We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4057 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9392
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (190)
Room & Suite (101)
Pool & Beach (29)

About

#12 of 47 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mahina Surf boasts fifty-six, oceanfront one and two bedroom condominiums situated on two intimate acres of lush tropical gardens. Ideally located on Maui’s leeward shore, renowned for its year round sunshine, cool tradewinds, and pristine beaches.Each Mahina Surf suite is uniquely and generously apportioned. All units include living rooms, full baths and fully equipped kitchens.Our one-bedroom suites are ideal for couples seeking a romantic retreat, or for a family of four on a vacation getaway. Two-bedroom units comfortably accommodate as many as six adults. Regardless of the unit you choose, your expectations are sure to be exceeded.Private lanais provide relaxing, unobstructed ocean views of the neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai. Just a few minutes ride to the north or south, the resort areas of Kapalua and Kaanapali offer world class golf, tennis, dining, shopping, and a host of beach activities. In the winter months the waters off West Maui play host to migrating humpback whales, putting on spectacular displays - many of which can be seen from your own lanai! Explore the many wonders Maui has to offer, like the famous road to Hana, or the summit of Haleakala.Stroll the tropical gardens...relax poolside and work on your tan....or fix your own intimate sunset dinner.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Snorkeling
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
169Reviews8Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 44
  • 14
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kmagg wrote a review Feb 2020
White House, Tennessee235 contributions105 helpful votes
+1
The staff is very friendly. The condo was nice and well equipped. Even had a few spices, teas, some coffee, etc. The couch was a bit dated and prolly should be replaced but, other than that the condo was exactly what we looked for. The view is incredible. Pool was nice. Good grills that were well maintained. The only issues we had was traffic noise and noise from other condos. The walls and ceiling are paper thin so there are no secrets. We didn't realize how thin they were until people moved in upstairs and it was pretty noisy. They weren't doing anything wrong; it's just as I said - the walls and ceiling are paper thin. Which becomes a problem when it gets warm as there is no AC. So, in order to keep it cool, you have to open the windows. Now, there's no sound barrier whatsoever. You get the picture. We would stay again. However, we recommend getting a condo on the upper floor and away from traffic.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upper floor and away from the road!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
falc0nfan wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights in 218. Staff friendly enough. Room and property layout are both nice. Clean and well maintained. All rooms have a view of the ocean and pool. Laundry facilities on prem for $1.75 a load. The only drawback was no air conditioning, which is quite strange, even though the lady working the desk tried to convince us it was no big deal. The unit had three fans inside, so they obviously know it is a big deal. Temps were 87-89 during the day, so 78-80 at night...we had issues sleeping because of the heat. Secondly, because of the no air conditioning issue, every unit had its windows open, so noise was a little bit of an issue as well. If it had air, it would be a 5 star review, as we liked it otherwise. I am 50 and a professional, so have different expectations than when I was a new traveler at 25, so I think this would be a fine choice if you are young, and the lack of air was not a big deal to you. If you are a bit more discerning at your stage of life, go for an air conditioned hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MahinaMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Mahina Surf
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Mahalo for your review. We agree that Mahina Surf is a 5 star property. We enjoy our island trade winds an old Hawaii feel that is unique from a hotel experience. Our units are supplied with fans for those times when the trade winds are still.
Read more
Diana Alarcon wrote a review Oct 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The condo has an excellent location in Lahaina. The views are beautiful and you can see turtles in the morning and evening. However, the pool was dirty. When we arrived the beds were not done and the baskets and chairs were on the tables. The condo does not have laundry, so you need to use a comunal laundry. The condo was out dated and we found cockroaches. The amount of nearly $400 that you need to pay for cleaning does not make justice to the condition of the condo. We found hairs, dirt and dust everywhere, and the kitchen was invaded by ants. So sad that I could not upload more than ten pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emerald501, Public Relations Manager at Mahina Surf
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Aloha! We are sorry that your unit was not in the condition you expected. Our onsite rental office manages 44 of the 56 units on property. Based upon your reported cleaning fee, I suspect your unit was one of the units managed by an offsite company and thus we cannot assure the state of the unit. We appreciate your comments. Be sure to contact our onsite rental office directly for any future bookings. Mahalo
Read more
rmb_10 wrote a review Sep 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand26 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed in unit 103 for 6 nights. It was clean, however it did not seem to be "newly refurbished", which is how it was advertised. We were surprised that no tea or coffee was supplied, this is usually a courtesy in all accomodation we have stayed in previously. Otherwise there were most things we required in the unit. The Cable TV in the lounge room did not work, and although we contacted the manager immediately we did not hear back from them. It was only when we asked someone in the office that they stated it was a problem with the remote and the owners had been contacted- so no TV in the lounge room the whole time. The pool was lovely and the view, sitting out watching the sunset and turtles was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jrad wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Upon arrival we found cockroaches in the bathroom and kitchen.The units do not have air conditioning so if you have trouble with the heat look elsewhere for a room. I will not be staying here again. It's hard to enjoy the beach when you don't have a cool room to return to.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emerald501, Guest Relations Manager at Mahina Surf
Responded Oct 31, 2019
We appreciate your candid review of your stay at Mahina Surf. You are correct that our units do not have air conditioning. Each unit has louvered windows and doors to allow natural cooling by the delicious Maui trade winds. Aloha
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$212 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mahina surf hotel lahaina
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mahina Surf
Which popular attractions are close to Mahina Surf?
Nearby attractions include Maui Escape Rooms (3.1 miles), Slack Key Show (2.5 miles), and Ka'anapali Beach (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahina Surf?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mahina Surf?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mahina Surf?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahina Surf?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahina Surf?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hawaiian Village Coffee, Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice, and The Coffee Store Napili.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mahina Surf?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mahina Surf?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mahina Surf?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cliff House (2.7 miles).
Does Mahina Surf have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.