We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Royal Lahaina Resort

Save
Share
2780 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1971
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$510
View deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
travelup.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4669)
360
Panoramas (68)
Room & Suite (1879)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Lahaina Resort
Updated 04/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 32 hotels in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Set amidst 27 acres of tropical gardens, fronting the best and most exclusive stretch of Kaanapali Beach, the Royal Lahaina Resort is a truly unique Hawaiian Resort. The resort’s natural beauty, traditional Hawaiian ambiance, and dedication to five-star service offers guests a timeless and subtle elegance providing for the ultimate in relaxation and tranquility. The resort’s original garden and oceanfront cottage accommodations evoke a quaint beachside experience reminiscent of Hawaii’s Plantation Era; while the 12-story Lahaina Kai Tower features luxurious island-inspired guestrooms and suites celebrating the artistry, environment and culture of Hawaii.

The resort features a restaurant and lounge, two oceanfront swimming pools, a beach activities center, fitness room, massage services, is adjacent to the two championship Kaanapali Golf Courses, and has been named among the top 100 tennis destinations in the world, with an 11-court Tennis Ranch.

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
5789Reviews265Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,542
  • 2,006
  • 673
  • 323
  • 246
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Senseis wrote a review Jan 20
Carson City, Nevada35 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed for four nights in January, 2022. We arrived on Thursday, got to the resort about 2:30. There was no question about us checking in early, check in is 4:30, we were just checked in. Check in was swift and the staff pleasant. The bell and valet staff were always pleasant and helpful. We were given room 4022 in the hotel tower. We did not pay for an ocean view, but this standard room had a nice ocean view. Granted, it was partially obstructed by the roof of the adjoining building, but for the price of a standard room, it was great. This room was near the front drive, but was only noticeable during the day. This room also faces the luau venue and the lighting shines in room at night. The hotel has stapled some black out material over the sliding doors to abate the light issue. I think the staples are kind of tacky, but it did the job. You also get some of the luau noise/music on this side of the building, but the luau is usually over by 8:00 p.mish, so not an issue for sleeping. The room itself can use some updating, sprucing up, but was really fine. The housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful. It is much quieter this side of Black Rock, which we enjoyed. Not so much of a party atmosphere as on the other side of Kaanapali beach. We ate at the restaurant twice, the kalua pork nachos are delicious. The Royal Scoop has great coffee, pastries and ice cream. All of the staff were friendly and eager to help. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and the Royal Lahina Resort and would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback, and we will be addressing your concerns to make sure we offer the best service to our guests. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
Erin S wrote a review Jan 17
Worldwide3 contributions1 helpful vote
Where do I start? My partner and I were trying to get away for a night to celebrate our anniversary. Even though we tried to book weeks in advance, we could not choose between a room and a cottage. Assuming that for $550 (!!!) a night it would likely be nice either way, we were okay with being assigned something the night of. When we arrived at the hotel the lobby was lovely and the staff was wonderful. However, once we got to our cottage, we were VERY underwhelmed. These cottages have been neglected for at least a decade. Cabinet doors were falling off, the mini fridge was gross, there was mold in the bathroom, stains on the carpet from the air conditioner and cobwebs everywhere. Whatever, we knew that we were paying a premium for the location and as long as we could enjoy a peaceful nights rest, we decided we could look past these things. Sadly, this location couldn’t even offer us that!!! These cottages are like duplexes where you share a wall with the guest next to you. These walls are PAPER thin! Our neighbors were not being extremely loud or inconsiderate. They simply rolled their luggage into the room at 1am and continued to chat. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FINE! It was so loud in our room I thought they had gotten into our room by mistake and I jumped up to stop them from entering. Nope, they were in their own room, using inside voices to talk and we could hear every freaking word. Eventually we figured out that if we blasted the fan for the AC we could drown it out. Our neighbors continued to pop champagne and play music through the rest of the night. For $550, my partner and I didn’t get a minuet of sleep. The next morning we pack up as quickly as possible, head to the desk to complain. The front desk lady couldn’t do anything for us and asked if we wanted to speak to the manager. We said yes. Conveniently she was in a meeting and couldn’t speak with us. We had other obligations and couldn’t wait around all day for her ON OUR VACATION so we requested a call back. We waited a day, never heard from her. We contacted our credit card company to contest the charge for the stated reasons and when they got ahold of the manager, she LIED and said we were given an upgrade. This would have been impossible since we stayed for ONE night and never once spoke to her. If this has been &250 or even $300 a night, we might have been more understanding but good god, $550 to feel like I was staying in a roadside motel. Thanks for nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will be forwarding your review to the management team to resolve the concerns you have listed so we can improve our service.
Read more
Kathy H wrote a review Jan 14
plano, tx179 contributions102 helpful votes
We love staying at Royal Lahaina. Being beachfront located at Ka’anapali beach is great. The staff and service are welcomong. The ocean front room in the Tower provides a spectacular view. The room is comfortable and fairly large. Pricing is reasonable for amenities and location. There are cottages on the property very family friendly. The photo is our nightly view at sunset. Paradise found.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
Hani V wrote a review Jan 14
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The only thing we like about this hotel is it’s low key and not as fancy as the other hotels. We ate at the restaurant and as we were leaving, it was disturbing to see two of the restaurant employees sniffing drugs in an alley of the lobby. Needless to say we will not be visiting this hotel again. My teen children witnessed it as well. My 7 yr old asked what they’re were doing. Apparently drugs is a huge problem on this island
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience and even more sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We will be reviewing this with our management team to improve our service to our guests.
Read more
Johnny S wrote a review Jan 13
4 contributions
This place was outstanding. The staff was all super friendly and the resort was beautiful. We whale watched from our balcony and was also able to see the beautiful sunset every evening. The live music every night was also great. Will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$240 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal lahaina hotel lahaina, royal lahaina resort maui, royal lahaina maui, royal hotel lahaina, royal lahaina hotel maui
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
445
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Lahaina Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Lahaina Resort?
Nearby attractions include Maui Escape Rooms (0.7 miles), Ka'anapali Beach (0.5 miles), and Kahekili Beach Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Lahaina Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hula Grill Kaanapali, Pulehu, An Italian Grill, and Castaway Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Lahaina Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.