We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston at Papakea Resort

Save
Share
3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!10% Off Your Stay!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1050)
Room & Suite (542)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Aston at Papakea Resort
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#25 of 33 hotels in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away.
Read more
Room & Suite (542)542
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Tennis court
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Clothes dryer
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:10% Off Your Stay!

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1275Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 466
  • 443
  • 187
  • 102
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lmstrad83 wrote a review May 16
Cleveland, Ohio548 contributions250 helpful votes
We stayed here April 22nd - April 30th and had a wonderful stay. We rented our condo through the owner directly through Airbnb and this seems to be the best way for this resort. This way you know which unit you will have for your stay. The condo was very clean and had everything we needed. We especially enjoyed our oceanfront patio. The grounds were kept up beautifully and the pool areas were all nice. The only thing I wish is that there were umbrellas by the pool. We could not sit out long due to the direct sunlight. The resort is next door to an ABC store for snacks and anything you forgot to pack. Our favorite is the food truck park just a block away. Perfect place to get dinner and take back to the condo and watch the sunset. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. Make sure to have all of the vaccine cards or COVID tests for every member of your group on hand when you check in. They will ask to see them to make sure everyone is free from having to quarantine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book directly through the owner on Airbnb to pick the specific unit to guarantee an updated condo.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyn Molina-Reis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort.
Read more
Jamie T wrote a review May 12
1 contribution
We were there from 4/27-5/6 with family. Upon arrival my Aunt checked in and went to her condo and when she went in the WHOLE place was under construction. She couldn't stay there. They did NOTHING. She ended up staying on the sofa bed with other family. Our room was dirty E202 out of date. We have been coming here the past 15 years and in the beginning it was awesome. Now owners are not taking care of their condos and charging outrageous prices. Next trip none of us will be going back every again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyn Molina-Reis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha TrailBlazer35232, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay and regret to have read that this was not the case for you and your family. We will not make excuses for what are reasonable expectations. However, we are terribly sorry for the disappointment and dissatisfaction of your stay. We wish we had the opportunity to address these issues and inconveniences while you were here as we would have done everything in our ability to find you another accommodation that met your expectations better. We understand your decision, but hope you have a change of mind to allow us another opportunity to make things right on your next visit to Maui.
Read more
Stephanie Lunceford wrote a review Dec 2020
Albany, Oregon8 contributions4 helpful votes
I can not say enough good things about our stay. They have 2 pools but only 1 was open due to Covid. When we arrived it was only open from 11-6:30 but shortly after it went to 9-9. the staff were incredible at making sure lounge chairs were sanitized between each person using them. they were right on it. In fact they have to be the hardest working resort staff I have ever seen. they work together like a great team. to get the pool area ready everyday. WiFi covers the entire grounds. I worked out everyday by the seawall. my kids did there school work in our room. We rented directly from the owner. The unit was incredible. If you needed something they had it. Spent a lot of time sitting on the Lanai watching the view. speaking of the view. multiple times we were fortunate enough to see a pod of dolphins going by. Jumping and frolicking about. a couple turtle as well. All in all. this is a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyn Molina-Reis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Aloha, Your comments and review of your recent stay is greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. You sure are lucky to be able to witness the pod of playful dolphins! Should your future travel plans return you to Maui, we hope to have the opportunity to host your stay with us again.
Read more
HorseLover wrote a review Nov 2020
Buckley, Washington1 contribution3 helpful votes
We had the most amazing time at Papakea! After reading a couple of the other negative reviews, I admit I was worried, but I rented directly from an owner rather than thru a third party, and I was not disappointed. The unit was really pretty - nicely updated, fully equipped, and with beautiful views just 50 feet from the water. I spent soooo many hours just sitting on the lanai watching the waves, and enjoyed an ocean lullaby that sang me to sleep every night. The first few days I was there, Hawaii was still requiring people wear masks outside even when they could socially distance, but once the state changed its policy, the resort did too. I completely understand why they had to follow the rules set by the state - but I was really happy once those rules were changed to make more sense! (I have to disagree with Culture 12330543661, who apparently hadn't read the Governor's proclamation that spelled out the state requirements about masking - up until mid-November, the rules were REALLY specific about masks being required in all condominium complex common areas, except when people were swimming or exercising strenuously. No exception for being distanced. Papakea was clearly following the state rules, and if she experienced something different, then I guess the other resorts weren't concerned about breaking the law.) I have to say that all the staff were really pleasant and helpful. I didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on what that experience was like; I do know that when I was there, the south pool was open 9:00 to 9:00 (the north pool was still closed, I guess because of the lack of guests?), but had just expanded the hours. My host was careful to be sure I understood all the rules and requirements when I booked - I really appreciated the care taken so that there were no surprises. I am sad that Culture's host or vacation rental company didn't take the care our host did! Anyway, my experience was so wonderful, I can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyn Molina-Reis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your kind words of our team and understanding our state and county guidelines. We hope you were able to enjoy the beauty and relaxation of our island Maui and look forward to your return.
Read more
A.W. wrote a review Oct 2020
Portland, Oregon7 contributions23 helpful votes
We came from Oregon & rented a 4th-floor room. First of all, the website said the pool was open 9:00 - 10:00, in actuality, it was only open 11:30 - 6:30 which is the worst UV hours of the day and there is no shade. Also, they advertise two pools, which is false, only one is open. When asked why this change they claimed due to COVID, which is ridiculous because it just condenses the daily use instead of spreading it out over the hours and two pools, so more people during the limited hours and space. We walked down to several neighboring hotels and EVERY SINGLE one except Papakea had a full day at the pool open. They also don't follow Hawaii State or Aston policies about COVID in the first place, but after visiting neighboring hotels, all the surrounding hotels DO. Papakea wants you wearing a mask on the outside grounds even if you are alone. An employee told a mother of a toddler to put a mask on the child. First of all, toddlers/babies shouldn't wear a mask, second, she was thirty feet away from any human! Plus she was walking ALONE, with her toddler. Papakea's policies are illogical & not even state or hotel guidelines, they are their own illogical, draconian, unscientific virtue-signaling that makes the place feel like a prison with a pretty view. The worst part is we were not informed of the prison cell policies until we got there. Oregon is a little far to turn around & go home. Also, there was a water fountain below us that was incredibly noisy. You'd think they'd turn it off during quiet hours, but no, it's on all night. When I asked an employee if they could please turn it off at night so we could sleep, they told me NO because of COVID. What? COVID is their excuse for everything that is miserable here, there is no way turning off a loud fountain at night is a COVID risk. While our family was visiting other hotels along the same strip we saw people laughing, having fun, using the pool late at night, and felt so jealous. We made a hard choice and changed our flight to stay on 3 more days at another hotel so we could at least have a bit of a vacation. We stayed at Ka'anapali Beach Club, which was a very positive experience! They followed COVID rules, but the ones that can actually keep you safe, plus they had hand sanitizer everywhere, which is great! They were so friendly and people walking the grounds alone were not harassed for not having their mask up. Kids & babies were not harassed. Everyone was great about social distancing and super friendly. The pool was open and even its slide was open and running the full hours, which were even longer hours than the falsely advertised hours at the Papakea even if they had opened like the advertised! Plus, at the new hotel the only sound we heard at night was laughter and the ocean instead of a loud water machine. The bottom line for us was our vacation at the Papakea felt very stressful, more like we survived it than enjoyed it, our second experience was beautiful and relaxing with the added benefit of feeling truly safer from COVID since the second hotel followed actual scientific rules and encouraged sanitation, social distancing instead of worthless authoritarian "virtue-signaling" which can not keep anyone safe from a virus. Glad we tagged on the extra three days so not a total waste of money, flight and vacation days
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay near a water fountain it's too loud to sleep. Don't come during COVID.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyn Molina-Reis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Aloha, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review of your stay here at the Papakea Resort. Papakea's house rules were created by our Association of Owners to ensure the safety of our guests, owners, and workers alike. Our property also enforces the COVID guidelines/precautions, which change and update constantly, based on the CDC, State, and County guidelines. During your stay, back in October 2020, our state recently re-opened transpacific travel with restrictions. At this time, there were many changes and precautions taken place. We understand how it could be stressful and hope you can understand that this was all new to us as well. Despite the inconvenience, we hope you were able to enjoy your time on Maui and returned home safely.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$221 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aston at papakea hotel lahaina, resortquest papakea resort, papakea resort maui, papakea maui
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ResortQuest at Papakea Resort
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
364
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aston at Papakea Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Aston at Papakea Resort?
Nearby attractions include Huaka'i Luau Maui- Journey Through Polynesia (0.2 miles) and Honokowai Marketplace (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aston at Papakea Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include ABC Stores, Fish Market Maui, and Slappy Cakes Maui.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aston at Papakea Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Aston at Papakea Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (4.9 miles), Lahaina Jodo Mission (4.6 miles), and Hale Pa'i Printing Museum (4.6 miles).
Does Aston at Papakea Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Aston at Papakea Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.