maui! It's a little bit out of the way but only a block away from local transit that will take you anywhere on the island. Plus the wailuku coffee company is a block away and they have the best coffee and breakfast in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
E1189FSalexandrec wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Uncertain cleanliness of sheets provided (seemed to be those of the previous traveler) and of room (dust). Old creaky beds and rough strips from bed ladder torn off (it would be safer to remove them completely). Price too high for a dorm and facilities of this quality, in addition to the fact that towels are not even provided. Breakfast provided is actually ingredients that you have to mix yourself to cook pancakes and then eggs: at this price, we would have expected better and more. Lack of seats (less than 10) for lunch for all travelers of hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at back to avoid street noises
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$159 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northshore maui hotel wailuku
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailuku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Howzit Hostels
Which popular attractions are close to Howzit Hostels?
Nearby attractions include Iao Valley State Monument (0.2 miles), Mystery Maui Escape Room (0.05 miles), and The Historic IAO Theater (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Howzit Hostels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Howzit Hostels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Howzit Hostels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Howzit Hostels?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howzit Hostels?
Conveniently located restaurants include 808 on Main, Lorraine's Shave Ice, and Wailuku Coffee Company.
Are any cleaning services offered at Howzit Hostels?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Howzit Hostels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Howzit Hostels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (0.2 miles), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (1.6 miles), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (0.08 miles).
Does Howzit Hostels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.