We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2780 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1971
24 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!15% off room rate
Expedia.com
$484
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Booking.com
$484
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Traveluro
$397
View deal
Travelocity$484
travelup.com$542
ZenHotels.com$636
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4757)
360
Panoramas (68)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/14/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Lahaina Resort
Updated 02/14/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 34 in Lahaina
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice

Set amidst 27 acres of tropical gardens, fronting the best and most exclusive stretch of Kaanapali Beach, the Royal Lahaina Resort is a truly unique Hawaiian Resort. The resort’s natural beauty, traditional Hawaiian ambiance, and dedication to five-star service offers guests a timeless and subtle elegance providing for the ultimate in relaxation and tranquility. The resort’s original garden and oceanfront cottage accommodations evoke a quaint beachside experience reminiscent of Hawaii’s Plantation Era; while the 12-story Lahaina Kai Tower features luxurious island-inspired guestrooms and suites celebrating the artistry, environment and culture of Hawaii.

The resort features a restaurant and lounge, two oceanfront swimming pools, a beach activities center, fitness room, massage services, is adjacent to the two championship Kaanapali Golf Courses, and has been named among the top 100 tennis destinations in the world, with an 11-court Tennis Ranch.

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Price:15% off room rate
5832Reviews266Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,566
  • 2,009
  • 679
  • 331
  • 249
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Behnoosh B wrote a review Yesterday
Chicago, Illinois117 contributions38 helpful votes
The location was really great, we absolutely enjoyed the beach. The staff was friendly and responsive. We had a great experience with the valet people. We used the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good. But this hotel needs a major renovation. Especially our bathroom needed some major renovation. even our bed sheets were old. we stayed at a double ocean view on the 9th floor. the pool area was clean and nice but the biggest downside was there are no umbrellas available there! you can rent one for $30 for the beach but not even one in the pool area. we went to the Luau show at the hotel which I highly recommend. I also used the spa for a getaway massage that I really enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The ocean view room is a must
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
randz808 wrote a review Jan 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii4 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was my very first time staying at the Royal Lahaina Resort on Maui and by far the most memorable vacation that I will never forget! I was immediately welcomed when I arrived in their beautiful lobby by their friendly staff who made me feel at home. The resort is just steps away from the beach where you can watch humpback whales and go for a swim. The resort offers activities the traditional Hiu Wai which is a Hawaiian Cleansing Ceremony at sunrise. This is a must-do! My room was very clean and the balcony views of the ocean were breathtaking. The thing that I most appreciated about this resort was that it made us feel like family! Every employee on property greeted us with a smile and warm hello or farewell. I highly recommend this amazing property. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home! We want every guest to have an amazing stay and are so happy that you loved our service. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
SLOGal wrote a review May 26
Shell Beach, California39 contributions34 helpful votes
After a VRBO screw-up during our stay on Maui, my mom and I were scrambling to find last-minute accommodations, and snapped up a 'Deluxe' oceanfront cottage room at Royal Lahaina for 5 nights to try to salvage the rest of our vacation. I have fond memories of family vacations here back in the late 90s, but hadn't been back for 20 years. While there are some great things about the resort, overall there were significant issues that prevented this from being an enjoyable stay... Our overall impression is that quality and value have gone downhill considerably over the years.  First, the positives - the grounds are very nice, including the sprawling oceanfront cottage lawn (with plenty of shade). Also, this resort fronts one of the best beaches on the island, in my opinion - it is great for swimming, snorkeling or walking, and is also relatively uncrowded. We were able to check in at 11am with no problem, even though standard check-in time is 3pm. Our cottage was recently remodeled, so at first glance everything looked nice and luxurious.  However, there are a lot of cheap shortcuts taken in the cottage, such as: small, cheap bath towels; old sheets and duvets that had holes in them; lack of water pressure in the shower despite a new rain showerhead; no mirror in the room except the small one above the bathroom sink; only one very small towel bar in the bathroom and no additional hooks to hang swimwear, etc. There is no fan in the bathroom, so one is forced to open the bathroom window that overlooks the walking path through the resort. There is also very little ocean view from the lanai, since this is ground floor and the ocean is mostly obscured by tall hedges.  But by far the biggest issue with the cottages is the noise. There is a complete lack of privacy and soundproofing in these units. The walls are so thin that you can literally hear every word your neighbors are saying, including their TV and FaceTime/ speakerphone conversations. Same with the ceiling - we evidently had a herd of elephants in the cottage above us, and they had their alarm set for 4:30am every morning which we could hear very clearly. We also had a smoker next to us constantly smoking on his lanai and sending toxic fumes directly into our room. Bottom line, this room is not worth the $850 per night that we paid - not even close. The service is also lacking. The phone in our room was broken, and we asked twice at the front desk to have it looked at, a request that was ignored during our entire 5-day stay. There evidently is a No Smoking policy, but there is no signage anywhere on the property or in the check-in materials, and the policy is clearly not enforced. In addition to our chain-smoking neighbor, there were many guests smoking on the communal lawn throughout the day.  In addition, as many previous reviewers have mentioned, the $40 daily resort fee (plus tax) is exorbitant for a property of this size and scope - there are not nearly enough amenities offered to justify this amount. There are not even any umbrellas at the pools, and all other beach items beyond basic loungers are an extra charge. The resort fee combined with the high parking fees ($30 plus tax per day for self-parking) really left a bad taste in my mouth.  Lastly, we were also overcharged, and it took me a full 7 days and 4 phone calls to even receive an itemized receipt that was supposed to have been emailed to us, since we agreed to contact-less checkout. Once I identified the problem, I had to escalate to a supervisor to get someone who knows what they're talking about. She acknowledged that we are due a refund to our credit card but couldn't figure out how to process it on the back-end... 10 days later and I'm still waiting for the refund. So, if you do decide to stay here, make sure you review your receipt and all charges against any promos you were promised BEFORE you leave the property! 
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you plan to stay in the cottages!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your cottage room and that our maintenance team did not fix your phone as requested. We do have all guests review and sign the non-smoking policy at check-in. Our resort fees do cover many amenities and activities offered at the resort including our wellness classes. We are very sorry that there is an issue with your bill and for the delay. Refunds can take 5-10 business days to reflect back onto an account after issued and so please give it some time. If not, you can send us an email to HHR@Hawaiihotels.com and we can review the status. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui and we will do our best to improve in these areas.
Read more
Nancy wrote a review May 21
West Greenwich, Rhode Island4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The room was very nice! Restaurant was great! Loved the beach and view! Just beautiful! There is a little cafe on the premises that is adorable and great food! Loved that the luau was on sight! Fantastic! The little shop right on the corner was so very cute!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for joining us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
Coby S wrote a review May 19
4 contributions
Another fabulous stay for two weeks. Been coming since 1989. Great location and great beach. View at bar can’t be beat. Staff always is the best. So friendly and helpful. Weather was also perfect. We like coming in May.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
marriott946 wrote a review May 18
London, United Kingdom348 contributions184 helpful votes
Arrived very late but the hotel quickly got us checked in. Very clean and well laid out, nothing too much trouble. Room excellence, good bathroom no water bottles in the room as tap water ok in Hawaii, well actually Maui. Great restaurant with plenty of choices. Friendly staff. Thank you Team Royal Lahaina Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Maui!
Read more
cherylpd1 wrote a review May 17
Delran, New Jersey302 contributions144 helpful votes
Family had many rooms here recently due to a family wedding. Our room was "upgraded" to a cottage. Very comfortable although the walls are so thin, one can hear everything through the attached door to the next room. And a loud party downstairs one night. We were lucky in that the next door room was vacant after the first night. The closet and coffee maker in the bathroom kind of grossed me out. And NO MIRROR except for the small one in the bathroom. There is plenty of space for a full length mirror. The dining was very good (one takeout, one dine-in). Would be lovely to be able to get/rent chairs for the beach. Charges were very confusing and did not reflect what was noted on the website. Is it even updated at all? Valet charges were quite extreme. And the topper was check-out. Very confusing and apparently arbitrary charges, especially when family compared their receipts. Do the front desk people get trained or just make up their own receipts? Everyone on staff who we came into contact with was very friendly. So relaxing and enjoyable but lots of things that could/should be changed and updated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your cottage room and that there were issues with your rental charges. We will share your feedback regarding service at the front desk with our team for improvement. We hope that you had a lovely family trip with us and will consider joining us again in the future.
Read more
Greg S wrote a review May 15
Fontana8 contributions3 helpful votes
Sometimes change(ownership) is not good.... First, been an ANNUAL(Definition---Occurring once every year) customer since 2012 BUT this our first year we do not feel like 'ohana' Ohana(Definition---term meaning 'FAMILY') After 10 years, this is first year we spent part of our vacation looking at other properties for next year vacation. At check in....After 10 years of being a loyal customer they gave us a 4th floor room. Thanks? The resort and the parking cost is through the roof. And though they say everyone charges the resort fee it is just another hand in your wallet. Keep in mind staying 11 nights is AN EXTRA $516.00 in resort fees($40.00 or $42.00 per night plus tax) and over $330 in self parking fees(and yes...plus tax)OUCH! : ( I can not understand why during the luau why paying hotel customers that pay $30 a day to park and have to park all the way in the back of the property. Simply make the luau people park in the back...take care of your 'ohana'... Breakfast cost is expensive but I know you are paying for the convenience and the ambience. The hotel room is nice but again for what they charge per night...I don't know if it is worth it. Getting pool towels...In the past, as long as you had pool towel cards it would not matter how many towels you wanted...it was not an issue. Now, 2 towel per card PERIOD. Come on...its a towel. The ground are nice but it was maintained better in the past. In the conclusion... Will we be back? There are many properties that offer better amenities that are a fraction of the cost. There are properties with cheaper parking and resort fees. ***My suggestion BEFORE YOU BOOK*** --EXPLRE all options AND LOOK AT THE BOTTOM LINE after ALL the fees ect. The difference might cover your airfare, car rental and a shave ice : ) I know we will. : ) ***Reasoning behind the 3 star review: The few people that are still there AFTER new ownership...ie Jeff and Rosalyn(breakfast waiter and hostess) These people do make us feel 'OHANA' That is very important to my wife and myself and it should be to you. If it wasn't for these individuals, the rating would be less.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your return visit to our resort. We want every guest to feel at home with us; especially our returners. We are working hard to make improvements to the resort and while we understand your dismay at the change in pricing and ownership, we have renovation plans in place and have added activities to provide greater value to our guests. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to meet your expectations and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
anabel252 wrote a review May 15
Chicago, Illinois9 contributions12 helpful votes
The hotel location is excellent. Close to everthing. It is right on the beach. We had a ocean front room on the 10th floor. Views were amazing. Only part, I feel that the rooms needs updating. The air-condition would make stamping noice and the bathroom needs some fresh paint. Some furniture updates would do wonders. The rooms and hotel was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. We tried some appetizers, latte and drinks at the hotel. They were all very good. Luau was very entertaining. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are so happy to read that you loved our location and the beautiful views from your oceanfront room. We appreciate you letting us know about the upgrades needed to the room and will share this with our team. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
Jess F wrote a review May 13
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Overall, If you're wanting a resort experience, I would not recommend booking here. The bar closes at 6pm. The pools are small and right outside the cottages and restaurant so it's frowned upon to make too much noise. If you're wanting a true resort, spend a little extra to go anywhere else. If not, I would suggest a normal hotel. The resort price plus resort fee is entirely too high for what this place is. We had two different rooms here. So I'll review each. Both were standard rooms. One in Cottage J, the other in the tower. We first checked into the "cottage." Which feels like a strong word for what it was. There's four or five rooms per building and the walls are so thin you can talk to the people on the other sides. There is one window AC unit in our room that barely worked so it felt like we were basically just sleeping outside. The overall state of the cottage was honestly disgusting. I'll attach pictures of the bathroom. But the carpet was coming up in all the corners, the paint was heavily chipped on the walls and doors. The blinds were broken, there was mold in the bathtub and the drain was broken. Additionally, the tub was so deep and slippery that I would not recommend staying here if you're at all concerned about tripping. We requested to be moved into the tower and that went over pretty easily. The room here at least has central air and a normal shower. However, the shower leaked horribly because of the way the door was installed. Our room was right next to the stairs where the wind draft was so strong at times that it pushed the door open. There is only a fridge and Keurig coffee machine in the rooms as well. Which really isn't that big of a deal but more of a minor annoyance at that point because we couldn't reheat anything. The parking. Normal resort stuff, the fee is 30/day or 37/day for valet. We did valet the first night then self parked. The problem was that the parking lot is essentially free public parking because of the Luau and tennis courts. So finding a parking spot was a gamble. The "private" beach. First of all, there's hardly such a thing here. It's not like they block of sections of the beach so you can walk here from anywhere in the area. Secondly, again because anyone can park here, anyone can go to the beach here. That didnt bother us at all but just wanted to clarify for people considering booking here because of that or something. The Luau and Spa were great but you don't have to book here to use those things. I would like to say that the staff was all extremely kind and that this is not a reflection on them. Because despite them trying their hardest to make this place worth anything, they should only do so much. To top it off, the receipt is intentionally confusing so if after all this you still decide to stay here, do yourself a favor and allow extra time to have them review the charges with you. But seriously, nothing about this place was worth it. If you weren't locked in after checking in, I would have got a refund and left for the Holiday Inn down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and for any inconveniences caused. To clarify a couple things - the parking at the resort is not free not public; everyone pays a fee to park and we are looking to build a larger lot to assist with this inconvenience. The beach bar closes at 6:30pm however the main bar at the restaurant closes at 10pm. We do have three pools, all of which are standard size. We are very sorry to read about the issues with your cottage room and we appreciate you letting us know. We are in the process of renovating all of the garden cottages and do hope to resolve these issues very shortly. All beaches in Hawaii are considered public property, we do not own the coastline and cannot restrict beach access. Again, all beaches in Hawaii are open to the public, with the exception of certain Federal Government areas. Due to our location above Black Rock Beach, we are a less crowded and more peaceful area than our neighbors south of us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our luau and spa services and that our staff provided you with fantastic service. We want every guest to feel at home with us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui and will consider joining us again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$496 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal lahaina hotel lahaina, royal lahaina resort maui, royal lahaina maui, royal hotel lahaina, royal lahaina hotel maui
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
494
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Lahaina Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Lahaina Resort?
Nearby attractions include Maui Escape Rooms (0.7 miles), Ka'anapali Beach (0.5 miles), and Kahekili Beach Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Lahaina Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pulehu, An Italian Grill, Hula Grill Kaanapali, and Castaway Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Lahaina Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Lahaina Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Lahaina Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Lahaina Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.