We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 435: English reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is quite good. Because it is small you get to know the people and they offer daily tours for a good price. But the rooms and bathrooms are not all up to date. It is a question if luck which room you will get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree K
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing experience; rooms are very small and cramps 4 people in minimal space. Very unprofessional, careless staff. Communal toilet /bathroomfacilities are in bad shape and barely function. And the place enforces a kitchen curfew until 8 am - making it difficult to plan any early activities. Free tours are often cancelled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We do our best to keep things clean and all our bathrooms are functioning but I apologize they were not up to your standard! During the time period you were here, we experienced an unprecedented storm that caused...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Great hostel for backpackers, this hostel has a very international feel. The rooms and bathrooms could be maintained a bit better, but they're clean and comfortable nonetheless. The staff is excellent, very friendly, welcoming and fun to hang out with. The best thing about BB are their daily tours to Maui's many different hidden treasures...hikes, waterfalls, beaches, sunset points. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranit S
New York City, New York
Reviewed September 2, 2016

First off- there are FREE tours EVERY day to scenic Maui locations hosted by hostel staff. Given the hostel's somewhat isolated location, it's amazing and definitely worth taking advantage of. You don't even have to think. Definitely bring cash to tip the staff, as they're doing it "for free". Nick was so awesome :) It's more like a shack, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed August 8, 2016

The hostel itself is outdated and kitchen and bathrooms are not very clean and outdated as well. That's just the way it is. On the other hand though, if you are an outgoing, free spirited person, this is the place where you will have the time of your life. Very attended by backpackers and other "lost travelers", everybody there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillGill18
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

The stuff are friendly and nice. Every evening is a lovely atmosphere. It's a good place to make party. Further more you can play pool, ping pong, table soccer and dart. Unfortunately the restrooms are very dirty. There were ants in our beds..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian O
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed at! Alot of fun and a great vibe. The free daily tours are a great way to see everything the island has to offer! The tour guides Zac & Nick are great guys and it's always a good time! All the staff are friendly and the hostel offers lots of perks! Highly Recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
Brampton, Canada
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I stayed at the Banana Bungalow for 8 days and completed all of the tours they offered. This was my first time travelling as a solo traveller in a hostel and it was an amazing experience. I opted for a women's only dorm and was able to get a room with one other female roommate. The staff at the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emilypostma
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Best place to go! Nick and Zach for the win😏 They put some extra tips in our stay. Everything was perfect! Also met incredible soul from all around the world. Montreal, Qc girls own the place. Road to Hana for sure.. Once is never enough🙃 Thank you all guys!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie G
Reviewed June 22, 2016

I'm a resident on Oahu and took a trip to Maui with a friend for an extended weekend. The private double we stayed in was clean, except for termite droppings in the window sill. Bathrooms were cleaned daily and the best part were the tours that were offered daily! Staff is friendly and VERY helpful! To make a long story...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
991 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
505 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
423 reviews
13.5 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $48 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floor had better showers”
 of 5 bubbles Daisypledger, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“friendly staff, good tours, awesome vibes”
 of 5 bubbles JWalker4568, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms looked like an excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles KellieM612, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms with multiple beds, or private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles 602jerryf, Feb 24, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid " TV" room if staying more than a couple of nights as it is dark with no windows. I was very happy in a 4 bed all female dorm !”
 of 5 bubbles malloryhelen, Feb 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question