We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lahaina
Post
Inbox
Search

Montage Kapalua Bay

Save
1 Bay Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9035
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
16 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Montage Memories Offer
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
$2,545
$2,429
View Deal
Booking.com$2,545
Agoda.com$2,545
Expedia.com$2,545
Hotels.com$2,545
Hotwire.com$2,545
TripAdvisor$2,545
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (670)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (651)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A premier Maui resort, Montage Kapalua Bay invites guests to experience oceanfront accommodations imbued with island spirit. Spacious one-, two-, three- and four- bedroom residential-style suite accommodations offer expansive living rooms, large private lanais, fully equipped kitchens and elegant master suites. Dining venues range from the upscale Cane & Canoe to the grab-and-go Mahana Market to complement the full-service Spa Montage, historic Cliff House, neighboring two championship golf courses, tennis courts and zip-lines. Guests will be embraced with a blend of relaxation and rejuvenation, marked indelibly by unique beauty and culture. This resort is the perfect setting for multi-generational family vacations and secluded getaways.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Montage Memories Offer
685Reviews110Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 591
  • 51
  • 27
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is the ultimate resort on Maui. We stayed in an 1800 sq ft unit with 3 BR and 3 Baths that had a beautiful double patio, the pool right next door, easy walk down to the beach and a view that was gorgeous. The staff did whatever you needed, the pools were clean and staff always there to help. The upper deck pool for adults was nice and quiet with a small waterfall. The food was as good as all the 5 star restaurants we visited so we actually ate in the last two days of our week. If you can afford it...go there.
Read more
My wife and I stayed three nights at the Montage as part of our honeymoon last month. This is a beautiful, sprawling property a bit off the beaten trail from Lahaina. There are seemingly endless pools and seating cascading down towards the ocean. Although there were a few families staying at the resort, we found this hotel to be far quieter and more romantic than the Four Seasons Wailea. Cane and Canoe was great for dinner, and we enjoyed the attentive poolside service for lunch and drinks. The rooms are simply unparalleled for the price—we reserved the base room, which was as 1200-sqft apartment featuring a full kitchen, washer/dryer, power room, large closet, high ceilings, and a spacious terrace. For all of these reasons, we were pretty much in love with the resort from the moment we arrived. Unfortunately, one bad experience left us with a bad taste in our mouths, and may prevent us from ever returning in the future. On the second day of our stay, we returned back from a waterfall rappelling excursion and wrapped our wet clothes in hotel towels, which we then left on the washing machine to wash and dry later. After returning from dinner, we realized the towels—with our clothes inside—were missing, and this was a few hundred dollars worth of clothing. We immediately realized that housekeeping must have made an honest mistake and swept up the towels and clothes while cleaning the room. However, after we asked housekeeping about this, they vehemently denied taking the clothes, insisting that there's no possible way they would have done this. We then spoke with a front desk associate, who informed us that if the clothes were indeed taken by accident, they were already sent out to the linen cleaning company, but that there was a good chance they'd be returned the next day. So we went back to the front desk the following morning, and they told us our clothes had been found, and they would be arrive back at the hotel at 2pm, which happened to be the same time we were checking out of the resort. At 2pm, there was still no sign of our clothes or any indication when they may arrive. The same front desk associate assured us, as he had before, that he would follow up with us to provide updates. Two more days passed without so much as a courtesy email or call from the resort. At this point our patience was waning and we hadn't received so much as a simple apology, so we called and asked to speak with a manager, who told us "some" of our clothes had been found, and assured us that he would provide updates on the rest within a day or two. Well, another couples days passed and still nothing. Finally, he called to tell us that a few of our items were still missing, but he would ship us what they did find. He also refunded our Cane and Canoe dinner, which we thought was fair compensation for the outstanding missing items. As of this writing, the few missing items are still missing, but the clothes they did find were successfully shipped back to us. While we ultimately reached an acceptable conclusion to the saga, it was a very disappointing experience. We understand mistakes happen even at the nicest of hotels, but the Montage's nonchalant, unapologetic reaction was not up to par for an otherwise-fantastic resort. I'm still giving the Montage Four Stars in the hopes that this was a very rare, one-off lapse in guest services, but felt it was only fair to share our experience.
Read more
Response from MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Aloha Michael, Mahalo for choosing our resort to celebrate your union. Congratulations! Please accept our sincere apology for this rare occurrence and, as you kindly stated, honest mistake. Our team will continue to connect with you with any updates. However, feel free to connect with me personally should you have any questions, afreda@montagehotels.com. Warmest aloha, Anthony Freda Resort Manager
Read more
Beautiful setting, right on the beach. Pools are stunning, rooms are well equipped. Staff is attentative. Restaurants and Bars on site.... you really don't need to leave the resort.....everything you need is right here and there is free shuttle transportation all around Kapalua for outings, golf, etc.
Read more
Response from MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Aloha, Thank you for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay. We look forward to your return to luxury and comfort here on Maui. Warmest aloha, Anthony Freda Resort Manager
Read more
From the moment we drove up after a very long trip from the East Coast, the service was welcoming and impeccable. Check in was a breeze, you wait in an open area while a personal attendant checks you in. The rooms are well situated with great, large lanais. The pools and gardens are excellent. It is a nice private feeling, relaxed pace getaway compared to the bustle of Kaanapali Beach. We drove to nearby restaurants most often instead of dining at the hotel. The nearby Dragon's Teeth hike is unworldly and is right next door. We also walked to Merriman's which was convenient and one of the top rates restaurants on the island. The nearby beach was lovely, fish right at your feet. The fitness center was lovely, very clean, excellent attendants and trainers, all equipment was in top shape. They offer complimentary fruit and feminine products. (I don't think any resort can be considered five star if they don't offer both of these things.) A few notes: Sound carries on the lanais, this is true of every Hawaiian resort, so you hear conversations and one screaming child can ruin your peaceful day. We even went in November and there were still lots of babies, toddlers and school age children at the resort, though far less than would be in the summer. The service is excellent but can be a bit over-bearing. If you don't want to make constant small talk with your valets this may not be the place for you. The restaurants were limited, Cane and Canoe feels a bit stuffy though we did enjoy the Blood Mary bar and breakfast. The other venue is a bar and has loud live music, not relaxing. There are many options very close by high and low end so this did not affect us much. The Champagne Hale venue was closed while we were there but was open weeks before and the week after, we would have liked to try it. This resort is mostly much further set back from the ocean than other resorts with spread out landscaping and buildings. I love walking around and exploring but if you want everything very close, this may not be the place for you. The AC was a bit on the sustainable side, not as cool as we like it. Overall, I loved this venue and look forward to returning.
Read more
Response from MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Aloha Liz, Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. Your comments and feedback are valued and appreciated. We await your return in the future. Warmest aloha, Anthony Freda Resort Manager
Read more
When I stay at the montage I expect the best of the best. This hotel didn’t let me down. The attention to detail was amazing and one truly feels like the entire resort is a private getaway. Yes it is very expensive but if you can afford it, you won’t be disappointed. The rooms are huge and offer all the amenities one needs. I highly recommend
Read more
Response from MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay
Responded Dec 8, 2019
Aloha Steve, Mahalo for your review and high recommendation of our resort. Please allow us to welcome you back for another amazing stay on Maui. Warmest aloha, Anthony Freda Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$857 - $2,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Residences at Kapalua Bay
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Montage Kapalua Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Montage Kapalua Bay?
Nearby attractions include Kapalua Coastal Trail (0.2 miles), Slack Key Show (0.3 miles), and Napili Beach (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Montage Kapalua Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Merriman's Maui, Gazebo Restaurant at Napili Shores, and Honolua Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Montage Kapalua Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Montage Kapalua Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Montage Kapalua Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lahaina Jodo Mission (8.3 miles), Old Lahaina Courthouse (8.5 miles), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (8.7 miles).
Does Montage Kapalua Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.