Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat

Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat

1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
A full Rainbow during our last moments at Lumeria Maui.
Traveler (284)
Grounds
Room & Suite (88)
Mubu at the Lumeria Maui Retreat
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 8
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$394
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 8
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$394
No prepayment needed
$315
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 cottages in Makawao
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Lumeria Maui is an educational retreat center located in beautiful Upcountry Maui. We offer classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts & metaphysical studies, horticulture & culture, and dance & movement therapies. Our historic compound, originally built in 1910, has been extensively renovated and carefully redesigned to meet the growing needs of individuals and groups seeking alternative and experiential learning. Guest rooms and suites are offered for community students and island visitors seeking overnight accommodations while on retreat. Overnight lodgers must enroll in Lumeria’s daily classes or be part of a focused retreat group. Lumeria’s onsite restaurant, The Wooden Crate, serves farm-to-table nourishing and delicious meals to students, retreats, community patrons and visitors, and The Wellness Spa at Lumeria offers bodywork, massage and healing arts therapies and private lessons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Windsurfing
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
807Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 495
  • 138
  • 86
  • 48
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HighlyKinetic wrote a review Aug 2020
San Diego, California108 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to the 14 day quarantine for out of state travelers, it was a wonderful opportunity to visit Maui upcountry senza gaggles of tourists. The hotel was easy to find and a short distance from the airport with excellent security measures. Kristen was a gracious host and gave us complimentary upgrades when we communicated via email. Upon arrival, she had left us keys on the piano in the historic memorial home of Fred Baldwin. The hotel grounds were absolutely gorgeous and we enjoyed relaxed reading by the pine trees. We were the only guests and had the whole place to ourselves. Although yoga classes were not in session, there was an option to access them online with provided yoga mats and blocks. Although the restaurant was closed, we did fine with in room mini refrigerators, a shared microwave and silverwares. Overall, it was a super relaxing gorgeous stay and Kristen was a fabulous hostess.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris C wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California10 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What an incredible place to stay! The building, grounds, and location are truly stunning and immediately drop you into a relaxed state of mind. Everything is so impeccably maintained and tastefully designed. We partook in a morning yoga class and singing bowl meditation there as well, both of which further added to our sense of ease and wellness. There is no AC in the rooms but the ceiling fan and window fan provided did the trick at night while we spent most of our days out by the pool or reading in the shade. The internet is spotty but you shouldn't be online here anyway! The one bummer to the whole experience is that the restaurant and spa still aren't open. Even when every other resort on the island is fully operational, it seems the Lumeria is still struggling to get up to speed. Unfortunate because with those two things, this really is a little slice of paradise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jeanbean10 wrote a review Jan 2023
Philadelphia21 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While the physical property at Lumeria is stunning and beautifully maintained, and its peaceful, quiet and calm energy delightful (except for the occasional rooster) there are a lot of missing amenities at this place that cause me to question what exactly the high room rates and resort fees do cover. The rooms, while comfortable and fairly nice, are dated, ours with broken window treatments, and many in need of serious updating.

A resort of this type should offer guest laundry facilities, or, at least a way to have dirty clothes sent out for laundering. ( I was met with a shrug from the reception area when I mentioned this.) The pool had missing and broken lounge chairs and no umbrellas so there was no place to escape the intense sun while at the pool. I cannot comment on the dinners, but the breakfasts were quite underwhelming and always the same bacon, eggs, oatmeal and a lot of bread-y items each day. Pancakes one day were the special. Surprising for a facility that bills itself as a "health and wellness" center. While other condos and airbnb's on the island provided all manner of beach items for our use - we were given two worn out towels.

The yoga studio is positioned right next to the dining area so that it was impossible to concentrate or even hear the instructor with all of the noise from guests congregating and chatting outside of the doors. Again, for a facility that emphasizes wellness programs, there do not seem to be enough facilities to do so or the proper environment to hold classes in. There is one quonset hut and one yoga studio and a large grassy area which went mostly unused during our stay.

Doubtful that we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melissa Padilla, Marketing at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Feb 7, 2023
Aloha, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our retreat center. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We appreciate your comments + suggestions regarding guest laundry, and our breakfast spread. It is our mission and priority to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. We will be taking your feedback and implementing strategies needed to improve upcoming stays at our Retreat Center. I hope we can encourage you to visit our property again. Please reach out to our assistant GM directly at 808-579-8877 if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back. With much appreciation, Lumeria Maui
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wanderlust333444 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly disappointed: overpriced, bare/not working amenities in room, rude staff, unorganized/slow communications with staff, paper thin walls - can hear your neighbor's conversation & all the noises through the walls. The one yoga class I was able to attend, the instructor didn't show up for. The best thing about Lumeria is the lush and beautiful land it's on and its close location to Pa'ia. I did appreciate the nature and peaceful aspect of the property, but at night, it was quite noisy as I could hear every little noise and conversation from the people staying around us through the thin walls.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Dear wanderlust333444, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Lumeria Maui, although we're happy to hear that you found the property to be beautiful, and that you enjoyed the convenience of being located near Pa'ia town. We apologize that our building did not meet your expectation. Our historic compound was built in 1910, and has been extensively renovated and restored to keep it's beautiful historic charm. Mahalo for your feedback, and we apologize that Lumeria's accommodations did not meet your needs. We do wish that you reached out to our management during your stay, so that we could have had the opportunity to fix any issues you were experiencing while on property. We hope you had a safe trip home, and wish you the very best. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William090876 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I could not believe I spent that much money on this hotel.

Next time, please ask someone to do the room cleaning, providing better WiFi, and more Fans if you do not add AC units.

Otherwise, I would just sleep in the jungle for free.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norm Santos, Owner at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Jun 9, 2021
Aloha William090876- Thank you for staying with us at Lumeria Maui, a wellness retreat. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide all of our guests with the highest level of service and quality and did not do so for during your visit. We value your information that you shared with us and will use the feedback to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay at Lumeria Maui. Mahalo, Lumeria Maui Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Woody wrote a review Apr 2021
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico21 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful place to stay; away from all hotels, condos yet close to everything including famous road to Hanna, great little towns few minutes away; Paia and Makana to explore; grab a dinner or a drink and browse numerous galleries around. Lumeria is surrounded by lush gardens with salt treated pool, oranges and bamboo trees, so many places to hang out and relax after a whole day of excursions. We stayed the whole week with our teenager’s daughters and we all appreciate this property. Our room was specious with 2 outdoor porches with comfy sofas with views of both the sea and the garden. Simple decor of the room but whiting the style of the island. The main lobby is beautifully designed and decorated, a great place to read or have a takeout meal at this moment. The entire staff was very helpful with recommendations and any needs we had. We would love to come back and experience the restaurant, the spa, and in person yoga classes which were close due to Covid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irene wrote a review Nov 2021
Chicago, Illinois17 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In Makawao Maui, Lumeria is a hidden gem for travelers seeking a clean relaxing place to stay. Driving up a simple country road, my husband and I pulled up to large steel gates that opened dramatically into an sleek, blossoming estate with gorgeous blooming plants and fountains with running water. Everything and everyone there suddenly found themselves taking their stress levels down a few notches and gel with the powerful serenity that seemed to infuse all of us there. I loved the exquisite aesthetics fused with the natural surroundings. Simplistic yet exquisite objects were artfully placed around the property giving the guest the feeling that less was truly more. For years I have not slept as well as I have when I shut my eyes that night at Lumeria. In the morning, we woke up to a delicious breakfast of fresh fruits, wholesome oatmeal; also, yoga was included to rejuvenate and reinvigorate us. Coming to Lumeria was like discovering a priceless pearl in an unopened oyster shell found in the uncharted waters of the ocean. If I ever get the chance, I’d love to come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Albert Scala wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed one night at Lumeria after reading several "unexpected gem" type reviews. Our experience was much different starting with the Lobby/Check-In attendant who promised to call when the room was ready and never did. The room (garden view) had no air conditioning (stuffy/humid room), no wi-fi signal (although mentioned in the advert) no water bottles (only two fill stations on the entire property), dated furniture in need of major renovation, no TV (OK I guess since it's a retreat), no modern electrical outlets (all near the floor), children continually loud playing while walking down the deck in front of our room (which is actually one long wooden deck area), pool with no umbrellas for shade, and keys (no contactless as advertised). The room cost was nearly $600 (for an extra $100, suggest going to Lanai and stay in 4 Seasons Sensai. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Garden Views are better. The least expensive rooms face the gravel parking lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lumeria Management, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Aug 24, 2021
Aloha avscala55 Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that Lumeria's accommodations did not meet your needs and we are disappointed to hear your dissatisfaction with your stay. We take the feedback from our guests very seriously and will review your comments and suggestions with our team. We do wish that you reached out to our management during your stay so that we could try to fix any issues you were experiencing while you were on property. We would have loved to shown you alternate accommodations and provided anything you needed. We wish you the very best and hope you give us another chance on your next vacation. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rubyred472020 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was really friendly. However, the only thing that bothered us was the lack of basic necessities that was needed for the room. Throughout the whole room, there was only one little tiny trash can in the bathroom. And when we asked for fresh towels it took awhile. When we asked for replenishment of new towels the next day, it never came.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear rubyred472020, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback; it is only through constructive criticism and feedback that we can continue to improve the Lumeria experience for our students and guests. Since we are a eco-conscious facility, our friendly Housekeeping staff will replenish towels by request only. In efforts to conserve energy and water, we kindly ask our retreat guests to hang towels on towel rack or railing to air dry, and if towels need to be replaced, we ask that towels be left on the floor so that our staff members will know to replace them. For your reference, we have posted signs in each of our guest room bathrooms. We apologize if this detail was missed, and if this caused any inconvenience for you. We hope that you had a safe journey home, and we do hope to see you again, should you wish to return. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny L wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California10 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding service at a gorgeous property. My partner and I booked a last-minute trip to Maui and planned to stay two nights at Lumeria. Their booking system malfunctioned and they asked if we minded staying somewhere else one of the nights since our room was double booked. The manager, Kristen, went above and beyond to ensure that we weren't left without lodging. She was so accommodating and generous in order to make up for the booking dilemma by finding us a gorgeous alternative and offering complimentary massages once we arrived - thank you Kristen!

The meditation gardens are so serene and the wellness classes are exceptional. We could not have asked for a better time in Maui. I can't wait to return. This is hospitality at its finest. Don't wait to book! Go now!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear jeliao., Thank you so much for submitting your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your retreat stay here at Lumeria Maui! Thank you for your feedback on our meditation gardens and complimentary classes. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your massages at Lumeria's Wellness Spa. We hope you had a safe trip home, and look forward to welcoming you back to Lumeria when you return for your next Maui trip! Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Irene
Chicago, Illinois17 contributions2 helpful votes
While I did see some grade-school-aged children, I did not see toddlers or infants there. However, this does not mean that younger people would not be welcomed. You’re best bet is to call the friendly staff there and they can answer your concerns accurately. Safe travels!
Answer from Tita
Merida, Mexico103 contributions63 helpful votes
I was there in September. The nearby beaches were fine for swimming.
Answer from Crister C
9 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes! I would recommend for an overnight. We did the same thing, hot tub/pool after dinner and it is not regulated. We had the pool/hottub to ourselves it was very nice! We are also not yogis and it was fine. We did end up taking a class but the classroom is set away from the hotel, so if you're not going there, you'd never really see it or notice it. Have a great trip!
Danielle A asked a question Mar 2018
29 contributions4 helpful votes
How is the food at the resort and how close are they to other food places?
Answer from ronbb2016
New York21 contributions51 helpful votes
The food is some of the best I had in Maui and I went to many places on this side of the island.
Alicia J asked a question Nov 2016
Haiku, Hawaii, United States18 contributions3 helpful votes
Was the pool heated?
Answer from metalmaiden
Prospect, Connecticut210 contributions159 helpful votes
I remember the pool being quite warm but I don't remember if it was actually heated...
Andy B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Arroyo Seco, New Mexico19 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a dinner at their Wooden Crate, and be sure to plan your stay around their two time per day yoga, mediation our energy sessions…"
Read full review
Amanda Lee F wrote a tip Jul 2023
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a wellness class! Or book a massage/treatment. So special & makes your trip at Lumeria even more delightful."
Read full review
Meander398655 wrote a tip May 2023
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On a quiet road above Paia on the way up to the Volcano…. So watch out for the bicycles come down from their trek!!"
Read full review
John H wrote a tip Dec 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t miss the drive uphill from the resort to the charm of Makawao and the area ranches, tequila tasting on the way."
Read full review
Chelsea W wrote a tip Mar 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan88 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5A has views of the mts from the window and is on the end of the deck with great views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Makawao area.
PRICE RANGE
$452 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiMakawao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUMERIA MAUI EDUCATIONAL RETREAT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Maui Pineapple Tour (1.3 miles), Makai Glass Maui (1.3 miles), and Ho'okipa Beach Park (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mana Foods, Mama's Fish House, and Flatbread Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hui No‘eau Visual Arts Center (1.9 miles) and Haiku Mill (2.9 miles).
Does Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Lumeria Maui Educational Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars