We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

This place has no AC. It's dirty. The staff is not helpful. They have a lot of chickens that like to crow at all hours not to mention it's loud. The house is old. The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. When I tried to get a refund, even outside of 48 hours the manager said absolutely not. They know they... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Frank M
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We do not have AC and we don't advertise as such so I'm sorry you were expecting that. While we don't have any chickens, they tend to roam around Maui and unfortunately we cannot keep them out of our yard. I'm sorry if the chickens kept you awake!... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

I extended holidays to include a trip to Maui and so glad I did! I was low on cash and not comfortable driving on the 'other' side of the road. The free tours included were a highlight of my whole trip, thanks to Nick and Zac the incredible tour guides! They had great awareness of the safety of the group... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Amy T
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

Banana bungalow was a good hostel to stay at. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere, and i would recommend getting a car while there. The staff I felt with were a bit useless and not very friendly, but my friends had other staff and really liked them. Good showers and toilets. Was a bit scared i was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ShezLeo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

My experience staying at the Banana Bungalow on three different occasions in the past year has been nothing short of wonderful! My total combined stay has been just short of three months in those three combined stays. This was not my original intention…and in fact, I only planned to stay at the Bungalow for three days upon my first arrival—simply... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry F
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

I have to say this hostel was a unique experience. Almost notorious on the island, it is known as a party hostel. They do party but strictly shut things down at 10 PM. As far as I saw they were very clean and had hot water even at the busy times (in most showers). There were always enough bathrooms and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank a2ztraveladdict
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

This place is an experience ! ! ! personally , I would not have missed it for the world and if you have any sense of adventure neither should you ! Never have I met such a mix of people from many countries. The staff manage this place incredibly well. They do it with a very light touch but it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank malloryhelen
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

They keep this place pretty clean considering the amount of people coming and going all that time. The free tours are really a great add on. Quiet time after 10 is strictly enforced but bring ear plugs anyway. People are awake and moving around at all hours. If your staying in a dorm, a big suitcase will be hard to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsie E
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

The free tours are the best that this hostel has to offer. Everyday is a different one and you just tip the tour guide. The staff is really nice and friendly. I was traveling by myself and made friends in the first day. The bedrooms are hostels' standards (stayed on shared room), but there's no lockers on the room. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alessandra C
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2016

I came with a friend and we both weren't sure about it at first because of the location. I got to admit, it's not the best location if you don't want to do the tours and want to be on your own without a car. The bus is really slow but it passes every 30 minutes!! Anyway's you have time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank margeparadis
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

I loved my stay at the Banana Bungalow. The staff is very friendly. After a few days, they will treat you more like friends than clients. Azi, the manager, will do everything she can to accommodate you and answers her emails in no time. They do overbook sometimes, but I feel it's just because they really want to accommodate everybody... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maryline_Vv
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 10 in Wailuku
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#2 of 5 in Paia
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $77 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay