We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was obvious that our suite had not been cleaned properly-there was garbage under the dresser and the sofa; the artificial plant in the corner has not been cleaned properly; salamanders and centipedes in our unit.Chickens and roosters roaming the grounds -that I could overlook if the suite was clean. We will not be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 15bfriesen
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, 15bfriesen. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations, especially where cleanliness is concerned. Providing our visitors with pristine guest accommodations is one of our top priorities, and we are sorry this was not your experience. We will certainly forward your comments to our executive housekeeper in order to determine why your...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The unit we were in was nice, though average. It's a little out of the way, but that also makes it a little more low key, which we enjoyed. Some nice activities available though limited. Weather was great. We only had one evening of rain, but I had heard it could be wetter at times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Bruce. Thank you for your visit and kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed a five-star experience and hope you will consider us again the next time you're planning a visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The grounds/pool are nicely kept up. The receptionist was not helpful and there were days the office is closed although there is a phone outside the office but never had anyone answer when I needed help. The room is clean but cleaning staff doesn't come by to pick up trash or exchange towels but once or twice a week.. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz V
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Liz. Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations and hope you will accept our apology for the irritation. Unfortunately, Maui ordinances permit our neighbor to keep roosters, much to our consternation, and we are sorry you won't be returning.

VICTORIA
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We were there for two weeks and enjoyed our stay. The Hot Tub and Pool were great and we used it everyday after coming back from our sightseeing tours to cool off. The one bedroom suites with two bathrooms were nice and well laid out. Yes there are roosters and chickens, my husband liked listening to them and gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MARY C
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Mary! Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay and weren't disturbed by our "fowl" neighbors. It is great to know our resort manager made a favorable impression for helpful and courteous service, and we are delighted you would stay with us again. It is our pleasure to serve you....

LA
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Our unit was a 1 bedroom 2 bathroom condo. Clean and comfortable. They have coffeemaker, stove, fridge, blender, utensils, etc. There are 4 different buildings, we were in Bldg 4 unit #402 which was fine, on the ground floor of a 2 story bldg. Our lanai / patio had a small grassy area and faced a hedge, with the (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Doug. Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui and taking the time to share your informative comments. We are pleased you had a satisfying stay and appreciate your generous rating. Mahalo!

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

For those who the roosters did not bother, they must have grown up on a farm. It was impossible to sleep past 4am. (Fyi sunrise was a 6). If you wish to risk staying here, be sure to bring ear plugs. Stayed here for a week and slept well for one night. The only morning we were not awakened at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark r
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Mark. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the fowl disturbance. If it were up to us our neighbor would keep koi fish. Unfortunately, he is within his rights to herd the birds according to Maui ordinances, and the issue is not within our control. We hope...

Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. Roosters wake you up at 4 am and continue with noise all day. Forget about using the lanai since it faces a parking lot. Horrible view but not as bad as the view from the bedroom which looks out at the neighbors that have a chicken coop, trash all over - sort of the Sanford and Sons...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel-loverforsure
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, travel lover. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations. Please accept our apology for the roosters. They are as annoying to us as they are to you, but the issue is unfortunately beyond our control. The residents bordering our property have kept roosters for years and are within their rights to do so according to county ordinances. Once...

Reviewed October 19, 2016

Was a friend's timeshare. Apparently hard to book and harder to shift over by a day. 1.5 months prior, we originally booked the timeshare Sat to Sat but found out flights were much cheaper Sun to Sun 2 weeks later but was unable to shift over our stay by a day. However, I was able to book an extra day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UnknownTravelerXYZ
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Our first stay at this location. No sea view. On a golf course. Walking distance to my favorite beach in Maui, no need to fight for parking this vacation. Pretty close to downtown as well. Room is clean and well maintained, although it is getting a bit old. Pool and hot tub also clean. 2 bathrooms is nice. Great balcony....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony d
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Tony. Thank you for choosing The Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased you had a satisfying stay and appreciate your generous comments. Mahalo!

Kahului, Hawaii
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We were lucky to get a room right next to the lobby which made unloading & loading the car a breeze! Cute little kitchen (stove, microwave, lots of kitchenware, coffee makes, blender) which was great for preparing majority of our family meals, nice little washer & dryer (so i didnt have a pile of laundry to do once i got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalehua96732
Soleil M, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Kalehua96732! Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui and taking the time to share your kind words. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay and truly appreciate your highest rating. Mahalo!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#24 of 40 in Lahaina
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#14 of 40 in Lahaina
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#36 of 40 in Lahaina
84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#7 of 40 in Lahaina
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#12 of 40 in Lahaina
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Address: 5500 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9051
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $216 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens at West Maui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Gardens at West Maui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens At West Maui Hotel Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Gardens at West Maui Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Greer, SC
North Pole, Alaska
over a year ago
Sonoma County
Seattle, Washington
8 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Gardens at West Maui Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure there is a perfect choice. Traffic wasn't a problem that I noticed. Chickens drown anything out.”
 of 5 bubbles 815lizv, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Building 2, 3 and 4 are further back from the road. Building 1 the living rooms face the parking lot and golf course,”
 of 5 bubbles 859MARYC, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Stay way from Bldg !”
 of 5 bubbles 2DougR, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Bldg 1 is farthest from the roosters I think & parking will usually be in shade.”
 of 5 bubbles UnknownTravelerXYZ, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs, unit 3 or 4 if you don't mind lugging stuff”
 of 5 bubbles 160michaeld, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay