We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hale Kai O'kihei

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hale Kai O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We picked this hotel from the CRH Condominium website, and after reading some trip advisor reviews. What was most appealing was the condo being right on a sandy beach (not on the other side of a busy road) and it being close to amenities (supermarket and a couple of restaurants). We also took the deal that included a rental vehicle.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 165gemmad
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review and stay at the Hale Kai O Kihei. As you mention, this property does enjoy a beautiful oceanfront location, but all beaches on the island are public property. While Maui is considered paradise, there are a few unfortunate souls who are not as fortunate as others and are homeless. Local legislators are aware of a handful... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

It was a 1 bd unit rated as DELUXE and it should've been rated "TRASHY"-- it was horrible-- the cheapest stuff (kitchen and bathroom) doors wouldn't close tight (outside door) There was NOTHING about it that was even "standard" or "low rating"--- Owner was a witch to deal with- even tho AA Oceanfront tried to get us some reimbursement for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mauimama2014
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your condo at the Hale Kai O Kihei this time around. While we do not manage the condo you stayed in, we do manage many other condos at this property and hope that you give the Hale Kai O Kihei another try on any return trips to Maui. Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We stayed for two weeks at Hale Kai O Kihei in unit 217. This location is ideal for us because it is right on the beach and close to stores and restaurants. If you stay very far north of this location, you have to drive to restaurants and stores. While it is more convenient to go to the beach from... More 

Helpful?
Thank enjoying_retirement
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei and condo #217, which our vacation rental agency manages. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and condo. We will take a look at the power-on settings for the AC. We hope to see you back again soon! Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

newyork
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

I stayed with my daughter in unit 119 hale Kai O Kihei from 12/25 to 12/29. I was VERY unsatisfied with the unit 119 for the ridiculous price I paid. here are a few issues: - there were stains on the bed cover in the bedroom - there were stains on the towels - there was a dead cockroach in... More 

Helpful?
Thank bubuNewyork
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of Hale Kai O Kihei and condo #119, which our vacation rental agency manages. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy the condo or the price you paid. I see in our reservation notes that you had originally booked a two bedroom oceanfront condo at Hale Kai O Kihei, but were hoping to... More 

Ludington, mi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

Unit 217. This property far exceeded my expectations. The unit was fully equipped with absolutely everything you need to feel like you're at home. It was clean, well-stocked, and located right on a wonderful beach. It was by far the best place we stayed in during our Hawaii vacation.

Helpful?
1 Thank luv2deal
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your great review of the Hale Kai O Kihei and condo #217, which our vacation rental agency manages. The condo is professionally cleaned after each guest departs and is stocked with over 130 items we know will make feel guests feel comfortable and at home while vacationing on Maui. We hope to see you back again soon! Mahalo,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

You will love unit 207. Second floor walk up has a terrific view. Ocean right outside your door. Walking distance to stores restaurants and post office. Quiet and friendly guests!! I recommend this unit. It is updated and comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mauilover101
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei and condo #207, which our vacation rental agency manages. We are pleased to hear you found everything clean, comfortable, and updated. We will pass your kind words along to the owners, and hope to see you back again soon. Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Location was fantastic. Quick walk to good food and grocery stores. Fully furnished with everything you could need. Views from the lanai were amazing. Watching the sunrise/sunset from the private beach...such a nice way to start/end the day! Would definitely stay again, in fact we looked into purchasing a unit!

Helpful?
Thank MissMandaMay
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We LOVE this location on Maui. During Whale season (Nov. - March) you can sit on the lanai and just be in awe of the view and the whales close by. The units are owned individually so the decor isn't the same in any of the condo units. We think of it as our "2nd home" . The resident manager,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DidiPop
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei. We agree the oceanfront location is hard to beat! I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our rental agency manages there, but glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and views of the whales. We hope to see you back at the Hale Kai O... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

This is a fantastic place to stay while on Maui. It is centrally located between east and west maui so that both Haleakala and Lahaina not too far. The condos are on a delightful beach that is great for swimming and wading. If you want to get into water sports you can go to Makena or Kaanapali. These latter two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bcps7
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the many condos our vacation rental agency manages at this property, but we are glad to hear you had a great stay. The location really is fantastic. Guests enjoy sunset views over the ocean from their private lanai and can... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

After our first disappointing week in Maui at The Sands of Kahana This place was a welcome site. Nice and quiet. We were very impressed with all things included in the room including portable beach chairs and a cooler. Even the sofa bed was comfortable. The AC was very nice. I will keep this place in mind for my next... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas T
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our rental agency manages there, but glad to hear you had a memorable and comfortable stay! We hope to see you back at the Hale Kai O Kihei in the future! Mahalo, Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.6 mi away
Leinaala
Leinaala
#51 of 63 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#22 of 63 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#8 of 63 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Menehune Shores
Menehune Shores
#23 of 63 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: $177 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay