We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (593)
Room & Suite (514)
Pool & Beach (127)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
116Restaurantswithin 5 miles
45Attractionswithin 5 miles
842Reviews
1,145Photos
46Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 302
  • 320
  • 104
  • 54
  • 62
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We loved everything about this resort for our group of 8, ages 6 to 76. Elevator access to all floors, some underground parking available, ample parking available, large and spacious suite where we all felt relaxed. Incredible ocean view with a huge lanai. Watching whales
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Response from Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, Jenbar21! Thank you so much for visiting Sands of Kahana and sharing your most kind words. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again. Mahalo!
Read more
Coming to Hawaii is a big deal! It takes time, money and planning. We first visited Maui in 2009 and have waited 10 years to make our return. Unfortunately, we chose the Sands of Kahana in 2019. We used timeshare points and traded through Interval International. To say that
Read more
Response from Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed to read your review, particularly the part about our Aloha spirit. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies if you interaction with our front desk staff was anything less than completely helpful and courteous. As for the room, we are currently in our busy whale watching season. Our vacation club owners book oceanfront and ocean-view rooms a year in advance for the annual humpback migration, and usually the only time one of these rooms becomes available is when there is a rare cancellation. We certainly understand your disappointment and are sorry the view fell short of expectations. Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Read more
We have stayed at SOK for many years. Unfortunately this year we accidentally left items in the room safe. Heidi handled the situation very professionally and mailed the items in a timely and well packaged manner. The other front desk employees were very helpful the entire
Read more
Response from Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, jshell! Thank you so much for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are happy you had another enjoyable stay. It was our pleasure to return your items, and we will certainly extend your best wishes to Heidi. She will be delighted that you singled here out for praise. Thanks again for choosing Sands of Kahana. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Mahalo!
Read more
SOK. Been coming here every winter for many many years 1). We only come in the winter..Jan to March so no AC which I have seen several times is not an issue. Also since we are in bldg 2 we never get direct sun. I could see it being an issue in bldg 3 2). Things do echo in the
Read more
Response from Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha, Gmlasher. Thank you so much for returning to Sands of Kahana and taking the time to share your feedback. Your loyalty and helpful observations are very much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!
Read more
do not go to this resort unless you are an owner. when you ecxhange an apartment thru rci you will not get oceanview or oceanfront. you will be in building 4, parking lot view.we requested an apartment in the secone floor -out of 4- but we did not get it. only an apartment,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Response from Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha, Manfred. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are sorry we could not get you into one of our highly desirable ocean-facing units. Our vacation club owners book these rooms up to a year in advance, and during our busy whale watching season from December-April, it is very difficult to place visitors in these rooms unless there is a cancellation. We hope you will accept our apologies.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSands of Kahana
The Three Bedroom Apartment at the Sands of Kahana
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSands of Kahana
The Three Bedroom Apartment at the Sands of Kahana
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSands of Kahana
The One Bedroom Apartment at the Sands of Kahana
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSands of Kahana
The Two Bedroom Apartment at the Sands of Kahana
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSands of Kahana
The One Bedroom Apartment at the Sands of Kahana
PreviousNext
123456103
There was an execllent dive master in the Sheraten a few miles away. He has all the gear and does a beach dive where turtles came right up to us. He does several times per day so you are not locked into a 7:30 depart schedule.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hawaiian Airlines is the only way I know. They run flights about every half hour. It costs around NZ$410.00 for a round trip. Some international airlines fly directly into Kahuli. It's best to pre-book a rental car to pick up at the airport.
1 vote
Show all answers
Checkin is 4PM check out is 11AM.
0 votes
The best answer to your question is to get online and view their menu...
0 votes
Show all answers
Hair dryers in the bathrooms??
Yes our unit had 1 in each.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345610
"Try for building 2 and get a 2 or 3 bedroom unit"
"3 bedroom units are corner units and on high floor which is worth it"
"Make certain that your master bedroom does not open onto the atrium."
"The main bedroom in the 2 bedders is upstairs so be aware if you can't climb stairs."
"When booking, request an ocean view on a higher floor. Get it in writing, and insist on it when you get there."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$262 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sands of kahana hotel lahainasands of kahana vacation club
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing