We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$419
Agoda.com$419
Expedia.com$419
Priceline$419
Tripadvisor$419
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (255)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (19)

About

#1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Makawao
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Overlooking the North Shore of Maui, Lumeria Maui is an educational retreat center with wellness offerings set in 5 acres of lush gardens with island and ocean views. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups seeking an educational retreat experience with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts and much more. Retreat reservations include all on-property daily classes, wifi, parking, breakfast and overnight accommodations. Enjoy our saltwater pool, jacuzzi and lower terrace! The Wellness Spa at Lumeria Maui offers opportunities for education and rejuvenation with bodywork and healing arts treatments and lessons. Swimming and surfing beaches are located within 4 miles and the historic towns of Paia and Makawao are less than 5 minutes' drive away in either direction.

The Wooden Crate Restaurant at Lumeria offers our daily continental breakfast buffet, a delicious lunch menu of salads, sandwiches and burgers (with gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, vegetarian and vegan options) and a prix fixe, 3-course, Chef's special farm-to-table dinner every evening by reservation.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Windsurfing
Fax / photocopying
Massage
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
759Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 469
  • 130
  • 82
  • 46
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HighlyKinetic wrote a review Aug 1
San Diego, California66 contributions9 helpful votes
Due to the 14 day quarantine for out of state travelers, it was a wonderful opportunity to visit Maui upcountry senza gaggles of tourists. The hotel was easy to find and a short distance from the airport with excellent security measures. Kristen was a gracious host and gave us complimentary upgrades when we communicated via email. Upon arrival, she had left us keys on the piano in the historic memorial home of Fred Baldwin. The hotel grounds were absolutely gorgeous and we enjoyed relaxed reading by the pine trees. We were the only guests and had the whole place to ourselves. Although yoga classes were not in session, there was an option to access them online with provided yoga mats and blocks. Although the restaurant was closed, we did fine with in room mini refrigerators, a shared microwave and silverwares. Overall, it was a super relaxing gorgeous stay and Kristen was a fabulous hostess.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
wanderlust333444 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Honestly disappointed: overpriced, bare/not working amenities in room, rude staff, unorganized/slow communications with staff, paper thin walls - can hear your neighbor's conversation & all the noises through the walls. The one yoga class I was able to attend, the instructor didn't show up for. The best thing about Lumeria is the lush and beautiful land it's on and its close location to Pa'ia. I did appreciate the nature and peaceful aspect of the property, but at night, it was quite noisy as I could hear every little noise and conversation from the people staying around us through the thin walls.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Dear wanderlust333444, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Lumeria Maui, although we're happy to hear that you found the property to be beautiful, and that you enjoyed the convenience of being located near Pa'ia town. We apologize that our building did not meet your expectation. Our historic compound was built in 1910, and has been extensively renovated and restored to keep it's beautiful historic charm. Mahalo for your feedback, and we apologize that Lumeria's accommodations did not meet your needs. We do wish that you reached out to our management during your stay, so that we could have had the opportunity to fix any issues you were experiencing while on property. We hope you had a safe trip home, and wish you the very best. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Footprints212605 wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
This property is lovely but you need a car. Our car was damaged in the parking lot and no one left a note. Rooms very noisy. Rosters very noisy all hours of the day. In the flight path to the airport, lots of low flying planes to hear and view. Rooms are very dark.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded Mar 29, 2020
Dear Footprints212605, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear that your stay at Lumeria did not meet your expectation. We are glad that you did enjoy our beautiful grounds. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with car damage. We wish that you had brought this to our attention while on property, so that we could have assisted you. Lumeria Maui is located in the beautiful Upcountry, between the historic towns of Makawao and Pa'ia. Although we are located conveniently 15 minutes from Kahului Airport, we are not in the flight path of any Maui flights. Our retreat center is a peaceful, quiet getaway from the other noisy cities, hotels and crowds on Maui, and we do ask that our guests respect others by enjoying our grounds and property quietly. We apologize if this was not the case during your stay, and we do wish you had communicated this issue with us. We do hope you had a safe trip home, and should you decide to return to Maui sometime, we do hope to see you return to Lumeria so that we can ensure a more enjoyable experience. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
barryeschwartz wrote a review Mar 2020
Longmont, Colorado1 contribution1 helpful vote
A very relaxing classy beautiful place away from the crowds...if you want to kick back and relax this is the place for you. Close to 2 nice small towns and restaurants. Availability of yoga and meditation classes makes it a really cool spot.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear barryeschwartz, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, and for sharing your experience at Lumeria Maui! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed visiting the nearby historic towns of Makawao and Paia, and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary yoga classes. We hope you had a safe trip home, and hope to welcome you back to Lumeria soon. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
sbbadger wrote a review Mar 2020
Seattle, Washington1 contribution2 helpful votes
On first blush, Lumeria seems magical. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, the rooms are nice, it definitely has a wellness resort vibe. But unfortunately the service was some of the worst we've ever had and, for the money, this was the worst value experience i've ever had at a hotel. No attention to detail, room wasn't cleaned until we called at 4.30 pm, rude staff at checkin, checkout and at breakfast. Oh and, FYI, if you book an ocean view room, there's no ocean view. It should be renamed "ocean side".
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LumeriaMgmt, General Manager at Lumeria Maui
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear sbbadger, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Lumeria Maui, although we're happy to hear you found the property to be beautiful and peaceful. Our professional housekeeping staff are very respectful of privacy, and mindful of our retreat guests who come to Lumeria to relax and unwind in peace and quiet. If guests place "Do Not Disturb" signs on their doors, our staff will not go into your room unless service is requested. We wish you had reached out to our friendly Front Desk staff for assistance, so that we could have serviced your room. We apologize for any confusion. Lumeria Maui's Historic Compound is conveniently between the towns of Makawao and Paia. We are not located on the beach. We apologize if this detail was missed when booking your retreat stay with us. Our Ocean View Suites are located on the Makai (ocean side) of the property, where one can enjoy the beauty of Maui's North Shore and beautiful sunset evenings. We do hope you had a relaxing journey home, and wish you all the best. Mahalo, The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$355 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiMakawao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lumeria Maui
Which popular attractions are close to Lumeria Maui?
Nearby attractions include Ho'okipa Beach Park (3.4 miles), Makai Glass Maui (1.3 miles), and Hana Highway - Road to Hana (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumeria Maui?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lumeria Maui?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumeria Maui?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumeria Maui?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mama's Fish House, Flatbread Company, and Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lumeria Maui?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumeria Maui?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hui No‘eau Visual Arts Center (1.9 miles) and Haiku Mill (2.9 miles).
Does Lumeria Maui have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.