We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Save
Share
6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Only 5 left at
$687
View deal
FindHotel
$687
View deal
Marriott
$687
View deal
Trip.com$687
Etrip$687
Agoda.com$687
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3144)
Room & Suite (636)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#25 of 34 hotels in Lahaina
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas offers convenient access to whale watching, snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing, and scuba diving in Lahaina, Hawaii. Popular attractions like the Maui Ocean Center and Kahekili Beach Park are nearby. Enjoy four resort pools and waterfalls, three distinctive restaurants, plus a pool bar as well as a fitness center and full-service spa. At the end of an exciting day, settle into versatile studios and one- and two-bedroom villas with signature Heavenly® Beds, washer/dryers, fully equipped kitchens, and balconies. Our resort promises a memorable stay in Lahaina, Hawaii.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Kids pool
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English
5971Reviews233Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,528
  • 1,339
  • 560
  • 282
  • 263
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jmzallen wrote a review Yesterday
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
We have been coming to this resort for 8 years, and we never grow tired of it. This time we were very excited to see that Westin's midweek cleaning of the timeshare units had returned. It is such a luxury to have your beds changed and towels refreshed midweek. As timeshare owners know, this is a service almost exclusive to Westin timeshare resorts. We were at the resort for 10 days, and during that time our unit was refreshed once, and fully deep cleaned once. Housekeeping staff members are so polite and almost immediately responsive. Every call for service or replenishing of supplies was answered within 10 minutes. For certain the large pool area in the North property was busier than we like due to the refurbishment of the pool in the south property; however, we were pleased to see that the properties are being maintained. We look forward to our next trip to this beautiful resort!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael Denis M wrote a review Sep 2022
Castlewellan, United Kingdom338 contributions190 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Yes, it’s principally a timeshare resort, and it’s easy to be hyper-critical of timeshare, but come here to see the benefits of this kind of vacation. Fully equipped villas with kitchens, washer/dryers - all at Oceanside. A complex surrounded by pools, bars and restaurants. Several exercise facilities and a spa, to boot. There’s a shuttle to nearby restaurants and to the old whaling town of Lahaina (free). All on the beautiful Island of Maui. If a Beach Holiday is your ‘thing’, then being right on Ka’anapali Beach with great swimming and snorkelling cannot be bettered. The staff is truly exceptional and if you come here and don’t like it, I suggest you need to see a doctor!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: A rental car to see the delights of the Island would be a bonus.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo for choosing to visit the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We're glad to hear you had an amazing stay! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eltravelnotes wrote a review Sep 2022
19 contributions2 helpful votes
The grounds are nice enough, and it's nice that it's so easy to just walk out onto the beach, but there were definitely some issues that would make me rethink staying here. The service at check in: The lady who checked us in was not good at her job. We checked in and we was not told about going to the concierge for a welcome packet. We received no information about towel cards and had no idea we needed one to get towels. We only later found out by chance that there's a welcome packet with a lot of information and a "privilege card" you can use at participating restaurants and bars. By this time, we had already visited a few of those restaurants and so missed out on using the card. We shouldn't need to know to ask in order to receive this information. Thanks, lady! She also told us the market was in the North building, which, yes, there is one there. Yet she failed to mention there was a market in the South building, just around the corners from the reception desk where we checked in and was right next door to where we were staying. Again, not sure if this was purposefully withholding useful information? Amenities: We didn't realize that the South Pool was closed through to the end of October. There's also a restaurant on premises that is closed. That leaves little available on this resort. They mentioned you could use the pool at Nanea but you need to take a shuttle there. The North pool which was open was smaller than I expected and consequently very crowded, and we didn't use it during our stay. I would not recommend staying here until these are re-opened because it's not like this place is a particularly economical choice. Stay somewhere that's fully operating instead. Rooms: We were considering the timeshares until we saw our room. We were facing the parking lot and a noisy road with many cars on it, so it rendered our balcony useless to us. I wouldn't want to purchase a timeshare just to be placed in this room. The room was clean though, with enough space. It also had a refrigerator, small stove, a dishwasher, and washing and drying machine for those who find that useful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 6 days ago
Mahalo for providing your review of the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are disappointed to learn that you found your experience lacking this time around with our staff. Our resort updates including the pool closure can be found on the website, and we are sorry you were unaware of the closure. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments and will be shared with our resort leadership team. We hope to provide a much better visit the next time you return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joel K wrote a review Sep 2022
Vancouver, Canada3218 contributions738 helpful votes
We had maintenance issues with our dishwasher and locking mechanism on the door of the unit. the dishwasher was rectified after a week and the lock was a problem in week 1 and 3. we had the lock looked at 8 different times. the dishwasher took 3 times to rectify with the installation of a new out of the box machine. we also had utilized 287100 options to get a oceanfront unit and we got a 2/3rds oceanview unit luckily we had most of the sunset but we also had a second floor unit and had the noise from the pool from 7 to 10 pm. the other problem we had from september 5 to the end of our stay was that the South building pool was put under major maintenance and everyone from the south came to the north. management must have know about this but we did not receive notice until 1 to two weeks prior and to late to make alternative plans. yikes. the pool was ok but to crowded. the restaurant was too busy but the food was ok. the pool staff and the restaurant staff were good. the housekeeping tried their best but they did put dirty dishes from our non functional dishwasher into our dish cabinet. we ended up washing in the new dishwasher all of the dishes, silverware and glasses and pots and pans. but we did in the evening. all in all a lot of stress in week 1 and 3. we did get some compensation, options reimbursed and some resort credit. i have to get in touch with Vistana Signature Association about our stay. I am not sure that we will be back to this particular resort for a while until they work the kinks out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: try and get a high floor and at least oceanview
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Mahalo for providing your review of the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are disappointed to learn that you found your experience lacking this time around with maintenance and housekeeping. We are glad to hear management refunded some of your staroptions and received resort credit. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments and will be shared with our resort leadership team. We hope to provide a much better visit the next time you return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lhenry2013 wrote a review Sep 2022
Easton, Connecticut3 contributions3 helpful votes
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. We have been here for 36 hours and counting down until when we can leave. Our first room had an overflowing toilet (leak from the wall to the toilet and it flooded our room. It took over 40 minutes for maintenance to come. About three hours later, we came back from the pool and our room is flooded and stepping on the carpet you can see the water splash up. They give us a hard time about wanting a new room but eventually we are able to get one although we had no room for 4 hours and they made no attempt to get one ready for us earlier. They say a manager will be in touch with us but everyone time we go up the manager isn’t available and will call us. We have asked 4 times to speak with a manager and no one is calling or reaching out to us. I wouldn’t stay here again even if it was free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are truly sorry for the experience you shared. A manager from our corporate office is currently working with you to resolve. Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience and hope you enjoy the rest of your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hmsk4tx wrote a review Sep 2022
California4 contributions
This is a companion to my partner's 9/11 review. (See that review for details of how we reserved an ocean front villa but were given a room facing the pool constructiom.) Below are pictures of, and from, our "ocean front" villa. You decide. Owners' Services kindly called us a few days after check-in and, after listening to our story, said that didn't seem right and they would look into it. A day later they called back and parroted the local management: Our fault. That is a corner ocean front studio. When asked to follow-up on my reservation, they stopped communicating with me. And Westin, don't bother responding here. Your comments are insulting and self-serving.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't trust what view you are promised.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. I am sorry you were not assigned a desirable oceanfront room. We do our best to place our owners in highly desirable oceanfront units. You are welcome to contact customer advocacy at 800-860-9384 or email customer.advocacy@mvwc.com and speak with a manager regarding your view.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon B wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
1. Don’t believe u have ocean view unless u count parking lots and having to lean out your balcony to see the ocean. 2. We were “misinformed” about our location. Pool was out of service in our bldg, but we could use the other pools as long as we were ok with having to pay almost $300 for a cabana because so many people were trying to share half the amount of pool space. 3. Customer service was horrible except pool and restaurant staff. David at front desk was particularly in need of training on how to treat guests. Also, hotel shop staff stood talking to each other while I waited(timed it at 3 minutes) to make a purchase ….no acknowledgement at all that I was standing there…. 4. We requested room cleaning daily. Was cleaned the first day and we came back to room on 2nd day needing to get ready for a dinner, so maid left. We got messages after that .. sorry we didn’t clean your room… short staffed. 5 nights Finally called for towels…6. Some pressure to listen to their time share sales pitch … how many times do u say no thank you???! If u r ok with all that, it really has beautiful property and villas were spacious Was the last leg of a 16 day trip and we were so ready to spend 6 days relaxing and enjoying our anniversary at a beautiful property……. Sad to say this property was a huge disappointment
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Mahalo for providing your review of the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are disappointed to learn that you found your experience lacking this time around with our staff. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments and will be shared with our resort leadership team. We hope to provide a much better visit the next time you return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don P wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We paid for a 5 night stay at a discounted rate in exchange for taking the 90 minute sales pitch. The check in process was slooooow. Everyone trying to check in at 4. We were given a studio on the first floor. There is no view of anything but foliage. We went to ask for a room change. Nothing was available for 2 days, but they did offer to move us on Monday, but it requires we check out of this room at 10am and then go through the check-in process again at 4! We explained we had a fishing tip booked that morning at 6:30 and that was going to make it very difficult. They said they had to return our original room to inventory, that was all they could do. If this doesn’t here example of customer service, I’m unimpressed. Our room had no trash can except a small One in the bathroom. When we tried calling for one there was no answer. Later that evening they did answer and delivered a trash can. We spent two nights in a Residence Inn before we moved here….I would be happy to go back there for the rest of our week.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Don, we apologize for your disappointment with your room location and for your frustration with the slow check-in. We appreciate your comments to share with the appropriate departments. We do hope you still had a fun time on the island!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy L wrote a review Sep 2022
Long Beach, California133 contributions209 helpful votes
We have come here as Westin Vistana Timeshare owners for the past 15 years because we have relatives that live on the island. This last time though was the absolute worst. Booked an Oceanview unit that only had tree views almost completely blocking the ocean "glimpse". The pool area is utter pandemonium in the summer. DO NOT expect a quiet relaxing time with hundreds of screaming brats everywhere. People reserve the lounge chairs every single day early in the AM with no one to enforce the rules. The units do not have smart TV's. Come on!!!! It's 2022 and we can't stream any Netflix, Amazon, Hulu etc. The big reason for this is that their WiFi internet system is just a complete pile of crap. When it works at all, it is ridiculously slow and commonly, it's completely non-existent. Good Luck if you have to do some work while on vacation.... Lastly, DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT ever consider buying a timeshare interest here. Look up the website of Timeshare Users Group and buy on resale from the tons of disgruntled owners trying to get out of their bad investment. Besides, the sales agents will try to tell you what a wonderful "investment" this is and it's definitely NOT. (Think of a new car losing value as you drive it off the lot and multiple by 10). As a "4-Star Elite owner" with Vistana, I got absolutely ZERO benefits and recognition when I stayed there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Tracy, we apologize for your disappointment with your room location and for your frustration of guests reserving lounge chairs. We appreciate your comments to share with the appropriate departments. If you are still on premise, please feel free to speak with a manager at the front office so that they may address some of your concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carl M wrote a review Sep 2022
14 contributions12 helpful votes
Worst customer service ever and a lot of very bad “views”!!!!!!!! Check-in is an absolute nightmare. This Westin went from a 9 out of 10, to a 2 out of 10 in only ten years. We come here almost every year as owners because we love snorkeling in front of the hotel and Maui, and we USED to love this Westin! First 5 years (5 stays), I would give it a 9 out of 10. We used to be assigned rooms above the third floor which faced the Main (South) Pool, and had partial ocean views. After the first 5 years, we were always given literally the WORST rooms in the entire resort- rooms that were UNFIT for any guest. The resort rooms also have a major cockroach and spider problems as well. Every time we come here now: 60-to-90-minute check-in wait in the hot lobby. Why? This is during the week. Even a 10-minute wait is unacceptable for a resort with this price point. The resort has been grossly understaffed, particularly in the lobby for many years. Our room was not ready last October 2021- 2 hours late, and we had groceries that valet had to put into a hotel fridge. We were not comped at all. I can check into a very shoddy motel immediately- why is the lobby so slow here? We used to be given rooms 3rd floor and above that faced the South Main Pool with some ocean view. Now we are given first floor rooms with a "view" of the parking lot (Building 3, Rooms 00-15) with no sunlight at all, and people can look directly into your room. We were also assigned a room on the 2nd floor? (Building 2, 2330) with a direct view of an huge AC unit. We refused to be in that room because of the "view" and very loud industrial noise. We were assigned to another horrible room Building 3, Room 05? which had a view of the parking lot and big metal shipping container dumpsters all over the parking lot. The dumpsters have been there for many months. Atrocious. We saw no construction at this hotel during our stay, but something noisy was going on outside. We noticed the past years, that many of the trees are now totally overgrown, and are blocking MANY ocean views. The manager and corporate need to look into removing these trees. People come to Maui for an ocean view hotel room, and not to have their views and sunlight blocked by unnecessary trees. We were also given a room on the first floor (Building 2, 20) that was literally a couple of feet from the Shuffle Board court. People started playing at 6:00 a.m. sharp, slapping noisy plastic discs around, with screaming kids on the nearby play structure. The noise is unacceptable, especially at 6:00 a.m.. The play structure should not be opened until 8:00 a.m. and the shuffle board needs to go- it’s too loud! Last time we were there, an employee stole our personal pool towel, which looks NOTHING like the hotel issued pool towels. We found out that other people had their items (goggles, snorkeling gear) stolen as well. I believe this Westin used to issue wrist bands to guests to use the pool and waterslide. I see several non-guests using the pool area now- local kids and teens who are dropped off by parents who drive away. They are not supervised- screaming and throwing hard footballs around the pool where elderly and small children are. I am fed up with the lack of customer service, theft, check-in waits, non-guests using the facilities, along with terrible rooms (many with no sunlight or views of the parking lot, AC unit!). I also hate the common "front door" for two connecting rooms with paper thin walls. Don't stay in Building 4- which is mostly blocked by Building 3. The only pluses are the kitchen and laundry in the room, snorkeling out front, and the free shuttle between resorts.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Carl, we apologize for your disappointment with your room location and for your frustration with check-in. We appreciate your comments to share with the appropriate departments. If you are still on premise, please feel free to speak with a manager at the front office so that they may address some of your concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$759 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin kaanapali ocean resort villas hotel lahaina, westin kaanapali ocean resort villas, westin lahaina, westin ka anapali ocean hotel, westin villas maui, lahaina westin, westin maui villas
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
505
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Nearby attractions include Kahekili Beach Park (0.2 miles), Myths of Maui Luau (0.4 miles), and Huaka'i Luau Maui- Journey Through Polynesia (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duke's Beach House, Slappy Cakes Maui, and Soup Nutz & Java Jazz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (4.2 miles), Lahaina Jodo Mission (3.9 miles), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (4.4 miles).
Does The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.